We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here recently on our trip to the South Island. We used Queenstown as a base for our activities and stayed here for a couple of nights. The apt is conveniently located, very clean and modern. We really enjoyed our stay here. The wifi is free too. We took a trip to Milford Sound and they let us leave our bags in the apt for that night without charing us. We really appreciate the gesture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi nenj
I’m pleased to read that you had an “excellent stay” at Pounamu. I hope you enjoyed Milford Sound as much as I have done on numerous occasions. It was our pleasure to store your luggage – just one of the many services we offer our Guests.

Thanks for the great review!

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    281
    85
    29
    26
See reviews for
260
792
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked with Pounamu Apartments based on the good reviews but were disappointed with the size of our studio which was miniscule with a bathroom to match. There were signs on all entry doors telling guests to remove their shoes before entering the premises which I found ridiculous as there was nowhere to sit to do this. However the staff were really charming and helpful with suggestions of where to go and making reservations. We were surprised to discover that our studio would not be cleaning during the whole week we were there. The most annoying thing was that the "free Wifi" as advertised was almost non existent. On the odd occasion that I was able to get on line the connection would drop out 5 minutes later.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lake view would be great but not the studios at the back which have a view of a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback Sue P. I am surprised to read that you were disappointed with the Studio Room and the amenities on offer.

At the time of check in, we invite Guests to contact Reception with any requests and concerns, so we can quickly sort things out. Our sincere apologies that we didn’t have the opportunity to rectify things at the time of your stay.

Our Studio Rooms are like a small hotel room – perfect for those that are out all day enjoying the sights of Queenstown and as like the Apartments are “unserviced, however we provide full laundry facilities and extra towels. The Wi-Fi Internet has 4 login/passwords in each room, (2 BRM has 8 logins for 8 devices) which sometimes needs a simple reset. We are one of the few establishments in Queenstown that have installed the super fast fibre optic broadband.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My mother and i enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown for Easter this year. We stayed in a one bedroom premier room with a beautiful view of the mountains and lake.
From the moment we laid eyes on the beautiful complex, we fell in love. With beautifully pedicured lawns and gardens, the hotel complex displays a very welcoming appearance. This continues into the rooms, which are kept very clean and tidy to the highest levels.
Beautiful fragrances are offered to use in the bathroom and are very specially New Zealand soaps and shampoo, conditioners.
The staff are all fantastic and adhere to any concerns immediately, always offering a conversation too.
The spa pool is set in a beautiful location, once again with mountain and lake views across lake Wakatipu.
The gas fire in our apartment was certainly appreciated, as was the underfloor heating which ensured we always arrived back to a warm home.
The kitchen facilities were phenomenal, with a gas oven ensuring that our roast was able to cook to perfection on Sunday evening.
The special Prada perfume fragrance is also a pleasant incentive when deciding where it is you may like to reside on your holidays.
The short walking distance to the town provided us with the opportunity to leave the car at the apartments and embrace a nice spot of exercise into town.
The laundry facilities are something that i have not yet encountered with a hotel complex of this calibre, but let's just say that they were greatly appreciated - particularly the dryers, as i'm sure any family would appreciate. This is particularly a great and very convenient idea for the cold Winter months when everybody will have their ski clothing that needs to be washed and dried over night.
All in all, a wonderful experience was had and we look forward to returning next time :).

Room Tip: The one and two bedroom premier rooms certainly offer a lot more comfort and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaLee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi AmandaLee90

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed 5 star review. I’m so pleased that you and you mum enjoyed your Easter here at Pounamu.

The Prada Perfume along with many other “designer” female or male fragrances we surprise our Guests with, is certainly something special that all of our Guests enjoy. Just book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Apartment directly through Pounamu, for 2 or more days and it will be waiting in your Apartment on your arrival.

Check out our website for more Special Offers...

We look forward to your return. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a fantastic time in Queenstown which was enhanced by our stay at the Pounamu apartments. We had a one bedroom self contained apartment with a wonderful balcony view over Lake Wakatipu and beyond to the ever changing moods of the hills. The staff at Pounamu were friendly and helpful and I would recommend a stay for those who would appreciate a Queenstown centrally located luxury experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi James,
Thank you for your feedback and review, and yes I have to agree with you, we are centrally located and we offer the luxury experience.

We hope that you will join us again sometime soon, maybe next Summer?

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This motel offers stylish, modern facilities within walking distance of the town and at very reasonable prices. It's clean and comfortable, has a little kitchen area, and I especially appreciated the laundry facilities. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trinketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi trinketgirl
Thank you for staying with us in one of our Studio Rooms and for your feedback and review.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great stay at Pounamu in Queenstown. Amazing view of lake Wakitipu and the Remarkables. A short walk into town, downhill to go but a bit uphill to get back. We did have a car but only used it to go into town when it was raining and if we were getting lots of shopping. The apartment had everything we needed & more. Leo and Priscella were extremely friendly and helpful. We were visiting on our honeymoon and arrived to champagne, chocolates and rose petals. This was an amazing touch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 383Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi 383Karen
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us at Pounamu and enjoyed the amazing views and amenities.

Thank you for you 5* review. We look forward to your return.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay with fabulous views across the lake. You do need a car but bus service at the gate. Apartments very clean,spacious with plenty of heating & the staff were all very courteous & helpful. We look forward to staying there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Marilyn M, thank you for joining us for Easter at Pounamu. We appreciate your 5 star review and feedback.

We look forward to you joining us again, sometime soon.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing