We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat with stunning views”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat with stunning views”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything about this place was perfect for us. From our first email enquiry to the "hurry back" at check out, the Pounamu team looked after us very well.
The apartment (ours was two bedroom / two bathroom) was really well appointed and super comfortable - big beds with down pillow-tops (like sleeping in a cloud, according to my wife...and she's an angel, so she'd know!), gas fire place, under floor heating, deep bathtubs, DVD player (and library). There was a fully functional kitchen with great appliances and utensils - including sharp knives. An internal laundry kept us clean and the view from our picture window was, literally, remarkable. The town is only a short drive away and the staff were very helpful with their tips on where to shop, eat and play. As a special bonus (from our POV) the tariff includes free access to Queenstown Gym on Shotover St - equipment and classes. Lastly, it was very handy to all the local ski resorts and provided private parking and ski lockers.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and offer postcard perfect views of the Remarkables mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Alistair

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed everything here at Pounamu. Creating special memories is what we are all about, including the stunning views.

I will share your feedback with the team as they are always rapt to hear how much guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    289
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
279
814
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a two bedroom Premier Apartment which was perfect for our family of three - one teenage son (the second room easily caters for two). The apartment was very well equipped - underfloor heating (very cosy); gas log fire (didn't need because of the underfloor heating), 2 x TV, DVD, dishwasher, PC, Wi-Fi that works! etc. and fantastic view towards the lake and mountains. The kitchen is also reasonably well equipped - we did cook a couple of meals without too much trouble (suggestion for Manager: a colander for straining pasta would be a handy addition). We had read from an earlier review that the apartments are prone to be impacted by some road noise - they are located on the main road between airport and Queenstown CBD. This is not really a major issue in winter as the front doors are closed but I would be cautious about staying here in summer?
The undercover car-parking and ski-gear storage is a plus. The brochures say it is a 10 minute walk to the CBD but this would be a brisk walk! We would recommend a hire car for convenience but there is a bus stop close by.
We would definitely stay here again. The staff were friendly and helpful (as were most of the Kiwis we met).

Room Tip: Top floor apartments may be less exposed to noise from the road? Either floor is OK in winter but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Stephen H

Thank you for your 5 ***** Review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our little bit of Luxury and the fantastic views by the Lake.

Our sincere apologies that your colander, was missing from your kitchen. We pride ourselves on providing everything you need in the Apartment - even Rice Cookers are supplied. At the time of check in, our team should have informed you to contact Reception with any requests and concerns, so we can quickly rectify and sort things out during your stay.

The 10 minute walk down through the Gardens down to the Beach Waterfront is a lovely stroll, especially at sunset. I avoid the long way, especially after a big dinner at one of the lovely restaurants. We have a "Pounamu Taxi Special" to and from town for just $9.00 one way.

We look forward to your return sometime soon. And when you do, don’t forget to email the “returning guest” code to receive the loyalty guest special offer.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pounamu Apartments for five nights as a family of four with two small children. The 2 bedroom apartments facing Frankton road with breathtaking mountain and lake views... I can only say that it was an unforgettable experience staying in such a beautifully designed and perfectly equipped apartment. I can still remember the big eyes and facial expressions of my family members as we entered the apartment first time: "Wow". Fireplace, two ensuites, an office, nice big kitchen, sound system with main TV, 2 more TVs in bedrooms, two undercover parking spots, etc etc.

The hotel personnel definitely deserves five stars as well. They were very welcoming and had smiles on their faces regardless what request we were coming up with.

We did not have the time and need to walk to the city centre, as our main intention was to have our daily trips to the Remarkables for skiing. Result: Two 4 year old boys not only made their first snow experience but could at the end confidently ski down the hills using most of the lifts many times with us.

I do recommend the service of Snopro advertised by Pounamu, if you intend to hire skiing gear. I also recommend to hire a 4WD so that the dad may have his fun time driving up the mountains.

To sum up: Pounamu apartments and Queenstown as a skiing destination was a perfect choice and well worth the money spent.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahingoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review Sahingoez

We are absolutely rapt to read that you and your family had a “WOW” experience with your stay with us at Pounamu.

Knowing that your 4 year old sons loved their first snow experience makes our role here so rewarding. Our aim is to enhance your holiday and create some unforgettable lifetime memories.

SnoPro is certainly the way to go when you are skiing for more than a couple of days. Fantastic service and delivered to your Apartment!

Keep a look out on our website for Seasonal Special offers. Maybe we will see you in Summer next time. Once again thank you for your 5 Star feedback.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall the acoomodation was clean, pleasant and modern. A choice of flat and/or puffy pillows would be nice and temperature control in the bedroom. Staff were friendly but you may want to lay new floor boards so guests can wear their shoes inside. Storage for ski gear was a great idea and the gas fireplace was excellent. Also the bed felt like it was on an angle and had trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Matt E

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback, which is welcomed as a means to where we can improve our services. It disappoints me that our team have failed to show you some of the key features of your Apartment. We do offer a wide choice of pillows, along with each Apartment having their own temperature controlled air conditioning units. We have checked the bed in your Apartment and found that one of the wheels had come away from the bed base! We’re very sorry that this affected your sleep.

At any time Guests have any issues or require help, our team should have explained that a phone call to Reception, would have rectified things to ensure that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

We provide our Guests with complimentary comfy slippers to wear and to take home. We appreciate Guests removing footwear due to the grit and stones that can attach themselves to shoes.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our 2 bedroom premier apartment was great, we could not have asked for anything more. Underfloor heating gas log fire, air con, TV/DVD fully equipped kitchen. We stayed with our 2 older teenage kids and there was plenty of room and bathrooms for all of us. Our hosts were friendly and helpful when we had questions. It is a decent walk into town, quite a big hill on the way back if you are not fully fit but there are plenty of local cabs around that you can jump in. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in the middle of winter ensure you book a premier apartment that has all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelIndaQ211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi MelIndaQ211

Thank you for your review and yes, I agree the views are beautiful. The team appreciate your lovely feedback and thoroughly enjoy taking care of our guests!

The walk into town, along the lakeside and beach is spectacular – certainly worth the 10 minute stroll down through the gardens, especially at sunset. I skip the main road .. too hilly for me!!

We look forward to your return sometime soon. And when you do, don’t forget to email the “returning guest” code to receive the loyalty guest special offer.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a terrific time at Pounamu. A terrific location and well set up for skiing. The provision of ski lockers in the underground car park was very welcomed. Great for a family in gorgeous Queenstown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Amanda 1331

Thank you for your 5 ***** review Amanda. I’m rapt to read that you had a terrific time at Pounamu and Queenstown.

We hope you return next Ski season. Not only can you store your skis in the ski lockers, you can also hire fantastic gear from “SnoPro” in Queenstown. Delivery right to your Apartment.

See you next year!

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pounamu Apartments have an amazing lake and mountain view that one can enjoy all day long. It simply takes your breath away. The furniture and appliances are modern, elegant, practical and luxurious. The staff, especially Ro, is very helpful and will go out of their way to ensure that guests make the most of their time in Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eda80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Eda80

Thank you for your favourable 5 star review and your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments.

I’m sure you have gone home with fond memories of your stay and our stunning region, Queenstown.

We look forward to your return in the near future.. and don’t forget you save by booking direct with us at Pounamu. Check out the Special offers on our website.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing