We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen's Park Motel”
Review of Queens Park Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Park Motels
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Queen's Park Motel”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stay once a year at Queens Park Motels when we are in Invercargill for work. Queens Park Motels are well located, being only a short walk (15 mins) to supermarkets, but also at the end of a cul de sac with minimal traffic noise. Queen's Park through the back gate is great for a peaceful walk at the end of the day. Mark and Maureen are always warm and welcoming on our arrival. We find the unit to be well appointed, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgadshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We love welcoming back our returning guests and are happy you continue to have positive experiences while staying with us. We are glad you have had time during your stay to utilise the beautiful park at the end of your working day and agree it is a great way to unwind. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    56
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
54
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The internet picture showing the front of the motel gives the impression that it is quite modern. The rooms around the back are not so, however our room was more than adequate for our one night stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants for an evening meal. Because the weather was against it, we decided not to walk into town and drove instead - about 5 minutes. If planning to cook/eat in your unit, there is a major supermarket about 5 mins drive from the motel.
The motel is in a very quite area, at the end of the no through road and right next to Queens Park and its gardens. In fact there is a gate from the motel into the park which is a beautiful and relaxing place to spend a few hours. While not the most modern or spacious motel, it's peaceful location, spotless condition and friendly owners make it a great value-for-money option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a very detailed review of your stay with us. We are pleased that, although your first impressions of the complex could have been better, our helpful suggestions and service, peaceful location and convenient access to the beautiful Queens Park, all left you with a positive experience. We hope to welcome you back to our great city in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This motel was easy to find. It was in a nice quiet location but wasn’t far from town. Our rooms were clean and quite spacious. We were comfortable and would stay there again. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the peace and convenience of our unique location within the city. We are happy to hear our rooms met all your families needs and hope to welcome you and your family back to the deep south in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stay twice a year at Queens Park Motels while I am in Invercargill for work. Queens Park Motels are well located - being a short walk from town, but also at the end of a cul de sac with minimal traffic noise.

The owners Mark and Maureen are very accommodating to guests - On previous visits they have been happy to hold my work gear over the weekend while I was away and not using my unit and they have even been so kind as to come and rescue me on a previous visit after a dead car battery left me stranded.

Our rooms are spacious and provide a good work area and the wifi is of a great standard. The motels proximity to Queens Park (over the fence) means a quick round of golf or a walk through Queens Park home is a pleasant way to end the working day.

Highly recommended for your next trip - business or holiday - to Invercargill.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to accommodate your needs as a business traveller and hope during your working visits you get to enjoy a little of what Invercargill has to offer as a travel destination. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The service was outstanding. The motels were A1+, very clean, very tidy, modern, nothing was amiss. Management and staff were always very polite, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again and refer.

Room Tip: Book in advance and specify your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We endeavour to accommodate any special requirements you may require please don't hesitate to contact us with your needs, we are here to help. We hope to see you and your family again on your next visit to the deep south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and found it to be rather disappointing. The main plus is its quiet location but everything looks tired and in need of a makeover. There was carpet on the floor in the small bathroom, which left us wondering about the cleanliness. It was a hot evening and there was no air- conditioning or even a fan. The bed was very ordinary, also.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear your stay was not what you had hoped for. We are an older motel in Invercargill who pride ourselves on our quiet location, cleanliness and friendly service. It was unfortunate that the night you stayed happened to be extremely hot (well outside the norm for Southland weather) and air conditioning is not adopted by most motels in the region, we do hope that while the weather was so good you did enjoy some of the beautiful scenery the region has to offer.

Mark and Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau, null, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at this motel. I chose it because of its location to Queens Park for ease of access for the children to enjoy what the park offered.

The motel was very clean and tidy and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Would be happy to stay there again if requiring accommodation in Invercargill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.1 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Motels

Property: Queens Park Motels
Address: 85 Alice Street | Gladstone, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Park Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a peaceful environment with a central location? Enjoy the best of both worlds at our unique location. On the edge of Queens Park gardens, enjoy the fitness track, golf course, gardens, Museum, all just a short walk out our back gate. All our guests enjoy the prospect of a restful sleep. Families can enjoy a home away from home environment in our large fully equipped units and the all the park facilities as our backyard. 6 X 2 bedroom units, sleep 1-5. 2 X 1 bedroom units 1-4, 6 studio units sleep 1-2. All self-contained, non-smoking units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Park Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Park Motels Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing