We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really magical place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 December 2013

These apartments are lovely only bettered by the view that greets you every morning and afternoon and evening
The location is a nice walk into town but far enough out to be away from the constant hubbub of Queenstown centre

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizteag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Liz
Thank you for a wonderful review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I totally understand what you mean by the view greeting you morning, afternoon and evening – it changes by the hour!

Come back and stay in the Autumn or Winter .. amazing views!
PS Book direct for 2 days or more to receive that beautiful bottle of PRADA Perfume

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

The pounamu apartments is on the lake wakatipu and you have an opportunity to wake up to the sights of a glorious day with the view of the lake and mountains.

Pros
1. Great views if you take the lake facing rooms
2. Large bedroom and living with a longish large study.
3. Study houses a computer, phone etc.
4. The area is split level and the living is on the lower level which enables unobstructed views from both the living and bed room
5. Large clean toilet with accessories.
6. Shared laundry just outside the door, laundry liquid is provided
7. Smart decor, spotlessly clean, TV, DVD etc, in the room
8. Well equipped and well stocked kitchenette
9. Internet free for two devices
10. Free covered parking

Cons
1. Edges in the bath in the bath area are pretty sharp and maybe inconvenient to older people
2. No take away menu in the rooms. This is very essential as the weather in central Otago is very dodgy.
3. Breakfast is served in the room on request but very minimalistic
4. You surely need a transport as it is a 15 minute walk into town
5. slightly difficult to handle a lot of luggage if you are staying on the upper floor
6.The one bed studio is ok for a nights stay, but for a longer stay it is worth paying a little extra to upgrade and take the lake facing ones.
7. There is no convenio nearby.

You are encouraged to book direct and they have a few perks for it.
Also you can book all your tours in the reception. The staff are very helpful and informed.

Room Tip: All the lake facing apartments are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear vidhusagar

Thank you for your balanced pros/cons feedback to your recent stay with us.

On the whole I was pleased to read how you had enjoyed your stay and it was nice to read how much our team were well informed and helpful.

I will be sharing your feedback at our management meeting to ensure we review and improve in the areas you have raised.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Best place we stayed at in NZ by far. We had one of the "apartment" rooms that had a balcony, living room and kitchen with great views out over the lake and we utterly enjoyed every minute of our stay here. Would wholeheartedly recommend this to friends and family and stay there again myself.

Only negative was a maximum of two devices connected to wifi at once which simply isn't enough when you consider phones, tablets etc in addition to your laptop. It left us juggling devices turning wifi on and off which was a pain, but once it was connected it was decent. Also, the in-room computer was a bit dated and barely usable it was so slow (hint to proprietors: replace them with Chromebox machines!)

Its a bit out of the town, so a its a 10 minute walk downhill on the way there, and a 2 minute taxi ride on the way back! Wasn't a problem for us as we were away from the noise and backpacker nonsense of town but might be an issue for some.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Matt
Thank you for your great review and feedback. I'm so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the great views and facilities.

Matt, my sincere apologies in regards to the lack of login/passwords for Wi-Fi Internet. A phone call to Reception and we would have quickly extended more logins for you, so I'm very sorry about that. The additional passwords will be loaded into each of our rooms over the weeks to come.

I will be sharing your feedback at our operations meeting in regards to the in room computer. We also have laptops available for guests to use.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment overlooking the lake and mountains - what a view while you are having breakfast! The apartment was spotless. The dishwasher and washing machine came in very handy. Unlimited free internet with two teens was a definite plus, we could all connect at the same time too - great! Comfy beds. Only drawback if you are not fit is the 9 min walk into town, there is a big hill on the way back. Would come again tomorrow, and I am very picky!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCN2628GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Julie, thank you for you great review on Pounamu Apartments.

I’m so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and the views from your Apartments.
I will pass your feedback onto our Housekeeping team. They enjoy receiving feedback from our guests and work extremely hard to meet our 5 Star Qualmark rating.

Next time you stay you will want to take the 10 minute walk down through the beautiful gardens and pond. Skip that hill, it takes me a good 15 minutes!

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic apartments with superb views over Lake Wakatipu. Facilities and their ease of use better than what is shown on website. Best of all was help advice from hosts Priscilla, Rowena re restaurants, internet, taxis etc. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Braker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

HI Braker B

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. Our focus is to ensure our guests leave Pounamu and Queenstown with treasured lifetime memories. We thoroughly enjoy booking trips and restaurants etc for our guests.

We hope that you will join us again sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in queenstown for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. These apartments are about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town along the main road next to the lake. Great location. Our room was a studio and was very tiny. No cooking facilities and a small bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfy in our travels. Parking was in underground parking bays and there were many steps to get our suitcases up to our room. Probably not suitable for those with mobility issues. The rooms had shared entrance for two rooms with a laundry which was handy. The best thing about these apartments were the staff - Row was extremely helpful and friendly. We would stay here again but would pay a bit extra for a bigger room.

While in queenstown do two things - 1. Walk up the hill with the gondola, via the Tiki track. It takes a few hours up and down but it is lovely and the views are awesome. 2. Drive up the gravel track of remarkables ski area, 13 kms up to the top with some hairy corners. The views are amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 2011 Marg
Thank you for your lovely review. . I have to agree they are comfy – just like sleeping on a cloud.

The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room without views and a small kitchenette. Next time you stay you will want to relax in our Apartments with the amazing views!

Join us in Autumn or Winter and check out our Special Offers on our website.

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

2 girls (5&8) and 2 adults shared this little gem. Our view was incredible first off. The apartment was really nice and modern. The girls room had its own tv! The adults BR had a view of the lake which was phenom. The bed was so comfortable which was really welcome after chasing 2 kids around all day. Even the bath was fantastic.

The only downside is that you are a good 10 minutes from the centre. Going is downhill but coming back is a taxi. There was a fair amount of road noise but it settles after the sun sets.

The staff at reception were incredibly helpful and accommodating. I'd come back with or without the kids.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Barnsey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Barnsey999

Thank you for your review, and feedback on Pounamu. Yes the beds are comfy – the feather down toppers are soooo yummy to sleep on!

The views are “phenom” of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkable mountains. Being on Frankton Road we do have some road noise, however the double glazed windows do make a difference and yes I agree with you, in early evening it quietens down.

We would love to have you back – with or without the kids. Keep a look out for Special Offers on our website – especially the Prada Perfume offer valued at over $160 when you book directly with us for more than 2 nights.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown

Address: 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Pounamu Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £125 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing