We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to experience Milford Sound! Great value packages.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best way to experience Milford Sound! Great value packages.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having previously visited Milford years ago on the standard drive in, cruise, drive out rather tiring approach, I wanted to find a better way this time round. We booked a 'bed, breakfast and cruise' package which we felt was great value for what we got. Nice relaxed drive in on empty roads in the afternoon avoiding the hordes of coaches. The Lodge is pleasant with a nice kitchen, free tea/coffee and a lovely big lounge. Also has a nice cafe and little shop - our inclusive Kiwi breakfast was served in there and was a lovely start to the day. We booked a cabin but were upgraded on arrival to a cosy and comfortable lodge room which was a nice touch. Just down the road is the Blue Duck pub/cafe with wifi which was good. Clean, spacious bathrooms also - don't miss the nature walk opposite the lodge too! The package included an early morning cruise with just people from the lodge as the road was not open yet, was lovely to get up close and personal with nature and we saw loads of Dolphins, Seals etc as we were the first boat out. The package also included a nice soup/sandwich lunch on the boat, and a visit to the underwater observatory which was great as we would never have paid the extra for this ourselves. They also emailed us an audio guide to play on the road in/out pointing out the best places to stop/visit which was nice. You are also driving out by lunchtime so have empty roads and lots of time to stop off and enjoy the sights on the way back to Te Anau. Overall a great value package and nice Lodge with friendly staff!

Room Tip: The lodge room had a cosy rustic charm but no ensuite if this bothers you (the toilets/showers where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi, we love this review! Thank you so much for posting this and we are really glad you had a great time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    331
    187
    54
    31
See reviews for
174
547
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
301 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a beautiful place to stay, totally isolated. We had a riverside chalet and this looked over a gushing river and five waterfalls. The lodge had a fully equipped kitchen and good quality bathroom. There was a lounge in the reception building and you could buy food and drinks there. They also had a shop selling essentials. There was 100 mb free wifi in the reception area but it was expensive to buy after that. Please note that there are no food shops here and the area is really remote so stock up at Te Anua if you want to bring food with you. There are sand flies in this area so you will need to bring repellant with you. They did supply a comlimentary bottle in the chalet. There was no signal in the chalet for a mobile phone or for the TV.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi, thank you for your helpful review of our chalets. Love the title..Total Escapism...we love we can't get cell phone service! Thanks for posting and hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed a night in one of the river front chalets, the chalet was nice and modern and had the most amazing view over the river and towards the mountains, you felt like you were in a cabin in the woods. The TV doesn't work all the time, but who needs a tv when you have a view like that! They do have free dvd's for hire as well

Room Tip: choose the chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi there, thank you for the review on our chalets. They are very popular and they really deliver the iconic 'wilderness' experience along with a touch of luxury! We have had our TV satellite dish realigned recently so hopefully this has rectified the reception issue. It could also be heavy rain which we often have. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were supposed to stay here overnight, as setup by a tour organizer, with prepaide voucher. We showed up, as we were finishing checking in, a weather report came through suggesting that in the next twelve hours, we would get > 1 meter of snow and be snowed in for days.

The staff made multiple calls to our offsite organizer, got a refund issued, and got us on the next bus out of Milford Sound.

The lodge looked reasonable. The staff certainly went over and beyond the call of duty in helping us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi , well even though is sounds as though you weren't able to stay our team made sure you were looked after. We are very understanding when it comes to the variable road conditions we can face in Spring and wouldn't expect people to stay if they were on a tight itinerary and there was a chance of being delayed. Thanks for the review and hope to host you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lather up in "Goodbye Sandfly" and you'll be sweet. We stayed in a small cabin by the river and it was lovely. The shared facilities were all very clean and user friendly. There were plenty of showers with plenty of hot water. On a recent roadtrip, this was a highlight, inexpensive but did everything it advertised. The service was with a smile and the cabinet food was also very tasty. Well done.

Room Tip: Take a cabin if you can. It's nice to be away from the crowds and it's certainly not expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi, thanks for your great review. Great to hear you positive about the sandflies and we agree, Goodbye Sandfly works a treat. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a powered camper can site. The access road to the lodge is in dire need of repair and the surface within the site even more so.
The site is within a rainforest so it was bombarded by flying insects while I was there as it was just after a rainstorm and the site is by a river.
A number of days later as I write this review the lumps from numerous bites are making themselves known!!

The facilities within the lodge are excellent. Good kitchen and dining space. Nice lounge with plentiful sofas and clean spacious toilet & shower facilities

A good option to be at the sound for an early cruise or days activities but watch out for the flies - and they need to fix the road surfaces!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi, thanks for your review. I just answered a review regarding sandflies so they must have been out in force for a day or two! They are a pain but if you are prepared you can largely protect yourself from them and I agree, the bites itch for days! You also must have arrived shortly after a major rain event and storm we had in Milford. This did cause significant damage to our road and campervan sites and as we can access gravel for repairs from inside the park it took about 6 weeks to repair. Milford Sound is amazing but it can be challenging at times! Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Go prepared for sandflies - if you do you'll love this place. If you dont go prepared look out !!!! Milford is simply spectacular - this park is located about 600m from the main harbour area but itself has spectacular views of the mountains. The facilities are well maintained and clean, howeever the powered sites can be quite tight in terms of van manouverability. They had seen quite a bit of bad weather just prior to our arrival so th car park etc was pretty churned up but all in all a very pleasant place to stay. Remember - go prepared for sandflies - the little buggers are everywhere and can get through the finest of holes to leave you scratching for says afterwards

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi there, so you met our resident little pests! Sandflies certainly can make your stay miserable if you aren't prepared. We have complimentary sandfly repellent at reception made from all natural ingredients but there are other tips like not wearing black and keeping moving as well. Glad to hear apart from that your stay was great. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 6 in Glenorchy
279 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
74 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 52 in Wanaka
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Property: Milford Sound Lodge
Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Premium Chalets to cosy Backpacking Rooms and Rainforest Campervan Sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: boat cruises, kayaking, walking and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound. Pre booking is essential Nov - April and year round for our Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing