We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six star accomdations with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
374 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Six star accomdations with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed two nights in a one-bedroom suite at Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown. Our reservation was for a non-view unit and we quickly upgraded to the one bedroom suite with an unobstructed view of the lake and mountains.

The Pounamu Apartments was easily the best lodging we had during our ten-week trip to Australia and New Zealand. Not only did we have an excellent view of the lake and mountain, our unit had a full kitchen, laundry, fireplace, two plasma TVs, and a computer, printer and free internet.

The bedroom was located at a height above the living room, had a view out the full glass sliding door windows that we could see from our bed. If Queenstown was not so cute, we would have been happy to never leave our apartment. We also had covered parking in the ground level garage and an outside porch complete with furniture.

Finally, the staff was dandy. Each unit Pounamu Apartments is owned by an individual and the property is managed by an outside company. When I asked about the one-bedroom units, the staff took us on a tour of the units and the decision to upgrade was easy. As in many apartment hotels, there was no maid service for our second night.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    286
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
270
800
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We were very impressed with this beautiful apartment which has everything you need for a very comfortable stay and even more. The views over the lake from our apartment is stunning, good location for day trips. Staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenshireTimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

Our first visit to New Zealand, and Queenstown was a signfiicant part of our agenda. What an absolutely stunning place! We really "lucked out" (to use the modern vernacular) with Pounamu Apartments - extremely well fitted out, fantastic views, a great setting (15 minute walk to the town centre)... Thoroughly recommended in every way.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

These apartments are amazing, and have the best view in the world of the lake and mountains. The only apartment we have stayed in with 2 dishwashers - such a luxury to be able to move dishes from clean to dirty and then just push the button to start again. Nothing is missing - own laundry, computer, fax/scanner/printer/copier, large TVs, DVD, etc. I also agree that not being serviced increases the feeling of privacy - just make sure you buy some toilet paper! My only criticism would be the noisy bathroom fans - with all the other high-tech fittings surely it would have been possible to fit quiet extractors.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Firstly i have to strat off by saying - for anyone who has never been to Queenstown put it to the top off your "must visit places!" Flying in and landing to 360 degree mountains, a beautiful lake - stunning Little town and great nightlife - activities to die for - it has everything.

So where do you stay? Well my partner and i investigated a few places and decided on Pounamu apartments. The moment we walked in we realised just how good a decision it was. Firstly the view... well big glass doors that open up to the most stunning views you could ever wish for. Sitting on the balcony enjoying a beer, watching the world pass by and seeing the incredible views - just amazing.

But there is so much more to this place than what must be one of the greatest views of any hotel in Queenstown. The room was stunning. Bed was super comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, there was a computer - so no need to bring your lap top, the bath room had everything you could hope for and a comfortable 10min walk to town - and why wouldn't you with the views on the way?

In a nutshell this place was a major highlight and throw in the helpful staff you really do have the complete package here

Highly rated and i would not hesitate to stay here again or recopmmend this hotel to everyone - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ox_and_Tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

What an amazing place! Very trendy, very comfortable and very convenient. It was an exceptional stay thanks to the personalized service and recommendations of the onsite managers as well as the spacious, well-appointed unit with gorgeous views of the lake and mountains. Like many others have said, the pictures are accurate, but truly do not do the place justice!

Highlights of the interior include loft bedroom with a king sized bed.

I really appreciated the full size kitchen so we could prepare our own breakfasts and the en suite washer and dryer. This really helped to cut down on the amount of clothes I had to bring with me overseas as I was able to wash everything here before heading back to Sydney and a standard hotel room.

There are a number of delightful little restaurants, cafes and bars in downtown Queenstown, which is a ten or fifteen minute walk from Pounamu, so a car is not a must. Especially as the airport is so very close and most attractions come and pick you up.

One caveat: The apartment we stayed in did not have air conditioning or a fan so it made sleeping a bit difficult. We were unable to open our patio doors as the complex is on the main road. Please note: the noise from the road, in and of itself, was not a problem when everything was closed up, but if you are looking for a lot of fresh air and quiet, then Pounmu isn’t the choice for you.

I would absolutely recommend Pounamu for your stay in Queenstown, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zukolivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We got off to a shaky start at Pounamu as the lady checking us in informed us that we had to keep our shoes off while in the apartment as otherwise the floors might get dirty! We've never had anything like that asked of us before. Apparently the apartments are privately owned but operated by the team at Pounamu. Our view would be if the landlords dont want their apts to suffer normal wear and tear then they should reconsider renting them out - we certainly paid good money to stay there!! Anyway, we carried on :)

The view from the aptly sized balcony was fantastic and, sure, the road can be quite noisy but arguably not enough to be very annoying. The apartments themselves are very well appointed with every modern convenience. We had a one bedroom apartment with separate sitting room and lake view. The sitting room was lovely and comfy and the bedroom was a good size although the mattress on the bed was a little tough. Free internet on your own private pc is a nice facility to have especially on longer stays.

The apts are a bit of a walk from town so allow for a 15minute trek in sometimes unpredictable weather conditions - we had rain, wind, hail, sun and heat in one afternoon.

One last thing worth pointing out is that the apartments were advertised as serviced. However, for clarity it should be stated that the apartments are only serviced for free BEFORE you stay. If you want servicing during your stay you must pay. Again, having paid a little more than average we would expect this to be included, especially in a 4 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing