We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Comfort, Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant Comfort, Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pounamu Apartments have an amazing lake and mountain view that one can enjoy all day long. It simply takes your breath away. The furniture and appliances are modern, elegant, practical and luxurious. The staff, especially Ro, is very helpful and will go out of their way to ensure that guests make the most of their time in Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eda80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Eda80

Thank you for your favourable 5 star review and your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments.

I’m sure you have gone home with fond memories of your stay and our stunning region, Queenstown.

We look forward to your return in the near future.. and don’t forget you save by booking direct with us at Pounamu. Check out the Special offers on our website.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    286
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
272
802
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Whist the hosts are very pleasant folks, and the apartments modern, they're a bit cold and boring. The balconies are tiny and overlook a very busy street. The barbecue area is awful as is the jacuzzi, which is also tucked between two buildings and also overlooks the same busy street. Was there with 15 others on an annual golf trip. Will look elsewhere next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jack F

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments. All feedback is taken in a constructive manner and welcomed as a means to understand where we need to focus to do better.

It disappoints me that you did not enjoy the BBQ area and Jacuzzi and that our Apartments were cold and boring? Our Apartments not only have under floor heating but also year round air conditioning and a gas fire place. We are on the main road into Queenstown (10 min walk down through the Gardens into town) and we do have spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables.

We work with a lot of “group” bookings, with many of those that return bi/annually. We’re sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

We pride ourselves on working with our Guests to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. I do hope we have the opportunity to work with you again and welcome your group back.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is not intended as a negative review- just information.
These apartments are beautiful & well located. IF you are booking the ENTIRE apartment, I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY. They are well appointed & have a great view.
IF you are booking a STUDIO (i.e 1 single room) stay somewhere else. You can't walk around the bed as the room is so cramped, you need to access the bathroom through a shared entrance into the main apartment, they didn't service the room during our visit either (if this was an option, it wasn't offered to us). For a single room, your money is most definitely better spent elsewhere.
Our friends booked a full apartment & it was a great place to gather after a day at the snow.

Room Tip: Great if need a full apartment, don't recommend booking single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berenice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Berenice W

Thank you for your review and feedback. “Well located and beautiful”, with a great view . . . spells it out for the Apartments. The Studio Rooms however are our entry level accommodation, perfect for those Guests that are out all day and just want some where comfortable to sleep. The Studio Rooms are the size of a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette and own bathroom. Entry to the Studio Room is through the main Apartment foyer.

In regards to the servicing of rooms, one of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about at Pounamu is that the rooms are “self catering”, creating the ideal home away from home environment with daily servicing option details outlined in the Welcome Guide in the bedroom. Extra towels are also provided along with free use of the Apartment Laundry.

I’m pleased to read that you were able to meet with your friends in the Apartment after being on the ski fields. Did you get to relax in the outside Spa with views of the mountains?

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here at the end of a great trip to South Island and couldn't have made a better choice. Had poor weather on one day, great weather another but staying at Pounamu it really didn't matter, we were happy to enjoy the view of the lake & The Remarkables in any weather.

These apartments are really well appointed, it wouldn't be hard to live here long-term! Rowena & her staff are great, helpful people, good for recommendations for restaurants & one attractions. When we return to Queenstown we will definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Britonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic comments “Britonthemove”, it is really appreciated. I'm rapt that you enjoyed the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables from your Apartment.

I will pass your feedback onto our team as they thoroughly enjoy looking after our Guests.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Pounamu Apartments one day in the near future.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and can not fault the place. Staff were helpful and the view of the lake amazing.
The heating was superb with an outside temperature below zero. Will definitely return to Queenstown and stay at Pounamu Apartments.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Phil D
Thank you for your delightful comments about Pounamu Apartments. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Queenstown.

I agree, one of the fantastic amenities that Pounamu offers, is the underfloor heating, Gas Fire and air conditioning – great for WINTER!

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Cheers Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently stayed for a long weekend at Ponamu Apartments - sheer luxury, amazing view, fantastic amenitities and wonderful service at reception. Great recomendation of local resturants which was really helpful. Recieved a beautiful bottle of perfume on arrival too which was such a treat. On our last day us girls were treated to a beautiful massage and facial in our room which was a fantastic finish to a fantastic stay, and the staff (Ro especially was fanatsic giving us a late check out!!) We have been to Ponamu before and will definetly not go any where else when we return to Queenstown

Room Tip: We had a single room and sheer decadence. A beautiful king bed with a luxurious duck down topper an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your fantastic feedback Sue417. Our focus is to ensure our guests leave Pounamu and Queenstown with treasured lifetime memories.

Booking direct is the way to go to receive that beautiful bottle of Prada (or equivalent), valued at over $167… enjoy!! We love sharing all the “hot tips” on trips and the best places to eat.

We hope you have the opportunity to return and when you do, don’t forget to book direct and receive one of the “Special Offers” from our Website.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a large modern apartment complex of several buildings located on the main road into Queenstown, just a short 10 - 15 minute walk into the center of town. The apartments are beautiful and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in a compact studio unit that had a basic small kitchenette but this was fine for us as we were only there for 2 nights. The larger (and considerably more expensive) units with 1 bedroom or more would have spectacular views as other reviewers have noted. The room had a king size bed and a spacious bathroom with robes and slippers for guests to use. There is a washer and dryer right outside the apartment making it very convenient to do some washing. Even the detergent is provided. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful taking the time to personally show us to our unit. Rowena made tour arrangements for us and we had a choice of chocolates or wine for booking our tour through them. The apartments are not cleaned daily; there is a note saying that if you are staying for 9 days then one cleaning will be scheduled. Given our short stay, this was not an issue for us but I found it a bit surprising that the units would not be cleaned more frequently. However this is a minor point and I would not hesitate to stay there again if I'm lucky enough to be back in beautiful Queenstown.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from teh 1 bedroom and larger units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
PicMorDaisies

Thank you for your detailed feedback and your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments.

I’m sure you have gone home with fond memories of your stay and our stunning region, Queenstown.

In regards to servicing rooms, one of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about Pounamu is that rooms are “self catering”, creating the home away from home environment with daily servicing an optional extra. Extra towels are provided, along with free use of the Apartment Laundry.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing