We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fully equipped, warm and comfortable.
Like a Hotel and a n apartment combined, best of both worlds!
We conduct business meetings here and you could not wish for a more open plan, ideally located, private setting.
Summer or winter the apartments are well suited.

Room Tip: Downstairs lake view rooms are slightly larger than upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your glowing Review Damon. We look forward to your return.
Don’t forget to book direct to ensure we offer you our “loyalty rates”.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    289
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
279
814
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Pretty much everything I expected based on other reviews. Definitely a 15 minute walk to town. We did it everyday, not a big deal. Only complaint is that the studios share the same wall as the bedroom. So if people are up late or up early you'll hear them talking and uses the bathroom. Not much you can do about it. Used the washing machine which came in handy. Great fireplace that we cranked up to keep warm. Everything you need to be comfortable in Queenstown. Tip: no maid service, you'll need to wash your own towels.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank standndlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi standndlvr

Thank you for your review and feedback on our Studio Rooms. Our sincere apologies that you could hear other Guests talking. Even with the Apartments being noise insulated with 6” tilt slab concrete between the Studio Room and the 1 Bedroom Apartments (as per building standards for accommodation buildings including Hotels), sometimes noise travels.

In regards to servicing rooms, one of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about Pounamu is that rooms are “self catering”, creating the home away from home environment with daily servicing an optional extra. We understand though, that this is not for everyone. I’m sorry that this was not picked up during the booking and confirmation process.

Once again, thank you for your Review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Check in was swift and friendly. Location is pretty good, maybe a 10 - 15 minute walk downhill into town and close to bus stops. We stayed in an efficiency, no lake view but this is very plainly stated prior to booking. We did have a view of the hill and gondola behind the complex. Very nicely decorated modern room with every amenity and convenience you could want. The one thing you are missing is space. Wish I would have walked off how big the space is but forgot to do this. Then again you aren't going to spend a lot of time in your room when in Queenstown, are you?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi ParkerChick

Thank you for your review on our Studio Rooms - our entry level, the size of a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette. They are perfect for short stays.

We hope to see you again, sometime soon. As a returning guest, book direct with us to receive a loyalty special offer and maybe stay in an Apartment with the best ever views.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

When we arrived we were told that there was an issue with our booking - however this may have been a problem with booking.com, or possibly with someone else booking under the same name. Luckily, the staff were very accommodating and friendly, and sorted this out quickly and painlessly for us (this involved a refund for being charged for an additional day in which we were not even in the country).

The room we stayed in was the studio apartment (the cheapest) and was quite small, but the bed was very comfortable. The room was furnished with modern decor and was exceptionally clean and tidy. The staff were nice enough to also give us a chocolate treat, and had some rose petals on the bed, as we mentioned in our booking we were staying there as part of our honeymoon.

The Pounamu Apartments are located around a kilometre from the town centre. Walking into the town centre was fine, and took about 15 minutes though I wouldn't recommend it for elderly/very unfit people as you need to climb a hill on the way back.

All in all, we had a very good experience and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Studio apartments don't have a view of the lake. Also, if staying here on your honeymoon, make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi BethHutch

Thank you for your review on our Studio Rooms - our entry level, the size of a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette. They are perfect for short stays and just wanting a comfortable place to rest and sleep.

I’m pleased to see that we sorted out your accommodation and that you enjoyed your honeymoon here at Pounamu. We do our best to please.

We hope that you will return to celebrate your 1st Anniversary. As a returning guest, book direct with us to receive a loyalty special offer. We hope to see you again, sometime soon.

Cheers Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My son and I stayed two nights at Pounamu apartments in January 2014. We brought our dog and this was the only place that was pet friendly that we could find on the internet.
The apartment was stunning, with great views. Right next to our room was a special area for the dog, fenced off, with doggy bags and a bin, a water bowl and tap. In case we had forgotten the bed for the dog there was one inside.
The kitchen was very well appointed, it had everything we could wish for.
The people at the reception were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Book in time if you bring your pet, at this point in time they only have one apartment that can acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianVDLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Marian
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our “Pet Friendly” Apartment and the fenced off area for your pet.

Yes, sadly, as we only have 1 Pet Friendly Apartment it is advisable to book early.

We hope to see you again, sometime soon.

Cheers Ro

Marketing Manager
Rowena Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The room was more than I had hoped for. It had beautiful views, spacious rooms, wi-fi and computer connections! It was a short walk (about 15 minutes) to town. A cab was easily had if you didn't want to walk. Pounamu had all we needed for a very enjoyable stay. Only negative was that the bed was a bit lumpy....ok, and I wished we could have stayed longer :)

Room Tip: Highly recommend the rooms with a view. Do get some road noise but so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Julie
Thank you for the fantastic review. Hopefully you will return one day soon and stay longer! Ro

Cheers Ro

Marketing Manager
Rowena Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

These apartments are in a perfect spot with a stunning view of the lake and a short stroll into shop area. Very we'll setup and beautifully appointed. We'll fitted out lichen and very clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Your words sum things up just perfectly Anne, “perfect spot with a stunning view …”

Thank you for your lovely review Anne. It’s always a pleasure to read about an enjoyable stays. I hope you have another opportunity to re-visit us in the future.

Cheers Ro
Marketing Manager
Rowena Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing