We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large One Bedroom”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Large One Bedroom”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. If there was any complaint it would be it was too large. We tended to spread out and take advantage of the space and it took us a while to pick everything up when it came time to leave. Jo checked us in, gave us a lot of information on the town and where to eat, and Doug walked us to our room and turned on the heaters. They were very friendly. The combination living room kitchen had a couch, chair, kitchen table and chairs. There were also a couple of smaller tables. The bedroom had a queen size bed and a twin bed and the bathroom was large with a combination bathtub shower and plenty of counter space. There were two TV's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. We were provided with 2GB of free WiFi. Even with two of using the internet, we could only use about 750MB in two days. This is a nice place and we would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    140
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
243
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Amity Lodge for 5 weeks.
The owners Doug and Jo were kind and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable becouse it was well equipped all. We really want to stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ハンプリー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights during a skiing/sightseeing trip. The rooms may look a bit dated but are very large and very comfortable for an extended stay. The unit was very well heated with wall heaters in the lounge room, bedroom, and in the hallway between the two, a fan heater in the bathroom, heated towel rack and electric blankets. Very large TVs that had only been installed a day before we arrived - including HDMI connectivity which was great for reviewing our photos and videos each day and watching movies that we had brought with us. The kitchen was functional and well stocked with pots and pans etc for cooking.

The location was very good - away from the pubs and clubs of the town centre, so nice and quiet in the evenings, but only a short 10 minute walk into town. Free onsite parking outside the unit, though a tight squeeze for a large sedan, and a generous 2GB free wifi. Jo gave us an excellent introduction to the town when we first arrived, pointing out everything we'd need on a map. Doug was always up for a chat in the mornings, and the dog was always waiting for someone to throw her ball. A very friendly and comfortable place - would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs units have mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have recently returned from 8 days stay at Amity Lodge Queenstown. Doug and Jo were excellent hosts and did not hesitate to help us with our early arrival and late departure. The Apartment was very warm, lovely views and kept beautifully clean. It was very quiet had good amenities, large roomy bathroom We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We did not have a car and it was a wee way from a supermarket or grocery shop. Buses very handy thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Amity was a great affordable place to stay for those looking for reasonably cheap accommodation. The rooms are a little dated but were well maintained and clean. Kitchen is good for cooking simple meals before skiing. The location is great, 5-10min walk to town, and right near the Millenium for the bus to Remarks. All in all great value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snotty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Self contained units, perfect for our 5 day own catered accommodation. Short walk to central Queenstown. Quiet and warm rooms. Off street parking beside unit for rental car etc. Would stay there again for our next skiing trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamslaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Amity Lodge for 10 days and were very happy with our experience. Great location just a short (uphill) walk from the town centre - actually enjoyed the exercise and felt it was a great way to offset many restaurant indulgences! The rooms were always cosy and warm thanks to the underfloor heating and I was surprised I never had need to wear my specially packed ugg boots. Hot showers were fantastic and the heated towel rails were a bonus. Cooking facilities were simple but adequate for basic meals, and it was great to be able to quickly whip up scrambled eggs prior to an early departure to the mountains. Following an unfortunate snowboarding accident, I ended up on crutches and thereafter appreciated useful features such as the shower rail and shower chair! Doug and Jo were helpful and pleasant. Would definitely recommend as a great value self-contained apartment in a fantastic location with everything you need (even unexpectedly) for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_bristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 58 in Queenstown
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 58 in Queenstown
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing