We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in a studio room that we knew it's without a lake view but didn't imagine it's a sort of very small basement room. No cleaning the room,nor making the bed or changing towels. In 3 weeks spent in NZ, this was the most unpleasant place we've slept in and the price wasn't so cheap either!
The good things- it's clean ( but so were all the others rooms we slept in at the same price and much better) and the staff was friendly - but it's not enough.
Also it's out of town (we had a car but it's something to consider)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VG1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear VG1958

Thank you for your review. I’m disappointed to read that you were unhappy with The Studio Room. They are like a small Hotel Room - perfect for short stays and corporates.

We invite Guests to contact Reception with any requests and concerns, so we can quickly sort things out at the time of your stay.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

As I have said before unless places either exceed or fall well short of expectations I see no advantage to fellow travellers to revue them. This one fell "only "somewhat short" but their follow up email thanking me more personally that they and welcomed me, and asking me to revue the for Trip Advisor has led to this.
The apartment was new and comfortable as advertised,and did have river views as advertised, but a hotel is is not. It is designed for self catering ski holidays with smilies and the services are pretty much non existent. They brag about a new addition slot machine from which to buy food, but that is only because that is the extent of it. There is not even a place to buy coffee and there is one minimal sachet of same in the room.
From the "if you are here for more that 9 days we will clean your room once" notice to the reply for a request for new towels - "there's a spare set in you room and you just throe them in the washing machine outside you room and you'll have clean towels and sheets for you whole stay" reply, it pretty much sums up the place.
We were instructed to take off our shoes at the door and to "only wear slippers" I can only guess because of the ski boot concept, but we were wearing simple slip ons. There were signs everywhere of the "do this don't do that variety, and that gets a it wearing at these prices.
They and maybe this web site, could insist on making a distinction between short term hotel guests and long term "live in" guests.
If you think about all of the recent accommodations that you have walked into lately have you ever seen one with less that 4.5 stars form Trip Advisor, or no Trip Advisor Recommendation Award in the front window. I can't remember the last one I saw. It sure is a great financial model for the web site, but it is getting harder and harder to discern between this who and those who don't do what they promise.
Best regards Coogee11

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Coogee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Coogee11
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments. All feedback is welcomed as a means to help Management to review areas that need addressing and where we can improve our services.

We are sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations and thank you for sharing your comments with us and TripAdvisor readers.

Prior to booking, we welcome any questions, by Skyping or phoning on the 0800 Free phone # to help you to determine if Pounamu Apartments is the type of accommodation you are looking for. Guests are welcome to contact Reception at the time of staying so we can help with any questions and requests allowing the team to rectify whilst they are here.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.


Kind regards,

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in a studio. We didn't have a view of the lake but it was quiet back from the road and very dark with no street lights. It was a beautifully appointed studio and the couple of things we needed help with were seen to with no fuss (TV didn't work and we only had 1 teaspoon!) The receptionist Rowena was very friendly and helpful and booked our trip on the steamship when we had trouble getting it online. The shower room was lovely too - all of it like a boutique hotel. The only thing I had a problem with was having to stand on a chair to reach the crockery!!

Room Tip: Although we chose our studio because of the cost it turned out to be really good as it was back from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieisathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Annieisathome

Thank you for your feedback and staying with us at Pounamu in our Studio Room. They do face the back of the property and are quiet. When families book the 2BRM Apartment, the Studio Room is great for children.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at Pounamu apartments with the hope of choosing the property as our accommodation for our Queenstown wedding in 2015, and let me just say, the apartments themselves and in particular the staff far exceeded our hopes and expectations in every possible way.

The attention to detail of the property and the staff is impeccable. The staff were pleasant and helpful from the moment we arrived. We received a paper and some milk (the real stuff, not that UHT vomit worthy fake stuff!!) to start us off. Nothing was too much of a hassle for them. They organised our daily activities and provided us with some great wine in exchange for booking through them (to be honest we should be the ones providing the staff with wine!!).

The property itself is fantastic, extremely comfortable and caters well for any situation. The apartments are set up in the exact way anyone would want their own perfect home to be. The underfloor heating, the well stocked kitchen (utensil and crockery wise), the dishwasher, the laundry, the massive bed and selection of pillows, the fire place, the entertainment system... really I could go on and list every aspect of the property, but the one main glorious aspect of this property are the views!!!! They are unsurpassed. Just incredible.

The location is perfect, just that little bit out of town to get away from the tourist madness, but still close enough to walk into town. There is one hill on the way back that seemed gigantic no matter which angle we approached it from, but that's just a matter of opinion and my usual extreme laziness. Plus, it's the price you pay to have such incredible uninterrupted views.

The one downfall of the property is the noisy road, but it does die down at night and only comes back to life around mid morning. So unless you choose to sit in your apartment all day long (and who would, you’re in Queenstown!! Go get yourself a fergburger and throw yourself off something (attached to a bungy cord of course...)) without any appliances or entertainment systems running and in complete and utter silence, you won’t even notice the road noise. If anything it will begin to provide entertainment as you watch the dirty backpackers cruise on into town with their vans that haven’t seen any sort of cleanliness since they left the rental depot.

We will most certainly be using Pounamu for our guests in April 2015 and for all future trips to Queenstown. I would recommend the property to every type of traveller, the price is certainly worth every single cent!

Room Tip: Go for the luxury 1 bedroom apartments, the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

WOW!!! Thank you Dorothy for your detailed review on Pounamu. This certainly helps others to decide where to stay when visiting Queenstown.

Countdown.. 12 months to go!!! For any special arrangements and trip information, contact our Guest Services team so we can arrange, right down to the small detail.

We look forward to hosting your family and friends on your special day next April.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed in a studio room, so didn't have the views of the mountains of lake, but you only need to walk around the front of the apartments for that. Staff very friendly and helpful. Received a free bottle of wine for booking tour with them. AIr con room, satellite TV, comfortable bed, free wi-fi and lovely bathroom. Free laundry facility. Room was a little small to be honest, but booked last minute for reasonable price. Short walk (10-15 mins) into town.

Room Tip: Studio rooms fine if not bothered about view and travelling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegazer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Shoegazer82

Thank you for your feedback on our Studio Rooms. They are perfect for guests, that just need somewhere to sleep. They are our entry level, which are the size of a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette.

We hope to see you again, sometime soon. As a returning guest, book direct with us to receive a loyalty special offer and maybe stay in an Apartment offering amazing views.

Kind regards,

Rowena Richard
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Loved Queenstown.. most relaxed place on earth..
Pounamu apartments is cosy.. a bit too small.. and a lil over priced..
Warm reception.. close to the city centre.. walking distance..and also close to the airport..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jugalanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Jugalanki

Thank you for your feedback and review. Check out our Special Offers and book direct, if you are returning to Queenstown.

We would love you to return and stay at our 5 Star Qualmark Apartments.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went for a girls weekend away and stayed at Pounamu apartments. this is the second time i have stayed there and would go again. The accommodation is wonderful - it is chic and luxurious, the staff are friendly and the views are to die for.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3-12. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate301279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Kate, thank you for your rave review. I’m so pleased that you returned and had an “AAAAmmmaazing” time with your girlfriends.

We look forward to you return sometime soon. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown

Address: 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Pounamu Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £135 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing