We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed ”
Review of Canton Restaurant

Canton Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 101 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Really disappointed ”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Long day and looking forward to takeaway sweet & sour wontons for dinner.
Found the restaurant, wondered if it was open as it looks quite closed up from the other side if the street.
Service was friendly but the food was really poor. The rice had been burnt and the meat (or whatever was supposed to be meat) in the wonton was bland and fatty.
Maybe the cook was having a bad day, maybe their worst dish but for me, I won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great food with efficient service. We had takeaways and would definately return on another visit to Invercargill

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZBeachfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Visited Invercargill in January 2013 and returned to the Canton restaurant after having dined their a year ago, once again it was great, there was five of us dining and we let the owner choose a banquet meal for all of us, fantastic meal and a great night, would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Napier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this one!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Having returned to Invercargill for a short period to stay with family I was treated to a fabulous take away dinner from this restaurant. We ordered chicken with cashews and rice. The freshness of the ingredients and chicken were delicious! I would highly recommend this restaurant for value for money and for its quality food. The lovely lady who took our order was very friendly and smiled which in turn made me smile!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roniece Dawson-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesomely Asian”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Best chinese in Invercargill! My family has been dining at the Canton for more than 20 years. The Canton has the freshest most flavoursome chinese in town, and the owners John and Susan are the nicest hosts. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lakester13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canton Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Canton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing