We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have stayed here 3 times this year (2013). Lovely Park like surrounds. Located just north of the city off the Winton road. Great staff, quiet and motel rooms are of a very high standard. We came across this motel by accident. We decided to travel at the last moment to Invercargill. After several phone calls to find accommodation we discovered it was the oyster festival weekend and therefore nothing available.
A search online resulted in finding this place under camping grounds, not being one for camping grounds as I now enjoy my fortnightly tax refund we prefer Motels. Being desperate I phoned and discovered they had motel units and there was one available for one night. The owners went out of their way to rearrange things so we could stay longer. I think this franchise needs rebranding to reflect that it has motel units as well as a camping ground / holiday park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrav8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mrav8or

Thank you very much for placing such lovely feedback on your stay with us here
We always enjoy having you both stay with us and are pleased that we were able to have you over the Oyster festival and again later on this year.
Its always nice to hear feedback about our new motels and look forward to showing off our rennovations to you when we next see you.
Thanks for your feedback about the rebranding. Great minds think alike and we are currently rebranding to incorporate the new TOP motels branding so that guests can be informed of our motel units

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    65
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
103
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Ensuite Cabin for one night 29th November. We found it to be a very friendly, clean and well maintained property. The owner/manager gave us lots of information on the district when we checked in which helped us immensely as we had only a short time in which to see the area. We would definitely recommend this Holiday Park to other travellers.

Room Tip: We had Ensuite Cabin #4 but I would think that all rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Christine,

We really appreciate all feedback we receive so thank you for taking the time to place a review on your stay with us.
we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again soon.
We have just finished rennovating unit 4 (the unit you were in) so look forward to have you stay with us again so that we can show it off :)
We hope you returned to Australia safely and look forward to having you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This Top Ten Holiday Park is very clean, and looks new. The location is good, and very near to Invercargill centre. The room we had was quite compact, hardly any room to walk between the bed and the bunkbeds, but it was quiet and a lovely setting.
The thing I absolutely HATED was the showers and bathroom. Just one room for male & females. YUK. YUK YUK. Just horrible meeting a complete stranger in his underpants first thing in the morning, or cleaning your teeth with 2 old guys next to you shaving or having a poo 2 ft behind you !. Don't think a lot of the men were comfortable with it either.
The bathroom & showers themselves were very nice, but the shared facility will put a lot of people off, especially woman - I would not stay here again for this very reason, call me old fashioned but I just do not want to share a bathroom with men.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear S and G

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Invercargill OTP 10.
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the communal bathroom facilities.
All our guests are shown BOTH ablution buildings upon checkin the unisex bathroom that you expereinced as well as the SEPERATE bathrooms. Both buildings are open all year round and are available for all guests to use.
We do our best to cater to all our guests so we have both facilities available
We do encourage all our guests and also recommend that if you come across any issues any issues at any TOP 10 such as this that you contact reception at the time of your stay so that we can rectify the issue immediately, such as showing you again where the other ablution building was.
Thank you again for your review and we do appolgise that we were unable to cater to your expectations

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Invercargill Top 10 Holiday Park in our van. The parking paces were very roomy and the facilities were extremely clean and tidy. Looking forward to a return visit when we are down your way again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Sue C

Thank you for placing a review on your recent stay with us here at the TOP 10 in Invercargill.
We do our best to provide comfortable sites and units for all our guests so are pleased that you mentioned your satisfaction with the size of our sites.
We like to make sure that each powered site has a piece of grass and picnic table to relax and enjoy your stay.
We hope you enjoyed te rest of your trip and look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Wow! We were so impressed when we walked in the door. We were welcomed late in the evening by a friendly host who walked us over to our unit. She showed us everything there was in our unit. These units are only a few years old, and wow they were beautifully done!! Decor is modern and tasteful. A very homely comfortable and warm feeling. The bathroom was lovely, and the beds were wonderful. We were so impressed and would not stay anywhere else if we ever come back to Invercargill. The heater warmed up the unit quickly and we were quite cosy on a cold winter evening. We made use of the laundry, and we loved the quiet, off the main road location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Janette,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on our new motel units! Its always nice to hear such positive feedback and to know that others like the decor as much as we do :)

All our motels are insulated above regulation and so they are the perfect place to stay on a cold winters night!.

The best part about working and staying here is the peace and quiet of the park so im pleased you enjoyed this too.

Thank you once again its always nice to accomodate fellow Nzers so we do hope to see you again real soon.

Kind Regards
Sharlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had booked an ensuite unit, but when we arrived Sharlotte offered us a motel unit which had become available for $10. Money well spent - we were able to prepare our evening meal in the unit in a lot more comfort. Speaking of comfort - the bed was the most comfortable we slept in during our 3 week travels around the South Island. Invercargill Top 10, we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong with a motel unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Alan,

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us here at the TOP 10 in Invercargill, its always nice to hear positive feedback. we always try to make sure our guests enjoy their stay so if a more comfortable unit is available we will always do our best to make this happen for our guests.
We hope you enjoyed your holiday! always such a shame when it ends but we look forward to seeing you again really soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

While this is one of the smallest Top 10's I have stayed, the service is the largest. Sharlotte, the owner went out of her way to make us welcome. We were given a personal tour of the campground and she spent time telling us all her favorite places in Invercargill. We spent a great day doing many of the things she suggested. The campsite was very clean, the showers were wonderful with ample hot hot water to warm me up on a very cold morning. Thank you Sharlotte for making our holiday stay with you so welcoming!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sickmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharlotte M, Manager at Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi There,

LOVE the title of this review!! but then again i may have a bias opinion and all haha
Thanks for placing the review we do our very best to make sure all our guests receive the best customer service possible so its always nice to hear that we are achieving this!
We like to take our guests on a tour of the park when they arrive so that we can share in their holidays and also so they don't have to hunt everything out later on!
we are pleased you had a lovely stay in Invercargill and look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
Sharlotte McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
3.0 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#21 of 33 in Invercargill
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 77 McIvor Road | Waikiwi, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill TOP 10 is located on the northern edge of New Zealand’s southernmost city. Invercargill is a provincial city with some stunning buildings and shopping and restauraunts as good as cities many times its size but without the problems of parking and getting around. The Southland Coastline is nature at its most raw and can be explored via the Southern Scenic Route. Invercargill is close to Fiordland, Queenstown and the Catlins. It is also the departure point for the Stewart Island ferry and flights.Your hosts, Philip and Diane Todd have created a comfortable and welcoming environment for you to stay whilst visiting Invercargill. Forget traffic noise and settle back in a sheltered and spacious setting a short drive from the city centre in Invercargill's only 4-Star Plus Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing