We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel, convenient and clean”
Review of 295 on Tay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
295 on Tay Motel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed just one night at this motel, and found it to be fine.
Invercargill isn't quite on the top of the list of touristy places in NZ so I had mixed expectations, but was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the motel and the standard of the nearby shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

Clean, tidy, modern, quiet off the street motel. We booked off the street after being very let down from another motel in invercargill. Owner where more than happy to accoadate us at the last minute, units had plenty of room and would diffentlly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feebee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We arrived at this motel at about 8:30pm in the rain with no reservation, after a long days driving. Even though we only wanted to stay 1 night we received a warm welcome and the owner even moved bookings so we could get a room on the ground floor and would not have to carry all our luggage upstairs so late on.
Everything was clean and fresh and the price meant it was excellent value.
It is a little out of town without anywhere within walking distance to eat and drink - but then again we didn't see any motels near the town centre.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We had a spacious 2 bedroom ground floor unit that was across a small side side street from the main motel property. I gather this must be the new extension as everything in our unit was modern & new! The bathroom had a whirlpool which was wonderful! Also had all the electronic gadgets in the kitchen that the previous reviewer mentioned, which is not commonplace in NZ motels. For the price we paid, it was excellent value. Highly recommended indeed!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

My wife, brother-in-law and I spent one night here on a tour of the South Island. We had a bungalow, with 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living/dining area. The place looked brand new, with modern furniture. It was well equipped, with a washing machine, drier, oven, fridge, dishwasher and microwave. There was a small balcony, with table and chairs for sitting outside. The Motel is near the town centre, but Invercargill is spread out, and you need a car to get around. We ate in the Lone Star, which quickly became one of our favourite restaurants in New Zealand. The Motel charged us NZ$160/night, which was the lowest price we paid in New Zealand, representing good value for money.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank 14AcquAria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 295 on Tay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 295 on Tay Motel

Address: 295 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 295 on Tay Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 295 on Tay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
295 On Tay Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing