We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were supposed to stay here overnight, as setup by a tour organizer, with prepaide voucher. We showed up, as we were finishing checking in, a weather report came through suggesting that in the next twelve hours, we would get > 1 meter of snow and be snowed in for days.

The staff made multiple calls to our offsite organizer, got a refund issued, and got us on the next bus out of Milford Sound.

The lodge looked reasonable. The staff certainly went over and beyond the call of duty in helping us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi , well even though is sounds as though you weren't able to stay our team made sure you were looked after. We are very understanding when it comes to the variable road conditions we can face in Spring and wouldn't expect people to stay if they were on a tight itinerary and there was a chance of being delayed. Thanks for the review and hope to host you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lather up in "Goodbye Sandfly" and you'll be sweet. We stayed in a small cabin by the river and it was lovely. The shared facilities were all very clean and user friendly. There were plenty of showers with plenty of hot water. On a recent roadtrip, this was a highlight, inexpensive but did everything it advertised. The service was with a smile and the cabinet food was also very tasty. Well done.

Room Tip: Take a cabin if you can. It's nice to be away from the crowds and it's certainly not expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi, thanks for your great review. Great to hear you positive about the sandflies and we agree, Goodbye Sandfly works a treat. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a powered camper can site. The access road to the lodge is in dire need of repair and the surface within the site even more so.
The site is within a rainforest so it was bombarded by flying insects while I was there as it was just after a rainstorm and the site is by a river.
A number of days later as I write this review the lumps from numerous bites are making themselves known!!

The facilities within the lodge are excellent. Good kitchen and dining space. Nice lounge with plentiful sofas and clean spacious toilet & shower facilities

A good option to be at the sound for an early cruise or days activities but watch out for the flies - and they need to fix the road surfaces!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi, thanks for your review. I just answered a review regarding sandflies so they must have been out in force for a day or two! They are a pain but if you are prepared you can largely protect yourself from them and I agree, the bites itch for days! You also must have arrived shortly after a major rain event and storm we had in Milford. This did cause significant damage to our road and campervan sites and as we can access gravel for repairs from inside the park it took about 6 weeks to repair. Milford Sound is amazing but it can be challenging at times! Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Go prepared for sandflies - if you do you'll love this place. If you dont go prepared look out !!!! Milford is simply spectacular - this park is located about 600m from the main harbour area but itself has spectacular views of the mountains. The facilities are well maintained and clean, howeever the powered sites can be quite tight in terms of van manouverability. They had seen quite a bit of bad weather just prior to our arrival so th car park etc was pretty churned up but all in all a very pleasant place to stay. Remember - go prepared for sandflies - the little buggers are everywhere and can get through the finest of holes to leave you scratching for says afterwards

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi there, so you met our resident little pests! Sandflies certainly can make your stay miserable if you aren't prepared. We have complimentary sandfly repellent at reception made from all natural ingredients but there are other tips like not wearing black and keeping moving as well. Glad to hear apart from that your stay was great. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My trip to Milford Sound has been two years in the making, and when I finally get here - in my camper van - I am sick. So I want a room. With a bed. I ask at reception, and the lovely manager can give me one. She sounds apologetic about it a being a room with bunks, but since there are three of us, and I am sick, it sounds like heaven.
The room is plently large enough for the three of us, and after a quick three hour power nap, I head off to the bathrooms.
It is, of course, raining, but the covered walkways make this a non issue, and after refreshing and gathering the family, we head to the kitchen. Which is quite confusing because it has stuff. like pots and pans, and cutlery, and plates, and all that sort of stuff other campgrounds don't have 'cos they go walkies. They also have big fridges and shelves you can store things on and in - as long as you name them- so we did that. We cooked, then took our meals into the communal area to eat. The roller door on the bar went up, so hubby got himself a beer.
I loved all of it.
It's not five star; it's not modern; but what do you expect coming here?
It's clean,everything works, the outlook is stunning, and the staff are pretty awesome.
And the next day I woke up to clear blue skies

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi there, sorry to hear you were unwell in Milford Sound after 2 years planning your trip but very glad to hear our team made you comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. We are not brand new but our Lodge has a lot of history as well which is pretty amazing...and it's in Milford Sound! Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

With not many options in the area - or within a radius of about 120 kms - one could expect the worst. But this is actually a nice, well updated place to stay. Amenities are clean and up to date and we enjoyed the large common lounge area and the kitchen. We had a camp site and they have us a spot right next to the amenities block so that we would not have to run through the rain with our small child. Much appreciated!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about out camping. Our tent sites are located in native forest and are a little special. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Location is spectacular - surrounded by mountains and waterfalls and very close to Milford Sound.

We stayed in a two-person cabin (not the riverside Chalet). The cabin is almost comically small, but comfortably warm in the winter and fine for shorter stays. Staff are very friendly.

Common area is nice for hanging out - no TV.

We didn't use the kitchen facilities and ate dinner at the cafe down the road. The on-site cafe makes excellent muffins and flat whites for breakfast.

Had fun watching the kea on the property.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mhcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi, thanks for placing your review. Not only do we have Kea on our site but also Weka and Glow Worms! Thanks for mentioning our cafe, our muffins sell out every day! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.2 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
304 reviews
25 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
39 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
79 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range: £9 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Premium Chalets to cosy Backpacking Rooms and Rainforest Campervan Sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: boat cruises, kayaking, walking and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound. Pre booking is essential Nov - April and year round for our Chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milford Sound Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing