We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
60
27
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
27
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main route petrol station city centre would stay again great place to stay nice stay minute drive tay street three nights stayed for one night room was spacious next morning within walking distance the kitchen south island motel clark
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Great location, quiet, ultra clean. Fabulous stress free service (nothing is a problem) and comfy bed to boot..
Dont think twice about booking here.
5 min walk to hotel, shops and restaurant..

Forget the CBD accommodation options that cost ridiculous money - definitely give the Monarch a go..

Service i would expect from a world franchise

PS - i am quite harsh reviewing accommodation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank annetter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you we appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We booked this on line whilst travelling around South Island having read previous reviews. It’s easy to find on Tay Street aka SH1.

Whilst the motel is a few kilometres outside the city centre, it makes up for that by being very quiet even though it’s on a fairly main route. Our hosts were very genial and showed us to a large airy room on the ground floor. The room had a dining table and two chairs, an armchair, a large double bed a kitchenette and a good-sized bathroom with a shower.

Other facilities include guest laundry (NZ$2 for a wash) and a hot tub. Parking is available outside the rooms. Although there don’t seem to be any places to eat within walking distance, the city centre is only 5 minutes away in the car.

The motel looks a bit dated, but is well maintained and prices competitive. I’d certainly recommend this motel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

our trip plan changed and qe had to spend a night in Invercargill.
look at Internet qe found this place.
went to there . the guy in the reception was very nice anx friendly.
nice stay.
place is pretty close of big supermarkets.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Juninho-AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Owner at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for staying at the Monarch Motel. We were pleased to be of service and would love to welcome you or your friends back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I always end up here when in Invercargill. I like the location close to the outskirts of town and the openess of the rooms and corner property. What I hadn't noticed before but did this time is how good the beds are for an aging back that has been driving all day. I got up feeling great.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Elfloal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Owner at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

THanks so much for your kind words. Pleased to know the bed worked well for you. Next time you are here make sure we know what room it was and we will try to accommodate.

Kind regards Monarch Motel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We pulled into Invercargill thinking that it would be easy to get a place, mid week out of season, but found that there are a lot of conferences that are booked around the town. We found the Monarch Motel online and were extremely happy. Parking is easy, the rooms are spacious, the bed was very comfortable. After travelling around NZ for about three weeks, staying in various motel style accommodation, I realise the joy in the little extra comforts. Tissues in the bathroom; soft towels that actually fit around you; thicker toilet paper; salt and pepper in the shakers and best of all, decent pilows. Thank you Monarch, would recommend your facility to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monarchm, Owner at Monarch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Jenny

Thank you for your kind words, they are much appreciated. We are so pleased that all was well for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again should you be back this way.

Kind regards, Clark and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews