We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milford Sound Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin. Very pricey but also really nice and upscaled for where you are. Remember you are on a river a few km from the sound but gorgeous views. Had to share kitchen with backpackers which was fine, but for the price would have figured a stove in the unit. It is noisy with everyone in the backpacking dorms behind you, but the views make it a one of a kind experience. Spend the extra money for one of the few cabins available you will be happy.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    324
    185
    53
    31
See reviews for
171
526
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nambour
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The sheer beauty of the surrounds is amazing as is the drive out from Te Anau particularly in winter - an experience not to be missed. The view from my husband's room was beautiful and the room was fine though a little overpriced but he didn't find the staff as helpful as some other reviewers have indicated - I guess we all have bad days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

By far my favourite place I stayed whilst in New Zealand. We stayed in a chalet and it was just beautiful, the room was warm, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. We were unable to connect to the wifi, but that's no big issue, who wants to spend their time looking at a screen while surrounded by such beautiful scenery.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jburne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We read the reviews, but really didn't appreciate how good this place was until we arrived.

A running river in the back of the chalet, ridiculous views greeting you everywhere you looked, attentive service and close to everything. Wi-Fi was a little slow, but at least there is Wi-Fi.

I think the best review anyone can give is that this place was so good, we cancelled our next booking elsewhere and stayed here an extra night! Definitely take your time, you won't regret the additional "soaking" time that is Milford Sound.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sheer luxury plus and the view is fantastic..
This is a must do experience to fully appreciate Milford Sound.
Staying at the Milford Sound Lodge enables you to relax and enjoy all that Milford has to offer.
A total experience that you will remember for ever.

Room Tip: The suite closest to the town gives an amazing view of the river and mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a chalet in the Milford Sound Lodge and it was an experience out of the world. There are only 4 chalets which are in the middle of nature. The rains and the location made our stay extraordinary. The chalet was comfortable, warm and had all kind of amenities. For vegetarians, the breakfast menu may look like a challenge but the chalet made up for anything and everything!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neha344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Well I booked the mountainside winter bed and boat package which was $375 for 2 adults and child in mountainside chalet for one night, included breakfast and included Milford sound cruise with underwater observatory walk and lunch pack.
Service definitely lacking. Could never get through to them on phone cos no one answers. Booked online and never got a confirmation email/ phonecall or anything to say I was booked in. Thought if ring them few days before to make sure I was booked, no one answered, I left a msg, no one called back. Rang them another day and they finally confirmed. Received no details of the cruise though.

When we arrived there was one girl at reception and it was busy. She said the other staff were out and didn't realy care too much about service. She gave us our key to our room and a bit of paper saying our cruise was tomorrow. Didn't show us where our room was, didn't show us where breakfast was.i think the owner/manager realy needs a wake up call and needs to train the staff how to be professional and friendly. Its basic customer service!
The good thing was the mountainside chalet was realy nice, warm, modern and had a river view also. No cutlery or plates whatsoever though.
I stayed here after seeing good reviews of the location. It's around the corner from the cruises too. Chalet and location great, service no good!
The breakfast was good though and the cruise was excellent, which is with Southern discoveries. Suppose it's worth it for the price you pay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefaniegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
23.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
24.2 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Sound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Property: Milford Sound Lodge
Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Luxury Riverside Chalets to cosy private and dormitory backpacking rooms and powered campervan and tent sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: kayaking, diving, boat cruises and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound.Pre booking is essential Nov - March and year round for our Riverside Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing