We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Railway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Invercargill)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Birchwood Manor Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ascot Park Hotel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Lodge Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Queens Park Motels(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homestead Villa Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
139
63
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
63
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstewart islandno elevatorcosy barboutique hotelcharacter and charmcity councilplace to staythird floorold buildingold stylelovely hotelsouth islandwarm welcomeroom was largenew zealandnext morningspent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is a bit of railway history brought up to date with wifi and en suite bathrooms. Both dinner and continental breakfast were excellent (and great value!) The hosts are genuinely friendly and happy to help. One even walked with me to an address I needed to find to make sure I didn't end up going in the wrong direction!

Room Tip: I had a room at the front and slept fine, but the rooms at the back are said to be even quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We really liked this well preserved bit of railway history, the rooms are excellent and up to date with all mod cons and a really comfortable bed, the welcome you receive is warm and friendly and you are made to feel special from the moment you arrive. Breakfast offered is well presented and tasteful and we would recommend the hotel to everyone who is staying in Invercargill.

Room Tip: Chose an exclusive room, excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A lot of money has been spent to restore this old building. Warm, welcoming, comfortable and affordable. We had the luxury of a bath in our room. Room itself was called a standard double room. This was one of the largest rooms we stayed in on our holiday round the South Island. We had an early start the next day so we never checked out the small bar nor the dining room. Both looked very boutique and comfortable. Hosts made us feel very welcome and went to the trouble to make sure we felt comfortable making our way around town. Gave us tips on what to see in our short visit. Car parking is very limited. Does have several spaces over the road in off Street parking. Recommend but only if you can handle stairs. No lifts. Very easy to find if driving into town.

Room Tip: So easy to find if driving into town.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great hotel, situated close to bars and restaurants! We had a lovely room with very comfortable beds and we paid for the cooked breakfast which was fab, I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I'd go back again if I were every in Invercargill again:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel retains it's charm while providing a comfortable room. The bathroom was ensuite in room 19 however I did notice that there were also bathroom facilities separate from the rooms. The room contained a fridge and flat screen TV. The hotel faces the railway station but I heard no noise from it. It is a short walk to the main street of Esk and also to Queens Park. Free, unlimited, wifi. Nice managers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chez-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews