We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on!”
Review of Monarch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monarch Motel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We had 2 very good nights at the Monarch.

The owners are great, so helpful and always very pleased to help in any way.

The motel is a little way out of the centre of town but this isn't a problem as its nicely located on one of the main routes in and out.

A very pleasant stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bananabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
35
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place.

Set quite a distance from the town centre, this place has all you need for a great stay in Invercargill.

The owners are VERY friendly and welcoming and will give you help or advice on places to go etc. We asked about motorcycle hire and before we knew it, they rang different places and even emailed bike dealers for information.

Can't recommend here enough, great place, great prices and great people!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete1923465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Monarch Motel & we hope that you are able to return for the Burt Munro rally one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed one night: management were friendly and helpful, Rooms were very clean, tidy and quiet. Bed was comfortable. The free internet worked well. Short walk from the room to the nearby shops. A little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDebTheTravelDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you Deb for your positive review. We appreciate your comments and returning to stay with us again. Best wishes for your future travels - the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Monarch for one night when we passed through Invercargill on our South Island tour. Our unit had a "basic" feel to it, but it was warm and comfortable and we liked the separate bedroom. It certainly represented good value for what we paid. Convenient for supermarkets and other shops. We would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank i2c_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities clean & excellent value for your money. Best wishes for future travels - The team at the Monarch Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for a night and found the Management very friendly and accomodating after weather hassles with the airline. Very clean and tidy with very comfortable beds and would drive straight to this motel next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We appreciate your positive feedback & look forward to hosting you again when you return to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My Girlfriend and I are from Cromwell and stayed 2 nights at this motel on April 26th and 27th, We chose this motel because of the price $98 per night and proximity to the local Squash Club. I had entered a squash tournament and me and my girlfriend also wanted a weekend away. The studio unit was clean and spacious, the moteliers friendly and chatty. It was awesome coming back to the motel after playing squash to relax on the comfortable bed, and watch Sky TV and use the free internet.Also Recommend the Rocks restaurant in city center to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We appreciate your positive feed back & choosing to stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your tournament & your stay in Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for one night on April 15, 2013 during our tour of New Zealand. A good motel for a reasonable price. We liked th clean room & bath room. Parking is available. Next to Mcdonalds & gas station. Close to city centre.Good location. Friendly staff. Internet is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokhalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your unit & your time in Invercargill & at the Monarch Motel. I must point out that we are not so close to McDonalds but we are very close to a great Chinese Takeaways & Fish & Chip shop - that sells Bluff oysters. We hope the remainder of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colonial on Tay
Colonial on Tay
#21 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Motel

Property: Monarch Motel
Address: 633 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#12 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monarch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If outstanding service and inviting surroundings set in a park-like location are what you're looking for, then experience a little bit of Southern Hospitality with your hosts Karl & Kerry Mariu at the Monarch Motel. With 22 spacious units available, the Monarch Motel suits the corporate traveller or those planning to base themselves in the South while visiting the Catlins, Stewart Island, Riverton, Queenstown & Te Anau. Relax in our Sauna & Spa pool at the end of your busy day. Situated on State Highway 1, just a short walk to Stadium Southland/ Cycling Velodrome, Surrey Park sports facilities, Ascot Park raceway & convention centre. We have clean, modern facilities designed with you in mind. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monarch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing