We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed on 2 different nights during our recent trip to New Zealand South Island. We found the place warm and friendly. The first night was on our way to Stewart Island as a couple and the second night was on our return with friends. The bar area was just wonderful to sit, have a drink prior to dinner and chat. The staff were both friendly and helpful, especially as my mother in Australia had become ill whilst we were on Stewart Island. Looking forward to being able to return and stay there another time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    61
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
123
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in this wonderfully restored and historic Hotel. One night before our tramp in Stewart Island and another night on our return. What can I say, after 4 nights in the outdoors, who does not want to return to their room to find the curtains pulled, the heating on in expectation, and our bags - previously stored here while we tramped, back in our rooms. We were a party of five - three rooms and Peter managed somehow to get the right bags in the right rooms. The hosts are fantastic, the surroundings old world, brilliantly restored to its former glory, thoroughly recommend it to anyone - Peter and Rosie extremely helpful and informative about places around town, including suggesting other places for meals and drinks - absolutely no pressure to do either at the Victoria if you wished to take the short walk uptown. Great place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Vic in its hey-day must have been something special. Fortunately, after the passenger side of the railway died, a lot of loving restoration has been carried out and the Vic still survives.

At present, the excellent bar and restaurant is only open to residents. Unfortunately, the night we stayed the restaurant was closed (it only opens Mon-Thu) so we had a short walk into town to find somewhere to eat. Not an issue except that with the wind it was seriously cold. On our return, back to a roaring fire and a nightcap ! Excellent breakfasts.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on a trip around the South Island and are so glad we chose this hotel. The owners, Peter and Rose, were really helpful right from the start from carrying our bags up two flights of stairs to recommending a walking route around Invercargill. The hotel is just charming with lots of original features and a lovely cosy bar on the ground floor. We ate in the restaurant and weren't disappointed. Well cooked homely food and big portions! Our room was on the top floor, well appointed and large. The bed was comfy and the hotel was nice and quiet so we slept well. If you are staying in Invercargill and want a hotel with character, charm and personal service this is the place for you. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Second time we have stayed at the Victoria Railway Hotel. Wonderful experience of yesteryear. This time we were on ground floor which didn't have the character of upstairs. however as it was one night only, were happy enough to be able to enjoy this place again.
Peter was very welcoming and helpful. Loved the ambience of the 'House Bar' & Dining Room.
Clean & fresh environment, centrally located to Town.
Look forward to another stay.

Room Tip: Preferably stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is full of character, and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Not the cheapest in its class but great location close to the small town center and a great pub at the other end of the alley.My room was very nice and very large, but very functional and full of character.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Character and charm, centrally located to everything we wanted, we parked the car and walked.
Rose and Peter very informative and hospitable couple, thank you Peter for carrying our bags up.
The hotel has been restored, all rooms are inviting and bright, clean and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#5 of 16 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 11 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Railway Hotel

Property: Victoria Railway Hotel
Address: 3 Leven Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Railway Hotel of Invercargill, New Zealand, offers modern, stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with a touch of old world charm. Victoria Railway Hotel is an Invercargill icon situated in the heart of the city with a NZ Historic Places Trust Category 1 Registration. The Victoria Railway Hotel offers you all the creature comforts of home as well as the extra care and attention you would expect from an executive hotel, complimented with a private lounge bar and restaurant. We provide a range of modern accommodation options from Standard Studios through to Executive Studios and VIP Suites. From the moment you enter our doors your needs are our priority. The little things we provide are what make a stay an unforgettable experience. As a family owned and operated business, we strive to ensure our guests have the most pleasant stay in Invercargill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Railway
Victoria Railway Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing