We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful First Class Night Out”

Elegance at 148 on Elles
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful First Class Night Out”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited Elegance at 148 on Elles last week with our end of dairy season staff function. There were 7 of us in total and it was a mid week function. Two of us ordered shrimp as a starter, absolutely beautiful presentation and taste. We all ordered a variety of mains and deserts. The first class service and all meals and desserts were wonderful. The cost is probably a little more expensive than others but worth every cent. This was a night to remember and we would recommend to any one visiting Invercargill, and wanting a lovely meal out, to visit Elegance at 148 on Elles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    31
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal in Invercargill so for!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The evening started with a warm welcome by the friendly and professional staff, sitting near a 'real' open log fire for a pre dinner drink. All of the food was superb in taste and well presented. The staff were perfect and actually applied the standards of fine dining service. The atmosphere was warm, friendly yet professional. The fudge option for dessert was great, I recommend the chocolate mint. The only improvement I could suggest was to have a some soft live music playing, perhaps the piano being? Best meal out in Invercargill so far.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jethro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ALWAYS an enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had the belly pork which was very flavorsome and the crackling was actually crunchy! yum yum. The bread starters were also very tasty too. My sister had the chicken breast which she also enjoyed. We both had desserts. Chocolate lovers which was beautiful, spongy cake on outside and soft gooey middle. Sister had the cheese cake which she loved.
Nice to see the windows are now aluminium, it made a big difference from when I was there last time when they were wooden. Very warm which is appreciated.
Service was also very friendly, efficient but not intrusive. I consider this value for money. Large servings reasonably priced. Thanks again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Professional and delicious!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were in Invercargill on business and after a long drive from Dunedin we just wanted a good, tasty dinner that didnt take forever. This restaurant ticked all the boxes - impeccable service - so much so that they even gave us the contact to get some Stewart Island oysters the next day to take to Wanaka. The food was delicious and the chef (owner) and maitre d (his partner) were so lovely and friendly. We wished this was our local. We will back next trip. Thanks - it topped off a very successful stay in the Southland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you want to eat somewhere special, this is the place!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked a meal with only an hours notice, for a special occasion last night. How surprised we were to be welcomed to our table and find a lovely card from the staff wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The service was excellent without being at all intrusive. And the food was out of this world. I had the steak, which was perfectly cooked and melt-in-the-mouth. My husband had the mussels, which he said were delicious. We both had dessert and my plate arrived out with "Happy 25th Wedding Anniversary" written in chocolate around the edge of the plate. Thank you so much to the staff at Elegance - you made our night really special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patrice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elegance at 148 on Elles also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Elegance at 148 on Elles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing