We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We came to Queenstown for our honeymoon and stayed at the Pounamu Apartments. Leo and Prisilla were wonderful! They assisted us with everything from dinner recommendations to setting up day adventures. They were so kind and helpful throughout our whole stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will definitely come back and stay at the Pounamu Apartments!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77LizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for celebrating our Honeymoon with us at Pounamu 77LizK.

We hope you enjoyed the activities and fantastic restaurants as much as we enjoyed organising them for you.

We would love you to come back and stay with us – maybe for your first wedding anniversary?

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    282
    85
    29
    26
See reviews for
263
793
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here recently on our trip to the South Island. We used Queenstown as a base for our activities and stayed here for a couple of nights. The apt is conveniently located, very clean and modern. We really enjoyed our stay here. The wifi is free too. We took a trip to Milford Sound and they let us leave our bags in the apt for that night without charing us. We really appreciate the gesture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi neenj
I’m pleased to read that you had an “excellent stay” at Pounamu.

I hope you enjoyed Milford Sound as much as I have done on numerous occasions. It was our pleasure to store your luggage – just one of the many services we offer our Guests.

Thanks for the great review!

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracemere, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Waking up each morning in bed to view the lake and mountains said I am on holidays. Beautiful, peaceful lake with a golf club, across the lake, appearing as if on an island with a mountain back drop.There was nothing that had not been thought of. Comfortable fluffy bed. Gas heater that heated the room quickly. No noise from the road. Glass sliding lounge doors, easy to open to experience the freshness of the mountain air. Warm towels. Proper sized bath to relax in. Self contained fully equip if you wanted to prepare meals or entertain friends. Environmentally friendly.

Room Tip: On a main road. Bus stop outside. Walking distance to CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicDarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
….. “million dollar views” for sure Vic Darvo. Thank you for spending your holiday with us at Pounamu. We enjoyed looking after you.

We pride ourselves on being “environmentally friendly” and we appreciate your support and feedback.

We hope to see you again, sometime soon. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Kevin and I had a fabulous stay at Pounamu, the service was excellent I especially liked Leo's sense of humor. The bed was so comfortable and the rooms very clean and tidy. the views from the room is to die for and it was a lovelly walk into town. Priscilla and Leo were so helpful when we wanted to know about the best things to do and see. I have stayed at Pounamu several times now and the service is still great. We had a relaxing spa in the new spa pool and what a view from there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dentaltherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi dentaltherapist
Thank you for staying with us again and again. You are correct .. the rooms are to die for!!

Great to see that you enjoyed the new spa pool .. we love it too. I like the idea of that you can book it out and have your own private time in the spa.

We look forward to your return.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

These apartments are excellent with lovely views. The service too was great. Two points to consider:
1 They are close to the road so looking out over the road to the lake can be noisy with doors / windows open. They are double glazed so it is reasonably quiet with doors & windows closed.
2 The ground floor apartments don't have decks / balconies so you can't sit outside - the first floor apartments do so request that if sitting outside is your thing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NavigatorAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your review NavigatorAnt. I have to agree the Apartments do have excellent views.

We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

These are great apartments - exceeded our expectations by a long way. If you stay there - look out for the lakeside route into town, it's stunningly beautiful. The view from our apartment was stunning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi StevePScott
Summed up in a few words – thank you for your 5 Star Review! I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our stunning Apartments.

We look forward to your return, sometime soon. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived at Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown after a long drive, around 7:30pm, for a 3-night stay. Manager/host Priscilla was on hand to not only welcome us but to guide us to at how to spend our time in Queenstown.

Despite the lateness of hour, she made phone calls and arranged two tour activities for the following two days, both well-chosen and clearly with our needs in mind. All with a minimum of fuss. So that was a very good start to our stay. (And the activities, which are not the subject of Pounamu per se, were very good.)

Pounamu Apartments are lovely, and very well appointed (we chose the slightly more expensive 62 square metre apartment overlooking Lake Wakatipu). Our room had a large living area with comprehensive kitchen facilities and with balcony, very comfortable bedroom, and quite adequate bathroom. No complaints at all and hard to fault.

The complex is well located – only about 10 minutes from Queenstown’s main township, so easy to get to restaurants/shops and the like.

We are likely to be back in Queenstown the year after next (next time with a larger group), and I think it likely that we’ll choose to stay at Pounamu Apartments again, without even bothering to check out what else is available. I happily recommend them.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and get one of the lake/mountain view rooms - see two photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi Peter C
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious 1 Bedroom Apartment with the views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables.

We look forward to your return with your extended friends. Don’t forget to contact us directly to receive the Special Loyalty Offer.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing