We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milford Sound Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
US$1,655
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,605
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
US$979
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$926
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coronet View Accommodation(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reavers Lodge(Queenstown)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
QT Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
480
362
200
61
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
362
200
61
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverte anauthe kitchenmountain viewinsect repellentheated floorsbed dormcamper vanfloor to ceilingunderfloor heatingdrying roompowered siteshared bathroomremote locationmain buildingriverside chaletsboat trip
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in one of the chalets, arriving on a very rainy day, which made for an impressive show by the rising river outside the window. The room was cosy and the bathroom had a lovely big bath in it which was very enjoyable for a soak after a day of wet travelling. Good accommodation for a couple, but a little cramped for the four of us (family). The (teenage) boys slept on the single beds, and we had the fold out couch which aren't always the most comfortable, but we knew this was the case when we booked. We certainly don't want to take away from what the chalets were like, we probably just needed to do our homework a bit better for what our needs were.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi, Glad to hear you loved our views and location. Milford Sound is a pretty special place for sure and we love showing visitors what we get to enjoy every day. Thanks for posting, really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

great place to stay when visiting milford sound. amazing views from the room, private, short walk to only bar & restaurant. good food and company. great walks around the sound. wonderful 2 nights & cruise of this beautiful place

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mean121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi, thanks for your review. We certainly are spoiled for views at our Lodge, Milford Sound is spectacular any angle you are enjoying it! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This place is primarily a backpackers' hostel -- at least in its style and setup. A friend and I got a 'double cabin', but that's something smaller than any hotel room I've ever had (two twin beds) and you went outdoors 30 yards to the bathroom. I'm guessing about 8ft x 10ft room? There aren't a lot of choices in Milford (no other option, I don't think), so we were glad to have it. Take a look at the chalets maybe? You paid for wifi, but at least they had a half-decent connection. Breakfast (not included) was pretty decent, though surprisingly expensive.

Room Tip: "Cabins" are tiny tiny and have no private bath. Consider the chalets, which apparently are nicer (but probably harder to reserve).
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi, thanks for your honest review. These cabins have now been replaced with our luxury Chalets which are in hot demand. Thanks again for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Would recommend a night in the chalets! What a view! Checking in was very simple. When we drove around to the doorstep of the chalet I will never forget the amazing sound of the water gushing by. Then upon entering our chalet we heard absolute stillness with a view that was beautiful - I could spend hours watching the water move over the rapids. The Chalet was very clean and spacious. Nice simple kitchen and bathroom was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kele-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi, great to hear you enjoyed your chalet stay. The Cleddau River runs right past the front of the chalets and it usually makes people's jaws drop when they see it. Lots of wows! Thank you for taking the time to tell others by posting here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The bad part of the stay was actually the time before we had been able to check in.
We arrived around 2PM with the check in time being 3PM. We asked if we could check in early but the lady at the front desk said she is new so she did not know. I asked if she could check with someone and she said she was the only one there but she could check if the room was ready. She returned after five minutes saying that she is sorry, she is new, and the room was not ready yet. We should come back at 3PM. Since I travel a lot I know the stories about the "room not being ready" so we decided to go to the little river which was right where our cabin was (she told us which one we would get). Of course, the room was ready (there are large windows you can see through) and so we waited until 3PM with nobody coming to clean the clean room. We walked back to the front desk and asked again if we could check in now so the lady said, you guessed it, she was new and did not know. I asked her again to check if the room was ready and here is the surprise, it was ready now because it cleaned itself while we waited in front of it. She said again that she was new and wanted to charge us for the room (which was already paid for) and then asked if she could make a reservation for us for a tour or anything. We asked her to make a reservation for us for a ferry ride which she tried, but since she was new, she was not successful in doing that right so we had to fix that in person later that day.

The room itself was nice in terms of the layout but it was not clean. I do understand that there are many sand flies and regular flies but they should not pile up like they did all over the place if you have a cleaning crew. We did not even take a shower as the bathtub was full of flies.

The location is breathtaking but so is everything that you see there.

Since there are not many options to stay in Milford Sound we would suggest trying something else or driving in and out the same day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordLodgeManager, General Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi and thank you for your review. We appreciate your point of view in terms of checking in on time and completely agree, however we would never let a guest check into a room that has not been properly checked by a trained senior staff member. During winter when you arrived, we have far fewer guests than in our summer season and we run a small team, one of which had obviously just begun her training with us and we apologise that they weren't able to deliver the level of service we would prefer. Thanks for posting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews