We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Invercargill...”
Review of Quest Invercargill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Invercargill
Reviewed 11 January 2012

That's not saying much. Our stay in Invercargill was just passing through before flying over to Stewart Island, and if I had it to do again, I wouldn't stay in Invercargill at all. This hotel is in a beautiful, historic building, and they've done a lot to make the suites comfortable. The room was clean, but the bathroom was quite dated, although it had everything we needed. Because of the age of the building, the floorboards were very noisy - this meant we could hear everyone else on our floor when they moved around. Considering how much was obviously spent on renovating the building, it seems strange that nothing was done about this considerable issue. I think the Qualmark 5 stars aren't really worth the same as 5 stars elsewhere. In any other city in the world this would be a 3.5-4 star hotel at most. It's location would be handy to restaurants and shops, but as we were there on New Year's Day, our choice for food was Speight's Ale House or Speight's Ale House. All of the restaurants the hotel had a chargeback arrangement with were closed, along with all of the shops nearby. The charge for wireless internet was very high.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for one night in December 2011. The reception staff member went through the motions but didn't appear particularly pleased to see us. The room was spacious and had everything we needed but the cleanliness let it down. There was dust and dirt around the edges of the room and bathroom, and the windows were very dirty. I realise that this is an old building but it could definitely be a bit cleaner. There were dirty coffee cups in the cupboard. The duvet cover was made from a black velvet and woollen fabric and did not look very appealing. The curtains had small slashes in them and the blind was made from light, ineffective material. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The staff member at check-out was much friendlier than the staff member we had encountered the night before. Would we stay again? Maybe, maybe not!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

If I was ever to return to Invercargill I would definately stay here.
Location for shopping & cafes & restaurants is perfect, every thing is only a few minutes walk.
Rooms very nice & spacious and clean and modern.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with the room layout and facilities: separate bedroom, laundry, 2 tv's and good location... However, once I found what looked like a faeces stain on the duvet cover my confidence and resolve to sleep in the bed begun to ebb somewhat.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Room was large and spacious, great kitchen facilties and bathroom. Free internet was a bonus as was the cheap hot breakfast.
Reception very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jparker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We were recommended this hotel by our travel agent and seeing it was a Quest hotel we were expecting it to be better than it was. Our main gripes were that the floor was so squeeky that we avoided walking around in the room, the walls were so thin that we could hear every word the guests next door were saying and the room was so poorly sound proofed that we were kept awake for most of the night by hotted up cars doing laps down the mainstreet. it was the worst night sleep we had in our 3 week holiday around the South Island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Im sorry to say the microwave was dirty and the toilet! The floor creeked every time someone walked past my room. I hardly slept and I filled out a survey when I left re the dirtiness and creeky floor. I have never heard back and I would never stay again, sorry

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suellen8011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 12 in Invercargill
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Invercargill

Address: 10 Dee Street | Cnr Dee and Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Invercargill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Invercargill Serviced Apartments Hotel offers guests relaxed accommodation in the heart of Invercargill. The property is centrally located to the city centre, shops, cafes and restaurants, and is less than 5 km from Invercargill Airport. Free parking and free WiFi is included. Quest Invercargill offers hotel accommodation conveniently located to a range of landmarks including Invercargill Hospital, Southland Stadium, Teretonga Raceway Park and the Civic Theatre. We offers guests a range of modern, spacious and stylish studios, as well as one and two bedroom serviced apartments. The studios offer a kitchenette, and all other apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, separate bathroom with bath and laundry with washing machine and dryer. All offer free WiFi and SKY TV. Also available to all guests are gym passes to an offsite gym, breakfast options, valet dry cleaning, a pantry shopping service, and wheelchair access. There are also numerous excellent restaurants near by that offer charge back facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Invercargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Invercargill Hotel Invercargill
Quest Hotel Invercargill
Quest Invercargill New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing