We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake to the call of the Tui” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Park Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Park Motels
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wake to the call of the Tui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This Motel was recommended to us by the owners of the Portobello Motels in Dunedin & we were not disappointed. Immaculately clean with everything we might need. The owners were very friendly & helpful. Our unit was next to the lions by the entrance so it was very easy to come & go without disturbing anyone else. It was always a delight to come back to after a trip out into the countryside. A highlight was listening to the Tuis each morning & evening. So lovely being so close to Queens Park for a recreational walk. We would definitely like to stay here again if we are down this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you Lindsay and Judy for reviewing your stay in our motel. We are happy that the unit was clean and we have passed these comments to our dedicated staff.
Queens Park gardens are a true asset to our city and we are so lucky being the only motel next to the park. Nothing like a walk in the park on a Southland summers day.!!
All the best
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    56
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
52
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. The manager was really nice and he was kind enough to accommodate my request of having all 6 of us in the same unit. He gave us fresh towels each day of our stay which was so thoughtful. I accidentally broke the knobs for the oven as I twisted it and the manager was very gracious and didn't charge us for it. Overall, we had a good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking time out to appraise our service and motels. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and that you will be back in the not to distant future.

Mark and Maureen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Three Adults in a 2 bedroomed motel. The room was immaculately clean with modern furnishings and I would say quite recently redecorated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Queen's Park is right next door so nice for a quiet stroll or if you have kids that need to let off some steam. This was our second stay at this motel and we will return again.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1, One Queen bed in one brm, 2 singles in the second. The Queen bed takes up most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Manager at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you Erin for your positive review. Our cleaning staff would be happy to know that the rooms were very clean. We are glad that you found Queens Park gardens a lovely place for your family to let off a bit of steam. Thank you for taking time out and hopefully we will see you and your family in the not to distant future.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this great little motel earlier in the year and really enjoyed the home from home atmosphere. The closeness to Queens Park is a real advantage. The owners are extremely helpfull and being at the end of a cul de sac ensures that it is quiet and that you will get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks Chris for taking out time to review our motel. We are glad that you found the motel quiet and that you had a peaceful nights sleep.Queens Park gardens out our back gate is always a delight especially in the spring. All the best and hope we will see you again soon.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here during the Bluff Oyster festival, in a 2 bedroom unit. The Hosts were friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome.
Our apartment was very clean and warm. The unit was a good size and with 4 adults in it we didn't feel at all cramped. The beds were comfortable and the unit was well equipped.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and would recommend to any one wanting good clean accommodation at a reasonable price

Room Tip: Didn't see a fitness centre, but can't remove rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meredith i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Yes, our apartments are clean and warm with comfortable beds and the units are well equipped.Our staff do a wonderful job in cleaning the rooms and I will again pass this compliment on to them.
We have never advertised that we had a fitness centre, but we have a running track in the school grounds next door and walking track with exercises in the park throught the back gate.

We are really happy that you all were able to enjoy the Oyster festival and that you may return again in the future. Thank you for taking time out to comment on our own Queens Park Motels.
All the best
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

A clean, comfortable and very quiet motel situated next to the beautiful Queens Park. Great for our group of swimmers who were accommodated in a variety of units and this all suited our needs. Kitchen was well equipped in each unit and the hosts were very helpful. Close to the city centre and to Splash Palace as well as supermarkets. Thank you very much for hosting us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
We were happy that you found our motel location very quiet and clean for your visiting group of swimmers. The cleaning staff take pride in keeping the units clean and well equipped and we have passed this feedback on to them.
It was a pleasure in hosting a well behaved group of athletes and we look forward to seeing your group in the not to distant future.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

These clean, well-equipped units are adjacent to the lovely Queens Park and walking distance to the i-Site and town center. The area is very quiet and the hosts, Mark and Maureen Gane, most friendly and helpful. The free washing machine and internet terminal should also be pointed out. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking time out in reviewing your stay at Queens Park Motels.Your comments are valuable to us and we will continue to assist you,our guests.We hope that you will visit again in the not to distant future.
All the best.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.2 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Motels

Property: Queens Park Motels
Address: 85 Alice Street | Gladstone, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Park Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a peaceful environment with a central location? Enjoy the best of both worlds at our unique location. On the edge of Queens Park gardens, enjoy the fitness track, golf course, gardens, Museum, all just a short walk out our back gate. All our guests enjoy the prospect of a restful sleep. Families can enjoy a home away from home environment in our large fully equipped units and the all the park facilities as our backyard. 6 X 2 bedroom units, sleep 1-5. 2 X 1 bedroom units 1-4, 6 studio units sleep 1-2. All self-contained, non-smoking units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Queens Park Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Park Motels Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing