We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG!”
Review of Fergburger

Fergburger
Ranked #30 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Fast food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the first bite to the last Fergburger did not dissapoint! The entire family loved their burgers, even the little one who is not usually a burger fan! Over the course of our trip we tried classic Fergs with cheese, little lambys, Southern Swines and both of the kids options. All of them were delicious and well worth the wait! The staff were lovely and always happy to help, the complimentary hot chips were much appreicated whilst waiting with 2 kids and the pricing was also really reasonable given the high quality of the produce used! My only regret is that I had never tried it on my previous 2 trips to Queenstown, but better late than never!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Candice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,834
    2,485
    960
    186
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ringsted Municipality, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WORLD CLASS BURGER”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Absolutely best burger in the world. Dont know how they do it, but it's really great! You must go if you ever visit Queenstown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDNepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Australians (particularly Melbournians): Read this!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

So yes, there's definitely A LOT of hype. Like, three people telling me about it before I left, the taxi driver on the way from the airport and a million people in the hostel kind of hype. Not to mention the ridiculous lines.
Essentially, if you're from somewhere like Melbourne which has a pretty big gourmet burger culture (Huxtaburger etc, honestly even Grill'd), you won't be AS blown away as all the Americans and Europeans seem to be. Don't get me wrong; it's good. It's extremely good. It's every bit as good as any gourmet burger (and better than most) that you can get back home. But probably nothing better than the best you've had before.

So why did I go three times during a ten day holiday?

Because
a.) It's better than any gourmet burger that you'll get in Queenstown and possibly NZ and better than MOST that you'll get back home
b.) It was around the corner from my hostel
c.) It's HUGE

Seriously, even the normal, cheapest sized one is way, way bigger than any I've had back home. Don't get chips unless you're super, super hungry.
Which ties into point (d):
AMAZING VALUE!

Because it's really good, it's massive, and it's $11: You won't get anything tastier, bigger or more filling than that for under $15 in Queenstown. Maybe if you'd be unimpressed if you went on your first night before you realised how expensive everything is here, but after a while, you will learn to appreciate it!

and not to mention:

e.) It's a Queenstown backpacker institution
f.) The hot mulled cider is delicious
g.) The bread for the buns is freshly baked!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clinky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You always get quality with Ferg”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

As ever Ferg delivers...albeit as with any popular food place, you have to wait. At peak time on a Friday evening 40 minutes, but time enough to get a pint in in a local pub, so no issues really.
Tasty and satisfying as ever.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, AUS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious massive burgers!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

There's a reason this place has an on average 30 minute wait for a burger. They are so fresh, delicious and value for money (huge!). I had the Ferg add avocado twice during my week long stay in Queenstown. I just hope they don't try to expand and ruin the icon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ange85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fergburger also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Fergburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing