We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one bedroom apartment here and the views are absolutely amazing! Very clean modern and open, And the balcony was our favorite part! Very convenient and close to town, it was a perfect place to wrap up our trip in New Zealand!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dconnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dconnaughton

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments. I’m so pleased you enjoyed the amazing views.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    281
    85
    29
    26
See reviews for
260
792
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

At the time of booking our room I had not read the reviews thoroughly and I now know that was a mistake.
Pounamu Apartments has many excellent reviews, and I'm sure that all of the rooms are clean and modern.... but please note, the studio rooms DO NOT have the views mentioned in reviews. After checking in at reception, a lady was quickly at our room to greet us and very quickly made the point of showing us the adjoining empty apartment with lovely views and informing us that we could upgrade for an extra $110 per night. We declined.

The studio room was very clean and the king size bed is comfortable with plenty of pillows to choose from for your desired firmness, very quiet airconditioner, and a small kitchenette. In the foyer to the apartment and studio is a cupboard containing a washing machine and drier. Our room faced out the back so road noise wasn't an issue, but it faced the afternoon sun and it would become very hot during the heat of summer without the airconditioner on. Pounamu is a short walk to the main shops, restaurants, and Lake Wakatipu but our elderly mothers struggled walking up the incline back.
The studio room was small and cramped, if you had two large suitcases and didn't want to unpack for a short stay before moving on, you would be struggling to place them within access without bumping/tripping over them.
I don't expect the bed to be made, floors washed/vacuumed, bin emptied and clean towels every day (daily servicing is an optional extra cost) but for the asking price of NZ$370 for 2 nights in a small cramped room without a view, I don't think it was to much asking for a couple of plain teabags for the second night, without the grumble from the manager that the place is self catering, as he grudgingly handed them over.

We have stayed in Queenstown before in hotel not as new, modern or close to town, it but $$ cheaper, with a much bigger room and lovely views of the lake and mountains.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay for the rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Bri Vic
Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read you enjoyed the comfort of our king size beds, however we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the accommodation. You are correct in saying that the Studio Rooms DO NOT have lake and mountain views and are small (21sqm to be exact). We are very clear in our marketing of our property, stating that the Studio Rooms don’t have views and are like "small hotel rooms". Where availability allows we offer an opportunity to upgrade to a 1 BRM Apartment (74sqm), with spectacular views, especially if staying for longer stays. Our corporate guests find the Studio Rooms very comfortable.

We take your feedback seriously and strive to improve. I have shared your other comments with our team to ensure we continue to offer 5 Star service.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay in a 1BRM apartment. Email me and I will organise a very good rate for you. marketing@pounamuapartments.co.nz

Kind regards, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at these apartments a couple of weeks ago. Although it was nice and clean, however, I had booked what is classed as a studio room. This room was very small, less than a size of a hotel room. I was there for 4 night and the room wasn't serviced. No where on the booking did it say un - serviced room. I was a little disappointed not have had clean towels, only to be told on check out there was some extra towels in the cupboard.
The gentleman showed me the full apartment which would have had a view over the lake. Now that was beautiful but expensive. The room at the front of the apartment was vacant at the time of our stay however, should somebody had booked that room, it would have meant we would have shared the same entrance to get to our room, and they would have had another door to go through to get to the front apartment. Strange set up.
To my mind the Studio room should be renamed, as its nothing like a studio at all, yes there is a sink and microwave, but a very, very small room. Would not recommend for 2 people

Room Tip: Full apartment if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Joyce T, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with your accommodation. As per our website, Studio Rooms are 21sqm and are like a small hotel room. At the time of receiving your booking, we send a confirmation email with information including a reminder that the rooms can be serviced upon request, however the On Line Agency you booked through does not send email addresses with bookings.

As rooms are self contained we offer 4 bath towels per room (2 in the wardrobe next to the robes) and full laundry facilities.

We take your feedback seriously. Be assured we strive to improve and I have shared your other comments with our team to ensure we continue to offer 5 Star service.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay in a 1BRM Apartment. Email me at marketing@pounamuapartments.co.nz and I will organise a very good rate for you. Currently on our website we have a Special offer (to 12 December 2013) of “Stay 4 Nights & Pay for 3 Nights”, which makes it a very affordable holiday.


Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fantastic hotel with beautiful surroundings. Location is the only thing that isnt 5 stars about this place. But only a 10 minute walk to center of town (yes I timed it--and their is an annoyingly steep hill thrown in for good measure)

Rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated and cozy. The heated floors in the bathroom were a very nice touch. Wife and I were in a studio which was PLENTY of room for 2 people. Its the size of your basic hotel room anywhere in the world so not sure what the fuss is about the size or need for an upgrade.

Leo and his staff were wonderful. Brochures on every possible excursion can be found in the lobby. They can give you advice and help you book there so super convenient. You even get a box of chocolates if you book $250 worth of events. :)

Would highly recommend Hikari Sushi (takeaway) in the center of town--GOOD quality and very reasonable priced sushi. Ate there three times in 3 days! New Zealand is a place most people dont have time or desire to visit but it is well worth it. And this hotel is the perfect starting point for your adventure. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Studio is fine, no need to upgrade if just 2 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear texastrojan

Thanks for a great review. I agree, we have the most beautiful surroundings. Located just a 10 minute walk into town, our guests love the location, but yes I agree, that hill on the way back is hard work.

I will pass your feedback onto our team. Once again thank you for your review on our Studio Rooms.

Kind regards, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for what was supposed to be a quick break from the campervan and loved it so much that ended up staying for 3 nights! Beautiful apartment with wonderful views. Felt like royalty!!!:) Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay and brilliant way to enjoy Queenstown. Hope to be back one day!:)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYS8378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear HOLIDAY S8378
Thank you for your positive review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of the region in the campervan.

We would love to see you return one day soon. Come back in the Autumn when Queenstown is a glow of golden colours.


Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a couple for three nights. The ladies at reception were very friendly and attentive which was great. We stayed in a studio room, it was very small but it was modern and clean, plus the bed was a queen and very comfortable. The room also had aircon which was important as it was quite hot during our visit plus we had access to a washer and dryer that we shared with only one other room. The only small negative was the location, it was a 15-20 minute walk from the main area, we had great weather though so didn't mind the walk too much.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Birch84

Thank you for your review staying in one of our entry level rooms – Studios Rooms. Yes it is small and the size of a small hotel room and the king bed with Goose Toppers is like sleeping on a cloud.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Superbly located just a short, pleasant stroll from Queenstown's centre and with fantastic views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Contemporary apartment-style accommodation, ideal for families or sharing with friends. We had a two bedroom, full kitchen, well-appointed apartment with a wonderful balcony for soaking up the view. Very well sound-proofed against Franklin Road and we really did appreciate the FREE WiFi. After tramping the Humpridge Track we also enjoyed the large bath in each bedroom. Spacious, pleasant and very comfortable. Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Pamela H

Thank you for your wonderful review. You will be pleased to know that we have “super fast” Internet with the new Fibre Optic installed, which is running flat tac. We are also in the process of adding an additional 2 logins for each Apartment.

Pamela, keep a look out on the website for our Special Offers. A visit in Autumn is absolutely stunning – a golden array of colour.

Kind regards,
Marketing Manager
Rowena Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing