We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return, again and again and again!”

Elegance at 148 on Elles
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return, again and again and again!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just love this place! Had the Wild Venison entrée then the Beef Fillet and Rack of Lamb this time. All were delouse and cooked perfectly, juicy and oh so tender! Service was processional but welcoming and attentive as always despite the restaurant being very busy. I had the After Dinner Mint Fudge (recommended by our waitress and wonderful!!!!) with a Baileys Hot Chocolate and my husband had a Chocolate Cup it was baked to order so lovely, rich and silky smooth. We can't wait to return, again and again and again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandHugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    31
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“VEGAN HEAVEN”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I dined at Elegance at148 on Elles last night with vegan friends. We had rung ahead to inform the restaurant that we were vegan diners. When we arrived we were presented with 10 different vegan options on a wonderful main course vegan menu. And afterward, with a 5 option vegan desert menu.The food was great and the service was absolutely excellent. A lovely restaurant that goes 100 extra miles to please its guests. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notknowmeyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful First Class Night Out”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited Elegance at 148 on Elles last week with our end of dairy season staff function. There were 7 of us in total and it was a mid week function. Two of us ordered shrimp as a starter, absolutely beautiful presentation and taste. We all ordered a variety of mains and deserts. The first class service and all meals and desserts were wonderful. The cost is probably a little more expensive than others but worth every cent. This was a night to remember and we would recommend to any one visiting Invercargill, and wanting a lovely meal out, to visit Elegance at 148 on Elles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal in Invercargill so for!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The evening started with a warm welcome by the friendly and professional staff, sitting near a 'real' open log fire for a pre dinner drink. All of the food was superb in taste and well presented. The staff were perfect and actually applied the standards of fine dining service. The atmosphere was warm, friendly yet professional. The fudge option for dessert was great, I recommend the chocolate mint. The only improvement I could suggest was to have a some soft live music playing, perhaps the piano being? Best meal out in Invercargill so far.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jethro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ALWAYS an enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had the belly pork which was very flavorsome and the crackling was actually crunchy! yum yum. The bread starters were also very tasty too. My sister had the chicken breast which she also enjoyed. We both had desserts. Chocolate lovers which was beautiful, spongy cake on outside and soft gooey middle. Sister had the cheese cake which she loved.
Nice to see the windows are now aluminium, it made a big difference from when I was there last time when they were wooden. Very warm which is appreciated.
Service was also very friendly, efficient but not intrusive. I consider this value for money. Large servings reasonably priced. Thanks again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elegance at 148 on Elles also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Elegance at 148 on Elles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing