We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, location and friendly service.”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Value, location and friendly service.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed with two mates for a week on a ski trip. The motel/apartment style accommodation had everything we required.... Two TV's, beer fridge, heating, mini kitchen and all within an easy walk to Queenstown Mall. The manager (Jo) recommended a couple of good (cheap) eats for us to try and was happy to assist with special requests. If you are wanting clean, comfortable and value for money Amity is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    140
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
243
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Unfortunately there was no mention of the construction work next door which, although not starting work till 8am, was an early start when you're on holidays. Also made the balcony redundant as sitting adjacent to a building site and trying to enjoy the fresh air, view or just the sun was out of the question. The parking spaces are also small considering the cars are generally larger (AWD or 4WD). Also is more like 10 minute walk to centre but pleasant, the walk back though very unpleasant, especially with children or if carrying purchases as it has a steep hill to negotiate. One of the reasons I chose this property was the location because I thought we would be able to leave the car behind, including in the evening, but this proved not to be possible. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask about construction work nearby and ask for newer rooms, they were more spacious and are generall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heppi-trails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiggy10, Manager at Amity Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We apologize for the construction work going on next door, however, it is beyond our control,as ir has nothing to do with our property. and council regulations state that they can start at 8am. We were hoping that it would be near finished by now.
Amity is only a 5-10 minute walk to town and because of the topography of Queenstown being 300 metres above sea-level, and, in the mountain region, there are a few hills around.
For most people,the short walk up-hill, is not a problem and many people even enjoy the walk as a way of keeping fit. Most accommodation places in Queenstown are on hills, some a lot steeper than the main road into Queenstown.
There are many taxis or public transport available at reasonable prices for those that are perhaps not so fit and healthy and do not wish to walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose Amity Lodge based on the positive reviews from Trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed here for four nights of a tour of Aus and N Zealand. The unit was terrific. A large lounge /kitchen /dining area. Separate bedroom , with queen and single bed and a second tv. Bathroom very good. The kitchen was very well equipped. Wifi was good strength too. Nice location in a quiet area with ample parking space. We walked into town easily, but as others have mentioned, it is an uphill walk back, however, nothing overly strenuous. We loved Queenstown and could not have chosen a better place to return to each day.
Doug is a very friendly and helpful chap - great sense of humour - made our visit so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for one week at the end of April. Our unit was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, with good heating, and serviced daily. Very convenient to town, easy 10 minute walk, with small hill on return. Jo & Doug very friendly and helpful. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggyR20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Always my first choice of somewhere to stay in Queenstown. Spacious, comfortable, quiet, well-equipped units, very clean, and well furnished - altogether a real home from home, close to the centre of town, and owners very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in early April and, having stayed here a few years ago, we weren't disappointed at our second stay. Convenient to walk into town and slight hill on return. Clean and tidy room and even 2nd TV in Bedroom. Jo and Doug are great hosts. Car Parking is good. Because Motel is situated just off the main road into Q'town it is quiet so you get a good nights sleep. Highly recommended and will return.

Room Tip: Personally we prefer the upstairs units furthest from the road as they have a nice balcony to sit ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTheWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for Easter and ANZAC Day 2014 - 7 nights.
Location wise it's spot on for Queenstown centre, just a 10 minute walk from the waterfront which is down a small hill. We really enjoyed being able to walk into town for dinner rather than driving everywhere. We also walked to the Gondola, which was maybe 20 minutes away.
The lounge, hall and bedroom all had heaters and there was also a heated towel rail in the bathroom, on the rainy days these were appreciated.
It was good to have parking and there is a car park for every room, which is good in Queenstown.
We had an upstairs room which had views of the lake from the balcony, which when you're looking at views like Queenstown, that is cool.
Rooms has Sky Sports, News and Net Geo on the TV. Kitchenette was nice with clean, new crockery. There wasn't a toaster, but we had cereal for brekkie so this was all good.
Felt the value was good, especially as we had 7 nights for the price of 6.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you can. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJButler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing