We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm one bedroom room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monarch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monarch Motel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely warm one bedroom room.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Made welcome when we checked in, great blockout curtains in both rooms. Rooms were lovely at warm when arrived on a cold night which was great. Small issue with bathroom being of children's room but you can work around that. Kids enjoyed the swing set.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zak1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Monarch Motel & for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
35
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Fantastic hosts offering clean, bright units that are well equipped and great value. We stayed here for over two weeks through a very hard and sad period. Our hosts were exceptionally flexible kind understanding and tried to assist us in every possible way they could. We would not hesitate in recommending either the accommodation or the hosts.

Room Tip: Stay here the units are warm, tidy, bright and quiet. What more can you ask for?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you found the units suitable for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again if you are returning to Invercargill. Regards, Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a great stay here in February. The motel was extremely well equipped, clean, quiet and comfortable and the owners were very pleasant, helpful and informative. The spa was a terrific addition and just made our stay. Although a little way from the city centre it is still a convenient place to stay. would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your review Robert. We appreciate that you chose the Monarch Motel for your Invercargill accommodation. We make do try to make every effort that are guests enjoy their stay in our clean, warm units. Best wishes for the remainder of your travels. Kerry & the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was just wonderful! Thank you!
The only thing I would improve in the room are the lights: in the bathroom, its more blue and strange and in the living room and kitchen the lights are not separated so it was always very bright in the room and getting into sleep was hard! There was also no long dressing mirror!
But the kitchen was great, the bathroom very big, the rooms were renovated, the staff very friendly, the bed comfortable...Its a good choice to book there!
And you also get the milk in a packaged bottle and shortbread:)!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Ruth for your positive review and for choosing to stay at the Monarch Motel. We appreciate your comments & we do have full length mirrors on the inside of the wardrobe doors on all of our units (except for one) - which we have now added thanks to your review. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The Monarch Motel in Invercargill is an excellent place to experience the best of South Island care and hospitality. The accommodation is comfortable and generous. Our needs were very well catered for. The motel is well situated and the proprietors Kerry and Karl could not have more helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vitimarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Monarch Motel & Southland. We hope you are able to return. Best wishes - Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
483 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Had I limited experience in staying at various accommodations, I would have easily given the Monarch an Excellent rating. However, I am mindful that I have experienced the entire range (of ratings as provided by tripadvisor), and for consistencies sake, I have to make comparisons. With this in mind, I would really place the Monarch at 4+.
Very welcome reception on arrival, with information provided pertinent to my own reasons for being in Invercargill. Having a dog with me, they were also very accommodating in providing a unit whereby on-going supervision of my dog (in the car) was possible, and in a location where it would not disturb others staying.
Unit gave a basic feel, but was quite functional, providing all that would be required for a short stay over.
Guests were provided with a very detailed guest book, and considerable additional material on various activities and attractions were readily available in the reception area.
While a little away from the centre of the city, anyone staying here is likely to have their own vehicle anyway, and rather than being a negative, provides an opportunity to reside in a quieter environment, yet still only a couple of kilometres from the city centre. One really wonderful advantage (again having a dog), was the very large empty space of an abandoned school next door, which my dog gave an excellent ++ rating for.
Absolute excellent value for money.
Have very definitely earmarked the Monarch as the place to return to on my reasonably frequent trips to Invercargill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Monarch Motel & for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We appreciate your positive comments. We also appreciate that you were able to keep such a well-trained dog in the car for the duration of your stay - I am sure that he will earn his champion status soon as he certainly was a champion for his stay here - he gets an excellent rating from us too!! Thank you for staying.
Kerry & the team at the Monarch Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We had 2 very good nights at the Monarch.

The owners are great, so helpful and always very pleased to help in any way.

The motel is a little way out of the centre of town but this isn't a problem as its nicely located on one of the main routes in and out.

A very pleasant stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bananabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colonial on Tay
Colonial on Tay
#21 of 33 in Invercargill
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Motel

Property: Monarch Motel
Address: 633 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#13 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monarch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If outstanding service and inviting surroundings set in a park-like location are what you're looking for, then experience a little bit of Southern Hospitality with your hosts Karl & Kerry Mariu at the Monarch Motel. With 22 spacious units available, the Monarch Motel suits the corporate traveller or those planning to base themselves in the South while visiting the Catlins, Stewart Island, Riverton, Queenstown & Te Anau. Relax in our Sauna & Spa pool at the end of your busy day. Situated on State Highway 1, just a short walk to Stadium Southland/ Cycling Velodrome, Surrey Park sports facilities, Ascot Park raceway & convention centre. We have clean, modern facilities designed with you in mind. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing