We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but shame the free wifi is so limited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Totally amazing views from the room. Very comfortable bed and helpful staff.
Beware he hourly shuttle service doesn't run every hour during the day - I was caught out. It's a bit out of town so you need to take a taxi or shuttle in.

Breakfast was excellent.

Slightly bizarre route has to be taken to and from the rooms (to the lobby, restuarant etc) which means you have to take a lift, walk through the car park and take another lift. But one can see the logic when you see the unobstructed view from the rooms.

This would have been 5 star had the wifi been free rather than a single hour. Really no excuse to charge in what is not a cheap hotel in the first place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,051)
There are newer reviews for The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely apartments - amazing view of the lake. The apartments were spacious, clean and had good facilities. The breakfast was the highlight of the day - really delicious and great choice of cold and hot items.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I can't believe I've left it so long to review this place (it's now January 2014 and we stayed here in August 2013). This hotel is gorgeous with the most amazing views. We were extremely happy with the room. Views from all windows were incredible, spa was amazing and bed very comfy. LOVED this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a 2b on 6th floor. Great view of Lake and very well appointed rooms. Good maid service and very good staff. Shuttle to town very dependable and we liked this location better than busy town. Walked Lake trail to town once! very scenic. Great stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here at the end of a trip to New Zealand and could not have wished for a more beautiful setting. Our apartment was well-appointed and we had the most amazing view over the lake with the mountains as a backdrop. The staff were friendly and efficient. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

For a hotel that it has "5 star standards" (see photo), I was extremely unhappy with the quality. First night we had to move rooms because of a problem in our room, so we moved next door to a room that was significantly smaller and very cramped for us and our 3 cases. Furthermore, would a hotel that truly has 5 star standards feel the need to tell staff this and that they need to put rubbish in the bin?
The view was ok, but 2 things should be noted about it. First, the view of the lake is a smallish inlet/bay off the main lake. Second, between the property and the lake is an area of disused land which isn't very attractive.
The hotel is also extremely strange. There are 2 parts: one at street level with car park, reception, dining etc; the second lower section is closer to the lake and down the hill side on which the hotel is built. The consequence: you have to walk through the car park to get to your room which also involves going outside. Probably not very pleasant in the cold and rain. One other strange thing is the bathroom sink. It is huge and totally out of proportion.
The hotel is also a couple of km from the town centre so you either need to drive, take the hourly courtesy minibus (11 people only) or a taxi.
Also, I found the beds very, very soft which hurt my back. I realise this may be a positive for some, but definitely not for me
The only good thing were the staff who were all friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same size so don't be afraid to ask to change
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very disappointed. Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment with family of 4. Kids are 7 and 11. Apartment cramped for 4 people. Only 1 bathroom, not even a bath, just a shower, for 4 of us was very disappointing given the price. Having to walk through a multi storey car park to get to your room wasn't pleasant. It was very noisy, could hear people in other room, along corridors etc). . The layout of apartments is very badly designed. We had to share an outer door with another apartment so every time they went in and out and they seemed to be doing this constantly it made a load noise and also sounded like someone was coming into our room ( not ideal as I was on my own with kids last for 2 nights). Agree with other people that the shuttle should run all day. We walked several times which was a good walk (took 35 minutes) and a taxi cost us 17 NZD. Also for the price would expect outdoor area, tennis court and a pool. Seemed like we had all the disadvantages of apartment living, noise, crowded etc but no advantages like the facilities you would expect. Had dinner one night with kids. Pretentious and my dinner was like a very poor KFC and cost 10 times as much. The only good thing is the view, which is amazing. Stayed in much cheaper and way better places in this area.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £148 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing