We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We arrived here after a few hectic days touring Stewart Island, Te Anau and over night cruise on Doubtful Sound - all fantastic but on the go all the time. Arriving here for our three nights into our lake view apartment, it was great to see the place was spotless, well furnished, great shower and fantastic views. Although approx 20 minutes walk out of town the hotel runs complementary return buses in and out of Queenstown which was very handy. First impressions are often well founded and this place scores very well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honestview23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at the Rees on 2 separate occasions in Jan, 2014. The hotel is right next to the lake so the view is amazing. Rooms are spacious, nice and cosy. Free Wifi is available. The concierge desk is very helpful and knowledgeable. They helped us plan & book us on the range of activitites to be done in Queenstown. The hotel is ~2 kms away from the city centre and they have a free daily shuttle service to the city centre.
One thing to note for - we stayed here on 2 occasions in 2 different rooms. The rooms to the left next to the lake access are not as big as compared the ones on the right. Please make sure that you don't get a room next to the lake access.

Room Tip: Don't choose the rooms next to the lake access - they aren't as spacious as the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gagandeep_tiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Since they claim luxury, I think that is what should be delivered. We checked in for a 2 night stay and we were very disapointed that the king bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. You can also hear guests at all hours, (thin walls). We were leaving for an overnight excursion and asked if we could have late checkout. "Sorry not available". When we checked in again we asked once again if we could have a late check out, sorry they needed the room, and the bed and pillows were still uncomfortable. This was very frustrating since they appeared to be half full.The luxury room was on the small side and it needed deep cleaning. The food is expensive and only ok and they do not serve lunch which is disapointing since it is a 25 minute walk in to town. They do have a free shuttle but service on the hour with a break in the middle of the day is not enough. The workout room and spa dont even deserve 1 star, they have been put in rooms that were empty.
I would not recomend this accomodation unless you get a very good deal and free breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatfultravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in the Rees Hotel for the last 3 days of our holiday which we spent in Queenstown. With the help of Neils, the concierge, we booked white water rafting down the shotover river and a helicopted trip over the glaciers and Milford Sound. Our room was lovely, with fantastic views, even from the bath! Easy parking and free wifi. Good breakfasts, if overpriced. We only had dinner in the restaurant on the last night. The menu was pretentious and there was too much going on on the plate. My partner had the beef which had a lot of fat and my fish was undercooked. 3 people asked us how our meal was and they were all surprised we weren't satisfield. We were offered free coffee to make amends but who drinks coffee just before they go to bed? There's a lovely walk along the lake into town, or a free shuttle bus or you can take the water taxi which is as good as a lake cruise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

visited in 2012. Lobby finishes before it starts.. Has an old world charm to it.. Rooms are cramped.. but the balcony and the view form there, makes it worth the bucks !! you can have wine in evening looking at the sunset and the lake, and if lucky the snow clad mountains.. there is a trail from the hotel to the town, don't miss a jog early morning.. definite mention is for Ben - the jack of all trades. he showed around the hotel and drove us to the town.. and gave us chocolates too..

Room Tip: Rooms on the Southern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter_nitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Pros: Modern clean, well fitted out apartments, excellent beds, great balconies, good views if you have a lake view room. Staff seem very helpful. Didn't use the restaurant.
Cons: Gym a bit cramped and frankly odd, being small and obviously in an apartment, having a kitchen, a gas fire and head board for a bed by the weights. Think this should have been better thought out in the planning stages. No pool or tennis court or outdoor area. Hillside down from rooms need landscaping and looks a bit scruffy for a luxury hotel. Rooms quite dark after morning sun goes. Had an issue with flushing toilets in other apartments at night being noisy and waking us up. Think that you can get better value somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtagoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Fantastic views, beautiful room and fabulous staff.....helpful, eager and very accommodating ...can't think of anything missing...except another treadmill in the gym for those rainy days....overall GREAT!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dmj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £150 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing