We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip”

Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$304.25*
and up
Ultimate Nature Experience from Queenstown: Dart River Jet Boat Ride and Lake...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only operators of multiday guided walks on the famous Milford & Routeburn Tracks: operating in New Zealand's stunning World Heritage Area, providing range of all-inclusive guided walks from 1-8 days. Trek through rainforests, past mountain peaks and over remote alpine passes on a unique experience without sacrificing comfort or convenience. Accommodation on overnight walks is in luxury lodges, with meals, hot showers and snug beds. All walks include transport, food, equipment and expert guides. Single day excursions must be booked 24 hours in advance.
Queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

All I can say is do it
The trip from start to finish was faultless
Staff in lodges so friendly and accommodating and soo clean
Our guides were a highlight liv Alyssa what beautiful young woman you are moon we loved your stretch classes and mike well all I can say us you guys made our trip
Cheers
From the 4 girls
Karen jan pip and Erina
Ps take poles people they really r a help

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Filippinifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    37
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow. Yes. Do It.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I did the Classic - Milford first, then rest day, then Routeburn. The entire week was tremendously fun and fulfilling. The hikes were extremely well-organized, but it still felt like it was our own adventure. The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgable, friendly, fun, in-shape. But they were also serious about safety and the health of everyone. Food was amazing. There was too much to eat, but we ate it all anyway, because it was so good. Meeting people from all over the world (Japan, Korea, New Caledonia, Australia, USA, NZ) was terrific. Staff at the lodges were great. We visited more with Routeburn staff as there were only 15 glampers, but appreciate the Milford staff as well. The lodges were warm and comfortable. The newer Routeburn lodging was fantastic. The rest day at Te Anau after the morning on the Milford Sound with the Milford group, was terrific. Hotel was very good. We found plenty to do for the afternoon. Overall, it was a fantastic hiking experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 751Susan751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"Must Do" Wilderness Experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were part of a group of 48 (mainly couples) who completed the Milford Sound Hike between 24-27 March comprising of 20 New Zealanders, 18 Americans, 4 Australians, 3 Japanese, 2 Singaporeans and 1 from South Korea. The average adult age would have been about 55 years and the 4 children were aged between 11 & 16.

My husband and I usually do daily hikes by ourselves so this was our first experience of a multi-day guided hike and we weren’t disappointed. We booked the private queen room and private ensuite option. The quality service provided by our 4 guides met all expectations.

The morning routine with this large group was quite regimented and we did walk single file for about the first hour of the hike before people branched away and set their own pace. There are toilet stops along the way for those worried about that. The lodge accommodation ranged from basic (paper thin walls at Glade House) to good. The dining rooms were quite warm (only T-shirt needed) but we found the bedrooms to be on the chilly side. All meals provided were excellent.

The walk itself is spectacular and we were blessed with perfect hiking weather. I would recommend training with at least 4kg in a backpack a few weeks beforehand. Make sure your hiking boots are in good condition as there is a lot of walking over uneven surfaces, rocks and stones. I would also recommend walking with poles for the over 50s.

We will be highly recommending Ultimate Hikes as a “must do” wilderness experience to our family, friends and work colleagues.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Bronte_b491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Routeburn Track was incredible”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We hiked the 3 day Routeburn Track with Ultimate Hikes in March. It was one of the best experiences we've had. The ensuite lodges were excellent. Food was great too. Our guides were Logan, Michael and Stu. All were very knowledgeable of the area, wildlife and history. The 2nd day of the hike was our favourite with the challenging optional ascent up Conical Hill well worth the effort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAndAnneHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hike”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I walked the Milford track with Ultimate Hikes in March 2014 and having nothing but praise for the experience. We were lucky to have a great group of around 30 people walking with us. We did some training prior to going which I think is wise; the first day is not too hard, but the descent from the pass is 900 metres straight down and everybody found it challenging on their knees and ankles. Poles are a must. The accommodation and food is excellent and the drying facilities are very good, so follow the pack instructions and do not take anything more than they recommend on the web page. My greatest praise goes to our 3 guides Kelly, Amanda, and the incredibly funny Katie who was very entertaining. Believe me you will never regret walking this beautiful track; we will be back to experience the other Ultimate Hikes for sure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing