We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had a pleasant stay in IAH, great value for money in my opinion. Clean, spacious and quiet room, working lift, and parking available out the front (although paid parking kicks in at 9am). Yes, there was some small amount of construction in the lobby, but I am not sure how this would affect your stay? The staff were friendly and courteous, and available to me on arrival, at departure and to promptly correct an issue with wifi access.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Jo,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you travel safely back home.

Our renovations are almost complete - the property will look wonderful in the upcoming month.

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have recently accompanied a family member travelling down to invercargill and stayed at IAH. It is a quality place to stay. Staffs are very friendly and professional, and they went out their way to help us to settle in. I would recommend to anyone who travels to Invercargill and looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O'hara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear O'hara,

Thank you for your review. I really appreciate your kind words and hope you settle well in our little corner of the world.

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The iSITE at Invercargill booked a studio for us for the night. Reading the mixed comments of other guests, we were worried. But the stay was much better than expected given the low budget price we paid (about one-half what we had been paying at motels). Yes there was some construction in the lobby but that did not affect our stay. The studio room is a bit small but has a high ceiling and a long desk to spread out. We did not need to book a parking space as we found street parking that was free until 9 in the morning. We put a dollar in the meter for an extra hour the next morning. The location of the apartments is perfect as we walked to dinner (Little India) and breakfast the next morning (Sass Cafe). Although we did not use the communal kitchen, it seemed fully equipped. We did use the laundry facilities in the basement which was very convenient. All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Wheee

Thank you for your review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Take care

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

During a driving tour of the South Island, we arrived at the Invercargill Apartment Hotel, after a looong drive hoping for a restful night.

We were greeted by construction work in progress in the reception area and a sign on the counter, which had a 'permanent' look to it, advising that there was no off-street parking available, when booking.com's site stated that there was AND that there was 'no need to book'.

We definitely did not want to park our car in the street, in this 'dodgy' looking 'low rent' part of town. During our extended sojourn in reception, from the comings and goings, this establishment's clientele looked to be decidedly 'budget' travellers.

A few nearby dreary shops we went into (not browsing, we were genuinely looking for items of clothing) were full of rubbish and devoid of customers - admittedly on a Sunday a'noon and had a dank, musty smell.

The very polite gentleman at the hotel's reception (Sadhu?) tried everything he could to find us an on-site park, but clearly there were none available. When we tried to cancel our booking, (under the again advertised 'free cancellation' policy), something we have never previously even considered, so we could look elsewhere, 'fun and games' ensued.

Our polite receptionist was seemingly permanently receiving instructions by 'phone and accordingly advised us that their free cancellation policy did not apply, as it was now within 24 hours of our intended stay - which came as a surprise, as this had not previously been mentioned, unless this condition, unlike the prominently advertised 'free cancellation' offer, was buried in the fine print somewhere.

The next strategy adopted, which was seemingly designed to wear us down into submission and acceptance of their fait accompli, was to ask us to 'sort this out' ourselves with THEIR booking agent. We pointed out the unreasonableness of this proposition, as we had no facilities available to even attempt this, on arrival in an unfamiliar city on a Sunday afternoon. In any event, it was the hotel's responsibility to deal with their agent, not ours.

Our ever polite (and constantly engaged on the 'phone, so difficult to speak to) receptionist was by then apparently in conversation with the hotel owner (Mr Ram?) and was overheard telling the latter that it was 'his decision'.

The 'ph was then handed to us, so that we could speak to the latter. This gent adopted a polite but hectoring tone and firmly advised us that they were within their rights, to apparently leave us to sort something out with THEIR booking agent - or presumably just accept the situation.

Eventually, after much 'discussion' and considerable wasted time, sanity prevailed and our booking was seemingly cancelled without penalty, as then confirmed by bookings.com, whom our receptionist had then thoughtfully 'phoned for us, entirely of his own volition. (We will be viewing our next credit card statement with interest, to see if this has actually occurred).

This was an isolated unwelcome experience on what had otherwise been a great trip thru spectacular scenery, in a truly beautiful corner of the world of generally friendly and welcoming people. (The hotel manager Darren (Reilly?) at Kingsgate Millennium in Te Anau, even 'phoned our home no o'seas, when he thought we had left our suitcase behind at their reception).

It seems from several locals, whom we later met in eg Dunedin, who were originally from nearby towns to Invercargill, who had lived and worked there, it is a place best only driven thru eg on the way to the end of the South Island's town of Bluff and left. There's nothing in I'cargill itself, to see or do.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Badman_and_Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Badman,

Thank you for your review. I would like a chance to respond to your review as I believe there are aspects to it which are misleading to potential travellers. I understand that Invercargill may have not been that appealing a city to your taste when compared to Sydney, however - most of your review relates to the city itself rather than the actual property.

I am unsure what you mean that the work in progress on the counter had a permanent look to it? We are undergoing a small transformation in our lobby to upgrade our facilities, these works will be completed by end March.

We have a large car park within our building that is secure and we right outside our property there is plenty of offstreet parking - this is the main street in Invercargill and there is no shortage of parking. Again, I am unsure why you felt as if there was no parking? Perhaps we could have done a better job at reception at putting your mind to ease - this we can learn from.

Again, your comments about dodgy part of town are completely misleading - we are in the Centre of Invercargill on the main street right next to major establishments - you mention that the cliental looked like budget travellers - please note that we do not advertise ourselves to be a luxurious place, we are a comfortable quality establishment that offer value for money during your stop with us in Invercargill.

You mention that you tried to cancel the booking upon arrival - our policy is very clear on all websites including our own that our free cancellation policy applies when bookings are cancelled 24 hours prior to 2pm on the day of arrival. This is within the industry standard.

We ultimately provided you a free cancellation even though we were well within our rights to charge for the first night - even after this I am disappointed that such a big deal was made out of your arrival with us that you did not even have the chance to see the room booked.

Your last sentence sums up your time in Invercargill perfectly - I am unsure why you had to take it out on the property itself when we actually did nothing wrong and you did even see the room booked.

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

WOW This old building has been retrofitted as student/backpacker apartments with a 3 and half
star quality of furnishings ,my daughter loved this one as she had a separate room within the apartment parking was a bit scarce make sure you make a car park booking when making your booking

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear The Gypsies

Thank you for your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a studio that felt very much like student accommodation. Very tired and rough around the edges. Dated. Bed was comfy but there was no duvet cover on the duvet which is unhygienic in my opinion. The unit hadn't been cleaned well and the chair at the desk was very dirty. Central location though, quiet and with friendly staff. Might have just got a dud room as many people have raved about this place?!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiegirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear CookiegirlNZ

Thank you for your review, I am very surprised to see that your stay was not to your satisfaction.

I appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of your room - this is something we take very seriously and will be looked at immediately. We will learn from your review and I appreciate your time in writing it.

Thanks CookieGirlNZ

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We booked this for its location and value for money. It was certainly inexpensive and the location is perfect for the centre of Invercargill, especially if you do not have a car. It is also very quiet. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and courteous.

We had a unit that consisted of two double bedrooms, a separate diner/kitchen and a bathroom. Good wardrobe space and large useful desk space.

Generally the unit was spotlessly clean and had two very comfortable beds, each with good quality linen. There is ample crockery and cutlery for self-catering with a microwave.

On the downside, the rooms have rather past their sell by date blinds that are very hard to operate without having to stand on the desks (which might account for the desk chairs being very dirty). The rooms are high pitched, very clinical and there is no chair in which to relax.

We were dismayed that the bathroom window that should open was broken and taped up making it impossible to ventilate the bathroom. Other panes of glass were cracked and unsightly as was the rust that was evident on the windows in a number of cases. The windows were not clean.

We survived our three nights not at an agreeably comfortable level but at a rather uneasy formal level. As such we would definitely not recommend that older couples such as ourselves who like to unwind with a degree of relaxation stay here.

So a very mixed review. Not all bad by any means, but much could so easily be improved on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAHManager, Owner at Ibis Styles Invercargill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Gehdev

Thank you for your review. I am very glad to read that you found our apartment impeccably clean, front office that are friendly and helpful.

I appreciate your comments about the blinds and bathroom windows, this is something we can certainly look at - everything comment is useful so we can look at improving as a property.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future, take care

Ram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Invercargill
Quest Invercargill
#1 of 12 in Invercargill
152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Invercargill

Address: 15 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand (Formerly Invercargill Apartment Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: £55 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Invercargill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Styles Invercargill is a 3 Star Self Contained and Serviced Apartment Hotel located in central Invercargill. Ibis Styles Invercargill offers comfortable accommodation and the convenience of staying at the heart of Invercargill, a perfect home away from home. Enjoy a comfortable and affordable stay in the heart of Invercargill. Facilities and Features: • Studio rooms available • 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom units that can accommodate up to 6 guests • 24 Hour On-Site Management • Building Wide Central Heating • Security Cameras and Swipe Card Access Public Areas • Secure On-Site Parking • On-Site Movie Theatre and Complimentary WIFI • In Room Kitchenettes • Off Site Gym • TV in all rooms with 5 Sky Channels • WIFI throughout the Building • Self-Service Laundry • Games room with table tennis table and Billiards table ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Invercargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingspace Hotel Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing