We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel with parking and a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice motel with parking and a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for Easter and ANZAC Day 2014 - 7 nights.
Location wise it's spot on for Queenstown centre, just a 10 minute walk from the waterfront which is down a small hill. We really enjoyed being able to walk into town for dinner rather than driving everywhere. We also walked to the Gondola, which was maybe 20 minutes away.
The lounge, hall and bedroom all had heaters and there was also a heated towel rail in the bathroom, on the rainy days these were appreciated.
It was good to have parking and there is a car park for every room, which is good in Queenstown.
We had an upstairs room which had views of the lake from the balcony, which when you're looking at views like Queenstown, that is cool.
Rooms has Sky Sports, News and Net Geo on the TV. Kitchenette was nice with clean, new crockery. There wasn't a toaster, but we had cereal for brekkie so this was all good.
Felt the value was good, especially as we had 7 nights for the price of 6.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you can. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJButler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    137
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
101
237
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Amity Lodge over Easter. The unit was excellent, very spacious, clean and comfortable. And quiet too. The bedroom had a queen and a single bed, both very comfy and with electric blankets. A heated towel rail in the bathroom - I'm sure those staying in winter would really appreciate that! Kitchen facilities were well appointed and very clean. Handy to downtown Queenstown so no need to drive if you don't mind a bit of an uphill walk on the way back. The only downside is the limited parking, otherwise it would be five stars. A great stay, excellent value for money, and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A superb motel with really spacious apartment and excellent facilities. Value for money in a place where accommodation can be expensive. Did not move the car for 3 days in Queenstown and although a climb up from centre it was quiet at night. Would thoroughly recommend Amity Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiapoi
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3nights over Easter. On arrival we were greeted by Jo and Doug. Jo gave us the run down on Queenstown and Doug helped us get the car parked in one of the on site car parks. Our unit was lovely and clean and well equipped. There was even a second TV in the bedroom.
Our upstairs unit was quite spacious and had a view out to the gondola.
Also came with free sky and Wifi. All in all, a great place to stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

At the end of a long driving holiday, Amity Lodge in Queenstown was the perfect chance to stretch out and relax. Huge apartment style rooms with full kitchen, dining table and lounge, plus large bedroom and bathroom with tub. Onsite parking and free internet was a nice bonus. Everything very clean and well organised and only a short walk into town. Jo and Doug were extremely friendly and helpful; and gave excellent suggestions and recommendations on things to do and places to eat, including calling around to check tour availability for us. Really enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Amity is a friendly hotel with large, clean rooms. Jo and Doug were very helpful with directions and info. It's an easy ten minute walk into the centre of town (bit harder on the way back with the steep hill!). Hotel is also on the bus route to the airport which is handy. Our room had a sitting room and kitchen with a separate bedroom and was very quiet. Some building work was going on next door (probably finished by now anyway) but it didn't disturb us as started after we were up and finished early. Queenstown being what it is you're not in your room during the day anyway!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Doug and Jo made us all so very welcome, superb accommodation that was immaculate in all respects. The motel is just the right distance out of town, pleasant evening walk after one of those big holiday meals. Highly recommended plus a special bonus of Carla the motel dog, one very cool animal who's life is focused on the ball.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiing_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#15 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing