We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and a great location”
Review of Queens Park Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Park Motels
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful and a great location”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were greeted by Mark, a most friendly and helpful host, who provided good information about the city. The single bedroom unit was spotlessly clean and had everything one could want, including a DVD player and free WiFi. It was in a premier position at the front with a sunny northern aspect. Next door is a school where, on our arrival, a very powerful loudspeaker was part of noisy sports activities, but we knew this would soon stop once school finished for the day. We enjoyed a quiet and relaxing evening with a walk in the beautiful park right out the back.
The compact bedroom had a single and a queen bed. Space around the queen bed was tight with a bedside cabinet and clock radio having to be placed in an adjacent wardrobe. This curious location did not bother us though.
We have stayed in other Invercargill motels but this one will be our first choice for any future visits being so clean and well maintained, its peaceful location next to Queens Park and a friendly and helpful host.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to give a positive review for our motel.Again we have advised the cleaning staff of your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartment.

We love to tell the guests what a wonderful city is Invercargill and the delightful things to see and do..Yes the sports day is the glamour event for the athletics at Southland Boys High School which is about half a mile away.. They are a noisy bunch on this sports day which happens once a year.

Again thank you for kind comments which are much appreciated.

All the best.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    56
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
54
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We arrived here late on a cold wet February night after travelling from Europe and left early the next morning in the rain. So we did not see this motel at its best. That said, Mark and Maureen were very welcoming, raiding the breakfast larder to find us something to eat when we arrived, as it was too late to find a restaurant open in town, and giving us the quietest room to ensure we got a good night's sleep. This was an older room, with a rather cramped bathroom, but both were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The motel provides a cooked breakfast on request and there is free wifi, though we did not use it.

The motel is a 10-minute drive from the airport and a short drive into the town centre. Unfortunately we did not have time (or the weather) to sample the reputed delights of Queens Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time out to stay with us.We are glad that the room was clean and tidy and that you had a quiet and confortable night's sleep after a particularly long and tiring trip.
All the best .
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This motel offers excellent facilities for those travelling with small children - close access to Invercargill's premier park, two playgrounds in very close proximity and a playhouse on site. Good sized laundry facilities, quiet cul de sac location with no traffic and playing fields next door to kick a ball around. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our motel and thank you for your outstanding recommendation. We are a very child friendly motel with playgrounds, park and school grounds next door. The two bedroom apartments are used a lot by families and the laundry facilities are used frequently. We are very happy that you enjoyed your quiet stay in our motel at the end of the cul de sac.
All the best.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Manager very welcoming and accommodating. Gave me full cream milk in a jug when he only had Trim in the usual guest bottle. Very clean and well equipped.Well positioned for walks in the beautiful park and shopping .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.Your recognition that our apartments are clean and well equipped have delighted us and our cleaning staff. Thank you.
You did enjoy the walks in the park and we are so lucky that the park is right next door to our motel..
I am sure you enjoyed the other delights in Invercargill and do not hesitate to contact us agin when you are next in town. All the best.

Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This Motel was recommended to us by the owners of the Portobello Motels in Dunedin & we were not disappointed. Immaculately clean with everything we might need. The owners were very friendly & helpful. Our unit was next to the lions by the entrance so it was very easy to come & go without disturbing anyone else. It was always a delight to come back to after a trip out into the countryside. A highlight was listening to the Tuis each morning & evening. So lovely being so close to Queens Park for a recreational walk. We would definitely like to stay here again if we are down this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you Lindsay and Judy for reviewing your stay in our motel. We are happy that the unit was clean and we have passed these comments to our dedicated staff.
Queens Park gardens are a true asset to our city and we are so lucky being the only motel next to the park. Nothing like a walk in the park on a Southland summers day.!!
All the best
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. The manager was really nice and he was kind enough to accommodate my request of having all 6 of us in the same unit. He gave us fresh towels each day of our stay which was so thoughtful. I accidentally broke the knobs for the oven as I twisted it and the manager was very gracious and didn't charge us for it. Overall, we had a good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Owner at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking time out to appraise our service and motels. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and that you will be back in the not to distant future.

Mark and Maureen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Three Adults in a 2 bedroomed motel. The room was immaculately clean with modern furnishings and I would say quite recently redecorated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Queen's Park is right next door so nice for a quiet stroll or if you have kids that need to let off some steam. This was our second stay at this motel and we will return again.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1, One Queen bed in one brm, 2 singles in the second. The Queen bed takes up most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPM85, Manager at Queens Park Motels, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you Erin for your positive review. Our cleaning staff would be happy to know that the rooms were very clean. We are glad that you found Queens Park gardens a lovely place for your family to let off a bit of steam. Thank you for taking time out and hopefully we will see you and your family in the not to distant future.
Maureen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Motels

Property: Queens Park Motels
Address: 85 Alice Street | Gladstone, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Park Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a peaceful environment with a central location? Enjoy the best of both worlds at our unique location. On the edge of Queens Park gardens, enjoy the fitness track, golf course, gardens, Museum, all just a short walk out our back gate. All our guests enjoy the prospect of a restful sleep. Families can enjoy a home away from home environment in our large fully equipped units and the all the park facilities as our backyard. 6 X 2 bedroom units, sleep 1-5. 2 X 1 bedroom units 1-4, 6 studio units sleep 1-2. All self-contained, non-smoking units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Park Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Park Motels Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing