We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Adults + 2 Children (2, 3)”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 Adults + 2 Children (2, 3)”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time with the young family. Location was close to town, staff were very friendly and helpful. Overlooking the lake and the Remarkables, even on the days with average weather the apartments are still perfect for enjoying Queenstown. Will definitely come for another stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tupu_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Tapu_F

Thank you for the wonderful review. The 2 BRM Apartments are perfect for families with so much space. I hope you got to check out the DVD Library and Playground area for the children?

We look forward to you joining us again.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    289
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
275
813
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Our NZ holiday began in Queenstown and due to delayed flights, we arrived a day later than planned. Big kudos to Pounamu apartments for being super flexible and accommodating - they helped us shift our dates, which meant we could spend an extra day with them. We had the added problem of our luggage never arriving with us and they helped by lending us their laptop and power adaptor. This really made a difference.

We had the studio room which was ideal - we were hardly in the room so would not have benefitted from having a view (although an added bonus no doubt) so we have absolutely no regrets there. The room was perfectly kitted out - comfiest bed in the world, a mini kitchenette with kettle, cutlery and crockery , plus fridge and microwave and a lovely good-sized bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is included (which was great as we noticed many other hotels charged extra for this) - one device at a time can be connected but no issue. The phones in the rooms allow free local calls which came in particular use for us as we called Queenstown / Auckland airport a lot re. our missing luggage.

The best thing for us was the fact that there was a washer and dryer outside our room which we could use - perfect in our situation where our luggage did not arrive. Really appreciated this amenity! But also perfect for those who indulge in sporty activities and would prefer to do washing instead of lugging smelly clothes about. Detergent is provided as well as a clothes horse (handy for garments you can't tumble dry).

Apartments are slightly further out from town - about 10-15 min walk but absolutely no problem. Views really are breathtaking here and it was nice to be somewhere peaceful.
Big thanks to Ro and Susy who we dealt with during our time here - super friendly, helpful and always with a smile on their face. Needless to say, themselves and Pounamu Apartments made the pain of a delayed flight + lost luggage MUCH more bearable. Would not hesitate to stay here again and 100% recommend this place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear meichan3

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Studio Room, especially after your eventful start to your holiday.

We have more good news regarding our Wi-Fi, not only is it Unlimited and Free, but we have now installed the Super Duper fast Fibre Optic connection, which now allows our guests to login with 4 devices for each room, so a 2 BRM Apartment can have up to 8 connections!

The team thoroughly enjoy taking care of your needs. Our goal is to ensure that you leave Queenstown and Pounamu with happy and unforgettable life time memories.

Come back again soon, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great apartment, it had everything, all the comforts of home, full kitchen, very comfortable beds, large office desk and wi fi included in the tarrif, and only a 10 minute walk into town. The views of the lake and The Remarkable's are to die for. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Beryl

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review on Pounamu Apartments. Yes I have to agree with you, the Apartments do have everything, home away from home and the views to go with your stay.

We would love you to come and join us again. Keep an eye out on our website for Special Offers.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed a night in a 1 bedroom Premier Apartment and was blown away by the jawdropping view and the quality of the room. Cancelled plans to eat out and instead ordered in and spent the night in. All standard amenities are there - WiFi, fully operational kitchen with utensils, cable - but also some nice touches like a heated bathroom floor, TV in the bedroom, and chocolates on arrival. The only negative was the walls seemed a little thin - we heard our neighbours quite clearly in the morning.

Room Tip: Request a room with no neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motts_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Motts_Melb
Thank you for a wonderful review on Pounamu and our amenities. It was nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay. And I have to agree with you Pounamu does have “jawdropping views”.

In regards to hearing guests talking, the Apartments are very well noise insulated with 6” tilt slab concrete between the Studio and the 1 Bedroom Apartments with internal wall construction as per the normal building standards for accommodation places and Hotels. Our sincere apologies and hope on your next visit that if you do have neighbours that they are more considerate like most guests are.

We hope to see you again. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for NYE 5 nights. Great accommodation, very well fitted out and great friendly staff. Close to town centre and good parking. Beds really comfortable, loved the fire, kitchen good, lovely attention to detail (milk on arrival, magazines, DVD,s etc).
The best benefit was of course the brilliant views - they are stunning! The road below is a minor distraction - but no real issue, don't least it put you off. This was relatively expensive but worth it, the views won't disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear ajojones

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed the views – yes they are brilliant!

Autumn and Winter is just around the corner. We have some great deals coming up soon, that you can take advantage of.

Look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed in this apartment with by husband back in 2009- and it was just beautiful, we actually felt really guilty staying at this place as it was just too perfect. The view was unbelievable as we wake up everyday with the serene view of lakes, mountains, greens, smell of fresh air. The place has full kitchen, really nice and modern interior, I can't fault this place at all. I would recommend this to anyone who are looking for a place in Queenstown. This is a little away from town but it didn't bother us. This place is more than perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Divin J

Thank you for staying with us again and for your favourable feedback. We love it when our guests return.

Autumn was just a golden array of colour, a beautiful time to come. Next time don’t forget to check out our Special Offers on our website.

Once again, thank you for your rave review. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

These apartments are lovely only bettered by the view that greets you every morning and afternoon and evening
The location is a nice walk into town but far enough out to be away from the constant hubbub of Queenstown centre

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizteag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Liz
Thank you for a wonderful review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I totally understand what you mean by the view greeting you morning, afternoon and evening – it changes by the hour!

Come back and stay in the Autumn or Winter .. amazing views!
PS Book direct for 2 days or more to receive that beautiful bottle of PRADA Perfume

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing