We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bath with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Lacock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bath with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in the Rees Hotel for the last 3 days of our holiday which we spent in Queenstown. With the help of Neils, the concierge, we booked white water rafting down the shotover river and a helicopted trip over the glaciers and Milford Sound. Our room was lovely, with fantastic views, even from the bath! Easy parking and free wifi. Good breakfasts, if overpriced. We only had dinner in the restaurant on the last night. The menu was pretentious and there was too much going on on the plate. My partner had the beef which had a lot of fat and my fish was undercooked. 3 people asked us how our meal was and they were all surprised we weren't satisfield. We were offered free coffee to make amends but who drinks coffee just before they go to bed? There's a lovely walk along the lake into town, or a free shuttle bus or you can take the water taxi which is as good as a lake cruise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    424
    120
    41
    24
See reviews for
473
1,046
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

visited in 2012. Lobby finishes before it starts.. Has an old world charm to it.. Rooms are cramped.. but the balcony and the view form there, makes it worth the bucks !! you can have wine in evening looking at the sunset and the lake, and if lucky the snow clad mountains.. there is a trail from the hotel to the town, don't miss a jog early morning.. definite mention is for Ben - the jack of all trades. he showed around the hotel and drove us to the town.. and gave us chocolates too..

Room Tip: Rooms on the Southern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter_nitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Pros: Modern clean, well fitted out apartments, excellent beds, great balconies, good views if you have a lake view room. Staff seem very helpful. Didn't use the restaurant.
Cons: Gym a bit cramped and frankly odd, being small and obviously in an apartment, having a kitchen, a gas fire and head board for a bed by the weights. Think this should have been better thought out in the planning stages. No pool or tennis court or outdoor area. Hillside down from rooms need landscaping and looks a bit scruffy for a luxury hotel. Rooms quite dark after morning sun goes. Had an issue with flushing toilets in other apartments at night being noisy and waking us up. Think that you can get better value somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtagoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic views, beautiful room and fabulous staff.....helpful, eager and very accommodating ...can't think of anything missing...except another treadmill in the gym for those rainy days....overall GREAT!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dmj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Rooms are narrow and pokey. My wife cried in the lobby because they didn't want to let us leave after booking with a travel agent.
It took them 12 hours to decide that we could go.
Restaurant is over priced.
Almost all staff are backpackers and do not speak full English.
In short don't go here. If you want to relax and enjoy the scenery go to the Mt Rosa Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the Rees at the end of our stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had booked an executive lake view room. The service on check in was average. The receptionist Alex sniggered when we had said we had come from staying at the Crowne Plaza, he wasn't so smug when I ventured back down to reception after checking in to let him know that the view from the Crowne Plaza was better than he room he had allocated us. A loft room with no aircom, overlooking the driveway and the road. He was no help trying to get our room changed - everything else was booked out. That's until I said we would move hotels and suddenly another receptionist had found us a room.

Don't worry about bothering with breakfast, it's limited and average. The restaurant is not much better either, hair in your food anyone?

I have worked in many of Sydney's top hotels and staff at the Rees were not of a five star standard. Our privacy sign on the door was ignored by mini bar staff coming to check the mini bar on the day we were checking out! We also had a member of reception come knocking on our door at 12.05pm asking when we would check out even though our package stated we had a late checkout til 12.00pm.

Wish we had stayed elsewhere. The view is the only good thing about this hotel- but really you can get the view at many other hotels for less.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kscerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are so helpful and polite - nothing was too much for them. It's a great way to see Queenstown leave your car at the hotel and either walk or take the shuttle and avoid the traffic/parking issues. The shuttle is great just remember to book in advance. We had no issues at all with this service. The issue is not with the hotel but with the guests who fail to book and expect to get on the shuttle. When coming back if the shuttle is full they will come back for you. Lake view room comfy bed. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing