We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm in winter”
Review of 295 on Tay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
295 on Tay Motel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm in winter”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed in one of the long stay units over the road in the middle of winter. It was nice and warm even when the temperature was sub-zero outside. It was well appointed with all modern comforts including a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher and freezer. The cleanliness was a little questionable (old bits of soap in the shower, the spa bath jets frothed yellow grime and the drains needed a good clean as they were a bit smelly) but the cleaners were very friendly and took a lot of pride in their work. I found the owners a little brusque at times (perhaps because they were busy managing such a big motel) but they quickly remedied any issues I had. The location is great - 15 min walk to town and 10 min walk to Queens Park. It was fully double glazed so the train track a few streets back and the noise of the boy-racers wasn't a problem at all. The beds are deliciously comfy. Unlimited internet was provided for a flat fee but this was unreliable for anything more complex than browsing as it cut out often. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms further back off the road are less affected by the boy racer noise on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skikiwi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lovely warm, clean, and comfortable unit.
Would recommend to any future people wanting accommodation in Invercargill.
We stay there every time we travel to Invercargill.

Room Tip: Unit 6 good sunny studio unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasorsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I recently stayed at 295 on Tay and was really pleased with the clean,new,modern facilities. I stayed in a one-bedroom upstairs unit(number 11) which was an en-suite king bedroom, with separate lounge/dining and kitchen. The bathroom had a huge spa-bath. I found the room to be well-layed out and was happy with the modern decor.
I had done extensive interent research to find the combination of king bed and bath, and 295 on Tay offered the best rate for those available! When I phoned to enquire, I was initially offered a higher cost, which was quickly reduced when I said I would ring around.
The hotel was located on a main thoroughfare to town centre (2 mins) but was quiet at night.
I would most definitely recommend this hotel as a comfortable,modern,quiet base to sleep, eat, relax on any trip to Invercargill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMONE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We recently stayed at a 3 bedroom house provided by the motel a couple of doors away which they own, it is fantastic, huge in size and for 7 of us was the most perfect location for hockey only about 200m down the road from the turf. We were also within easy walking distance to the rugby stadium The attention to detail was great, the house was serviced daily, and left spotless,very warm with 2 great heat pumps, tvs in every room just about, and a lovely big spa bath. The staff are very friendly and willing to help in anyway they can.
The rate was also very reasonable. Thank you for making our stay in Invercargill very memorable, will definately be recommending you to everyone, absolutely ideal for large groups. Our friends had a unit in the motel itself and they were just as pleased with their facilities Cheers Roslyn

Room Tip: House is down long driveway, and you will get a very peaceful sleep in very comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownbunch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a well-kept typical hotel. Very comfortable rooms, but nothing out of the ordinary.

We enjoyed our stay here on our way through town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed here for one night as it was the best online deal at the time. Everything fine, without any wow factor. Some road noise as room faced main road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Maybe not, but I have not seen one better.

We stayed in a larger two bedroom unit across a small street from the main complex. Just amazing. Our trip was a stop over en-route to Stewart Island. To have so many comforts to just relax in the room at night made it perfect.

The massive Tele to the spa bath were great additions. Every detail had been thought of in the kitchen. The bed was so comfy I had the best sleep ever.

At risk of raising your expectations to high, I will stop now.

The place is about 15 minutes walk from town. And 5 minutes from Luvlee, a take away with the twist of being home cooked food. Just a note, if you want bubbles to sip in the spa bath, there is no booze in the supermarkets. You have to go to a bottle shop.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfold555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.5 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 295 on Tay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 295 on Tay Motel

Property: 295 on Tay Motel
Address: 295 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 295 on Tay Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 295 on Tay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
295 On Tay Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing