We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to a winter escape”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect place to a winter escape”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed in the one bedroom lake view apartment with my girlfriend recently. It was a cosy yet modern split level set-up with a comfortable king bed. The view from our apartment was absolutley stunning and the staff were helpful and friendly. On check-in we noticed our electric fire place wasn't working and within 15 mins their resident handyman had called in and replaced the faulty part. We had a shared laundry with the studio apartment next to us which came in handy as we had been travelling for a week and due to wash some clothes. The library of DVDs at reception was a nice touch, we took advantage of this on our nights in. The apartments are located on the main road into Queenstown so there was a fair amount of traffic coming past, however as it was too cold to have the front balcony doors open, the sound didn't bother us. Only a 10 min walk into town made it easy for us to explore the many dining and bar options Queenstown has to offer. I'd happily stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your 5 star Review Adam. I’m rapt to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Pounamu.

You are right, the views are “absolutely stunning”. I’m sure you have some great photos to share with your friends and family.

We would love you to stay with us again.. and when you do, as a returning guest, book direct with us to receive a loyalty special offer.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    289
    85
    29
    26
See reviews for
274
814
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Rooms
The studio room has no views as expected.
There is heated tiles in the bathroom as well as heated towel racks which is nice.
The bed is comfortable king size but with uncomfortable pillows (6 of them!)
Easy to use Wifi for 4 devices.
There is a shared entrance the rooms with shared washing machine. This resulted in a bit of noise when others would use the washing machine late at night. We could also hear people moving around upstairs.

Location
Roughly 20 minute walk all down hill into Queenstown centre. $10 cab ride home.

Reception
When booking activities just phone the reception on a free call and they book your activities while your in you room. Spend $250 and you get a bottle of wine or chocolates.

The Spa
The views from the outdoor spa are amazing - although the is a main road between you and the views. Spa bookings must be made in advance which makes it easy to miss out on using the spa (none of this was explained by staff).

We had some drama while staying here. Arrived to find that a room had not been booked. We had confirmation and had paid but Pounamu had not made the booking.
We faced some difficulties with the staff who stated they had cancelled the booking, were booked out for Saturday night, we would have to book through them (not our travel agent) and they would not call our travel agent as it was an international call.
In the end I became quite upset, staff 'magically' found a room in the booked out complex for the 5 nights although we did need to change location once.
We were given a bottle of wine for the trouble.

Overall it was a nice place to stay - the staff could try a bit harder to meet holiday goers needs and make it more welcoming. Studio room was not what I would call 5 star. 4 star tops.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs studio room as they are much brighter than the downstairs and you may get a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Hi Jess P

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments.

All feedback is welcomed as a means to help Management to review areas that need addressing and where we can improve our services. We do apologise for the misunderstanding and pleased that things were resolved very quickly.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggera Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our 5th visit to Queenstown but first stay at Pounamu, and I have to say the best accommodation yet. The views from the apartments are nothing short of breathtaking and the staff were all just simply amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Definitely will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the extra and upgrading to the apartment from the studio. DEFINITELY worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your “fantastic” review and feedback David J.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pounamu and in Queenstown. The Studio Rooms are great for those who want some where to put their heads down for the night, however I have to agree, the Apartments have absolutely everything you need, not to mention the breath taking views.

I will share your feedback with the team as they are always pleased to hear how much guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We look forward to your return. Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We could not recommed Pounamu Apartments highly enough to people.
If you are in need of quality accomodation that is clean,has stunning views and friendly knowledgable staff then this is where you need to stay.
Ro and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem to them and they will help in anyway they can.
We dealt with Ro for the majority of our stay and we have to say she is probably the most helpful person we have ever had at a hotel around the world. She is also the perfect person to organize your day trips her local knowledge is excellent and has done most of the tours herself,offering first hand experience in which are the best tours to go with.
We will be back thank you very much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalmack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hello dalmack15

Thank you for your 5 star ***** Review.

We are rapt to read that your “quick break” at Pounamu and Queenstown was perfect.

Providing the ultimate experience for our Guests is what we live for at Pounamu …. creating the perfect holiday is what we all enjoy doing. Thank you, I will pass on your lovely feedback to the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and booking more exciting trips and activities for you.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Pounamu and everything was just perfect. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was quite a bit more than a studio but so worth the money for the extra space, facilities and amazing view over the lake and mountains. It really is stunning and less than 10 mins walk into the town. We had a full kitchen and although we didn't cook, it was handy for breakfast and takeaways. All the fixtures and fittings are modern and good quality. We were skiing so it was lovely returning to a warm place with a fire and big TV with surround sound if you fancy a night in with a DVD. Room tip, those on the top level have a full balcony, the lower level rooms only have safety glass.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Britirangi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Hi Britirangi123, you are so right the views are stunning. Just a 10 min walk down through the gardens and you are in the centre of town and the lake front with some great restaurants to choose from.

We’re so pleased that you chose to stay with us a "second" time in a lovely Apartment.
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time.

We look forward to your third return, sometime in the near future.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had the most fabulous stay at Pounamu Apartments...stunning views and apartments are luxurious! The team at Pounamu went out of their way to make our stay perfect and we're very excited when they heard that my partner liked the view so much that he proposed right there in the apartment! Thank you we will most certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Our room seemed to be well protected from noise, they are modern so all will b fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Rudder21

CONGRATULATIONS, once again. We feel very privileged to have our Guests sharing their special moments with us and to top it off getting engaged here at Pounamu Apartments was a lovely surprise!

We hope you return to Queenstown for your Honeymoon? If you do contact us for your “Guest Return Loyalty” discount.

Warm regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We loved staying at Pounamu again for our 8 day ski trip, and were sad to leave this morning. The apartments are very comfortable and luxurious, and the location is great. Not to mention the view!
We booked a 1 brm apartment and were very pleased when we were given access to both bedrooms for our entire stay. We really appreciated being given our favourite apartment again.
Thank you to Priscilla, Leo & team for great service and attention to detail. See you in 2 years!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intikuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Intikuma

It gives me great pleasure to read reviews, especially when you have stayed with us for a 4th time – that really says it all, doesn’t it!!

Thank you for your 5 Star Review. We look forward to your return.

Don’t forget to contact us direct to receive your loyalty discount and luxurious bottle of perfume.

Warm regard, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing