We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beach spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverton Beach Motel

Riverton Beach Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverton Beach Motel
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely beach spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for one night after finishing the Humpridge track. We found it clean, comfortable and staff friendly. We were able to get a huge load of washing done here and it was all dry by the next day. The weather was good.

Room Tip: Both motel units look out toward the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

As another reviewer wrote, this motel is in Riverton, not Invercargill. We were there at the end of summer in March, but the weather was still great. The location is across the street from the band-shell and playground and path that parallels the sea. You can see Stewart Island on a clear day. The unit is up a flight of stairs, but that just makes the sea view better. It's like a small apartment with a living room/dining room, small, but well equipped kitchen, a bathroom with shower, and separate bedroom. The furnishings are older, yet everything was clean and well cared for. We had breakfast on the porch overlooking the sea. The sandy, shallow beach would be a lot of fun for young children; at low tide, you can walk for miles from beach to estuary . The fabulous Beach House restaurant is just up the road, as is Riverton rocks. The town has TeHikoi Museum, which we didn't go to, a couple of galleries, and paua shell factories. We could picture how fun it would be with a band at the band shell, kids on the playground, and the beach right across the street. We thought the Riverton Beach Motel was a super stay. It's up for sale and I hope whoever buys it keeps it the gem it is.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank COgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I was a bit unsure about this place as they have next to no web presence, which made me a bit skeptical they even existed, but I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed with a friend (twin share) in a self contained unit which had a decidedly 60s retro feel. Beds were comfortable and everything really clean. Cooking facilities included stove, grill, microwave and kettle: enough to cook for yourself which we did as there didn't appear to be a huge assortment of restaurants in town (there is a decent supermarket though).

The room we had was at the front of the property. To get to it you need to be able to walk up a short outside flight of stairs, but the elevation meant a really nice view directly across the road to the ocean.

Just an additional note on the location: this motel is definitely in Riverton NOT Invercargill as TripAdvisor says. Riverton is a pretty nice town, with some good crafty shops and a pleasant low key beachy vibe. We stayed here as a stopover from one place to the next, and can definitely recommend it for this purpose. I wouldn't say there was enough to do to stay much longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich Spa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2006

We stayed here during our honeymoon in March 2006.

We found this place at the last minute as we were tired and looking for somewhere to stay. It was situated a couple of minutes drive off the main road through Riverton and was very cheap at NZ$98 for a two bedroom flat with lounge/kitchen/diner, shower, washing machine and toilet. Although the decor was old-fashioned, the flat was spotless. We also had a great view of the beach from the lounge and balcony.

The local fish and chip shop did the most gorgeous blue cod and chips - a million miles nicer than anything you would get in the UK.

Riverton was an excellent place to stop off on our way from Te Anau to the Catlins coast.

Helpful?
7 Thank ah135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invercargill
14.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
14.1 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
14.9 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.1 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverton Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverton Beach Motel

Property: Riverton Beach Motel
Address: 4 Marne Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
Riverton Beach Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing