We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Devine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Absolute luxury, fantastic service, we just love it. Staff are extremely proffessional and friendly, the rooms are perfectly clean, well equiped. The beds are the best beds we have ever slept in, the resteraunt has an internationally aclaimed chef and great menu. Good off street parking and stunning lake views and veiws of the ever changing Remarkables.

We have stayed in many places in Queenstown and by far the Rees is the most beautiful and has the nicest rooms and serene location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt1972SnowLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    441
    125
    42
    26
See reviews for
498
1,080
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This trip brings my tally at the Rees Hotel to 3 stays and I now feel able to offer a confident review.

In a few words: high end corporate/ family accomodation with views that will take your breath away. The views and scenery is only matched by the friendly service that you will receive by the more than capable staff. If you are checking-in you more than likely bump into Roman who will without doubt do his best to cater for your requirements.

Why do I keep going back? Consistency which you can rely on which means it feels like home away from home.

Highly recommended, very reliable, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Rees was a very pleasant stay with gorgeous lake views and a modern, clean room. The view off the balcony was unbeatable, and the bathroom included things such as heated floors and towel racks. The concierge was very helpful and the staff extremely pleasant. We ate at the restaurant one evening and it was also very nice with good service. There were a couple negatives that prevent this from being a 5-star experience: 1) the complex is pretty spread out and not very easy to navigate - getting to our parked car or the lobby or the restaurant was like trying to find your way out of a maze (to get to the lobby we had to take an elevator, walk down some stairs, cut across the parking garage and take another elevator); 2) we had planned to get a light breakfast early in the AM in the lobby before heading out to our tour but they did not have any of the breakfast items ready at the time indicated on the menu (the desk indicated they had not gotten around to getting the pastries started yet) so we had to head out on an empty stomach as we did not have time to run to town for something; and 3) the location of the hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the center of town. Although they do run shuttles, it's not quite as convenient as being within easy walking distance. Overall it's a very nice hotel but the things listed above do deduct from the convenience factor just a little.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ShowMeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed in an apartment at The Rees. It was very well equipped with views of the lake and mountains. The room was very clean and quiet with little noise from outside or adjoining rooms. This was the opposite of our other Queenstown accommodation experiences in recent years.

The staff were very helpful and friendly from Steve, the concierge, to the ladies who cleaned our room and left it spotless every day and the ski locker attendants.

While not in the centre of town, it's a pleasant 25 to 30 minute walk around the lake or there is an hourly shuttle bus most of the day.

Room Tip: The executive lakeside apartments are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKandEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the start of September. The apartment was spectacular - every mod con you could think of. Heated floor tiles, gas log fire, washer, dryer, fully equipped kitchen, mountain views - what more could you want?

The chief concierge (Steve, I think) was very informed and very friendly and helpful. Other staff were good, mostly.

The one bedroom apartments can be joined to the adjoining apartment via a balcony door - making it perfect for friends and/or family.

It's a little out of the way from the main part of Queenstown - walking isn't really an option. Hire a car or get the free shuttle in or out. We found that taxis are quite expensive in NZ - as compared to AUS.

Room Tip: Definitely try and go for the lake/mountain view - and go for a one bedroom apartment if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass and Age
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in Queenstown. We had a two bedroom apartment with a kitchen and living room. Everything was modern and new. Lovely glass balcony which extended over two rooms, overlooking the lake and mountains. The concierge arranged several activities and spa treatments for us free of charge. If I had anything negative to say about the hotel, it is the location. You do have to drive to the city centre, activities/restaurants aren't in walking distance (except the hotel's restaurants which are very good). If you want to leave your car behind, this isn't the best choice for you.
Oh, and with regards to one of the previous reviews about the internet, we had free and unlimited internet during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Upon arrival at the Rees the lobby gives you an idea of the quality to expect. It's beautiful with wooden beamed ceilings and great views of the lake and mountains. Check in staff were reasonably friendly, if somewhat "efficient".

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, which was beautifully appointed, full kitchen, free wifi internet, great views, big balcony, and a gas "open fire".

The downside of this property is that it is a bit far out of town - you need to have a car to get into the main action, if you want to go out in the evenings its a cab ( and those Queenstown cab meters get pricey very quickly!)

We decided to watch a movie in-house one night, and they charge a crazy $20 per film, which was stupidly excessive - then again, we paid, so they have a captive audience!

Overall a really great property, highly recommend, especially if you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing