We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rocks Cafe

The Rocks Cafe
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lunch date today, great service, atmosphere and food primo could'nt ask for more when on a hour lunch. Chicken salad the best!

Helpful?
Thank Saintbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    72
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service--happy to deal with complicated arrangements. Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I wanted to buy a special meal for a group of people in Invercargill. Unfortunately, few business owners in Invercargill seem willing to deal with advance phone or online orders. Also, many of the restaurants have limited opening hours and the ones with good food tend to have the kind of trendy atmosphere where the staff seem to think it is their job to make some customers feel unwelcome. The Rocks was the only restaurant I found where the staff seemed professional and friendly over the phone and were willing to deal with a rather complicated advance order situation. They really went the extra mile.

The meal and service were excellent. Portions were generous and the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bzz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Garlic Prawns & Oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lunched here and had the best service, wine and food! Love that you can have 2 oysters done 3 ways at a reasonable price for a light lunch! I so want to be able to make that delectable sauce on the Garlic Prawns it is so so YUMMY!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We dined with friends. The restaurant, whilst hidden in an arcade is lovely and has good ambience. I ordered the venison, my friends ordered the lamb and my husband ordered the pork. My friend commented on his lamb being 'melt in the mouth.' My husband said his pork meal was lovely and my venison meal was amazing! If there were any improvements it might be that the kumera did get quite sweet with the honey glaze after the first few pieces. We also had dessert and my friends had the crumble which they said was incredible and I had the black cherry bread and butter pudding.....and this ain't no ordinary bread and butter pudding!! It was DIVINE! A chocolate and black cherry party in your mouth!!!

We will definitely return. The meal was reasonably pricy so expect fine dining prices, but, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to the rocks a few times now and have enjoyed every meal there. Loving the menu, we had a awesome 3 course meal, chowder, squid to start, pork belly and venison to follow, and a poached pear dessert to share. Ooh and we had a cocktail on arrival was yum! Nice friendly staff, meals arrived in perfect waiting time of each course, food was tasty, we'll seasoned and flavoursome and FRESH! Prices aren't too steep, all in all was great, thank you we will be back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lanzcrystalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocks Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing