We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and convenient!! The views are also an added bonus!”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Pounamu twice during our South Island trip. Our first stay, we stayed in a studio. It is small yet cozy and comfortable. When we returned to Queenstown, we stayed in an upper floor 1br apartment. This was such an upgrade to the studio.

When you open the door to the 1br, there is a long desk to the side and an inviting foyer that leads to the open floor plan of the full kitchen, living and dining, and balcony. The 1br has modern appliances and furniture. It also has a fireplace. The floors are mostly hardwood with carpet in the bedroom and heated tiled floors in the bathroom. The best feature of the apartment is the floor to ceiling sliding doors that lead to the balcony. The views of the Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu are breathtaking. At the apartment, we couldn't help but glance outside all the time to admire the view.

Also, there is a shared washer/dryer right outside the apartment. The property also provides eco-green detergent free of charge, so there is no need to bring your own.

An assigned parking space is provided for one car in the underground parking garage. Wifi is consistent and strong.

Even though Pounamu is located alongside a major street, we did not hear much traffic/street noise.

I'd like to also add that Pounamu is located very close to the city center. It's a 5 minute drive or a 15-20min walk.

Jenny and Ro were very accommodating to our needs and answered our questions as to suggestions of where to eat, hike, grocery shop, etc. There was a possibility that our flight was going to be canceled due to the weather. Ro (the manager) let us stay in our apartment beyond the check out time to let us figure out our travel plan. We appreciated this gesture by the manager and the efforts of the gracious staff.

We highly recommend the Pounamu and agree that this was one of our best accommodations in an apartment type of setting.

If we are lucky enough to visit Queenstown again, there is no doubt that we'd return to the Pounamu.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eves V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi evesweets

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderful Tripadvisor review of your stay with us at Pounamu Apartments.

I am really thrilled to hear with how much you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the 1 BRM Apartment and amenities with breathtaking views!

We hope that you have the opportunity to return . . . and when you do, email us direct to receive our “Returning Guest” Special Offer.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Queenstown is a wonderful place to visit, and Pounamu Apartments are ideally located, with majestice/fantastic views of the lake & mountain ranges, and within close proximity (walking distance) to town. Apartments are ideally appointed, and very comfortable. Staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top-level apartment, with majestic views of Lake Watakapu (?). These rooms are quiter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Brian

Thank you for your 5 Star Review - and I have agree with you the views are majestic! Today from Pounamu the snow is settling on top of the Remarkable Mountains, with more snow due in the next day or so.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our team as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services.

We really look forward to welcoming you back one day in the near future and hope that your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our second visit to Pounamu Apartments - this time we brought another couple with us to enjoy the experience. The two bedroom apartment met our every need for a relaxing luxurious holiday. The spa pool has been added since our last visit and we enjoyed using it on a cold rainy day. The underfloor heating kept us warm and toasty during a cold spell.
The location is great and the walk to town round the lake front is a great start to the day. We thought the view from the downstairs apartment last time was amazing and this time we were lucky enough to have an upstairs apartment where the view was even better. We love this place and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Windywaves

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderful Tripadvisor review of your “second” stay with us at Pounamu Apartments, and yes the underfloor heating in our Apartments certainly keeps you warm and toasty.

I am really thrilled to read of how much you enjoyed your stay and that we added to your relaxing luxurious holiday.

We look forward to your third return.

Cheers Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I travelled with my family to Queenstown and spent four nights there in the early May. I stayed in the 2 rooms apartment with the lake view. It worths that I spent a bit more for that as the lake view is so spectacular. Amazing autumn colours! And I observe the Queenstown Golf course right in front of the window.

Although there were a few rainy days that I cannot travel much, my family stayed warm in this clean and comfortable and have a great time there. The kitchen is well appointed and I cooked several meals there.

Thanks and my family appreciate the stay there. Wish I can stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionheartL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Lionheart L

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Pounamu Apartments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

The kitchens are certainly well appointed to cook and entertain in. We look forward to your return sometime soon!

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

All of the accolades in other descriptions seem generally well-deserved. We stayed in a Studio apartment room and it was quite adequate for our 2-might stay. The management is quite clear that there is "no view" associated with these rooms and they are correct in this description. So if a view is important to you, you need to pay (a lot) more for a 1/2 BR apartment. Minor issue, we are really good walkers and I would say that the journey to the *center* of town is really 15 min at a good pace. So if this bothers you, stay in town. (But we really enjoyed the walks.). Room was nicely designed. Bedding nice. Staff excellent (particularly Liz). Easy use of laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

HI Aleram6

Thank you for your feedback. Our Studio Rooms are like a small hotel room – perfect for those that are out all day enjoying the sights of Queenstown. The 1 & 2 bedroom Apartments have spectacular views and all the amenities one would require for a relaxing holiday.

The walk into town, down through the gardens takes 10 minutes, however if you take the Stanley Street option it is certainly a good 15-20mins, especially walking back up Stanley Street after a hearty dinner at one of the lovely restaurants!

We look forward to your return sometime soon. And when you do, don’t forget to email the “returning guest” code to receive the loyalty guest special offer.

Cheers, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rowena was amazing from the time we checked in until we left. She was hospitable and all her recommendations from places to dine, places to sightsee and visit were spot on!

The apartment was immaculate and you are left wanting nor waiting for nothing. Every detail and convenience has been considered. Thank you very much for contributing to a wonderful stay in Queenstown.

Many, many, many thanks, Lyndal & Jen

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

HI Lyndal & Jen

Thank you for you lovely feedback. I’m rapt to read on how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Pounamu Apartments.

I hope that you get to return again, sometime soon.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richard
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Comfortable, warm, quiet, well appointed, private and clean all with an amazing view.
The apartment was everything the website promised plus the staff were friendly and helpful.
Double glazing kept the road noise out and the well appointed kitchen gave us the choice of eating in.
The apartment was a major factor in a much enjoyed Queenstown stay.

Room Tip: Talk to Rowena in the Pounamu office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hi Gary and Vicki

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Pounamu Apartments - I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team.

Being conveniently located only a 10 minute walk to the hive of activity in the Queenstown township, there is so much to do. Cardrona and Coronet Peak ski slopes would be great for you to see next time you come to Queenstown, not to mention the fantastic restaurants, trips & activities available to you that the team and book for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to seeing you again, sometime soon.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £130 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing