We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again excellent excellent excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Once again excellent excellent excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location, awesome view, nice apartments. The best beds and pillows money can buy. Staff are amazing. Lovely lake views from almost all apartments.
The best views are fro all floors except level 1 2 and 5. They offer good views but the others are great up to level 7.
Level 4 and 7 are top floors so have no noise from above. The building is built well anyway so other floors are fine for anyone but the noise sensitive.
Level 3 and 4 have the car parking so are the most convenient. We always choose level 4 as its un beatable.
The restaurant is amazing , fine dining . Amazing breakfast...
We have stayed a lot in Queenstown and if you want to be slightly out of town the Rees is best followed by Oaks Club.

In town the Rydges , Novotel and Sheraton are hard to go past. Town can be a bit hectoc and the views are better along frankton road at the Rees.

Room Tip: Level 4 is best as its top floor, on the same level as car park, un interrupted views and quiet. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt1972SnowLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    412
    119
    41
    23
See reviews for
467
1,022
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A fantastic apartment. The staff were friendly, super helpful and the concierge service was awesome, nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully serviced each day and it was a treat to come back to the room each night. We stayed for 10 days and loved it. The only thing we would recommend is to hire a car, even though the shuttle service is available it is only hourly and the walk is nice although not what you want to do every time you go to town.

Room Tip: Lake side level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Right from the start of our stay the staff at The Rees were fantastic - a lot of great info and service provided, super friendly and helpful.

Our room was surperb, with great views over the lake and across to the Remarkables. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was wonderful, the bed spacious and comfortable.

We has a rental car but used the Courtesy Shuttle one night, it all ran like clockwork and the driver gave us some great tips.

There was some construction on at the time and a lot of rigging up, however the hotel did it's best to minimise the noise, and we had no issues during out stay.

Would happily recommend and it is really close to town but far enough away that you don't feel right in the thick of things.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View room on one of the Upper Levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hnL0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso tx
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel offers very modern and clean rooms. We stayed there for the beginning of the winter festival for a couple of days and we really enjoyed our stay. The bed was super comfortable and the balcony provided a nice view of the lake. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Sebastian was great in recommending places to go and eat in Queenstown and things to do. The hotel has very private parking spaces and the whole area seems very private. The only drawback about staying in this hotel is that the town is a good 5 minute drive walking might take quite some time and I am not sure I would like to be walking at night in the cold so just keep that in mind. But it is an awesome place to stay, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david4billion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Rees is a beautiful lake-facing hotel with all the facilities you'd expect of one. The staff we encountered are all very professional and polite. Aside from the breakfast, we did not utilise any other facilities, so I cannot comment on those. The buffet spread for breakfast was good and you get to choose a warm item from the menu.

We stayed one night in a Lake View Hotel Room. The room was well appointed and very nicely furnished. The complimentary wifi is speedy and, if I didn't remember wrongly, there wasn't a cap on the usage (unlike many accommodations in NZ). The room was comfortable, warm, and we slept very well. There wasn't turn down service though, which I would have expected given the price. Room size is also somewhat small compared to the other accommodations we've stayed at on this trip. I had to remind myself that it is a hotel and not a bed and breakfast.

The most disappointing thing about the room had to be the view. I had specifically requested and paid an additional amount for a lake view room, only to find that the balcony faces a construction site which totally marred the lake view (see pictures). I'm quite disappointed that the hotel staff that I had emailed to request for the lake view room did not mention this. And I'm not sure if it is because of the effect of the construction site, but I find that the lake view from the hotel isn't a particularly nice one. (We stayed at another property about 1 km away which had a nicer lake view.) I would suggest that the hotel informs guests of this at the time of booking and also consider offering a discount on the room rate until the construction is completed.

Room Tip: Save some money and take a non-lake view room, until the construction is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palliechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balclutha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just had the most wonderful weekend away in Queenstown, Stayed at the Rees and so pleased we did, the room was lovely, comfortable bed and nice pillows (a must for my husband!) The staff were so friendly and helpful. They had great local knowledge and made us feel so welcome. The food was great and the free shuttle into town was a real bonus. Can't wait to go back and stay again! Thank you.

Room Tip: Executive suite heaps of space, beautiful view, awesome spa bath with a view over the lake!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaWeir267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at The Rees for 6 nights during our honeymoon in Queenstown. Overall, it was a fantastic choice and we are both very happy with the quality of service.

HOTEL: The Rees is on Frankton Road which is a major artery between Queenstown Airport and downtown. It is situated on the side of a cliff with barely the top visible from the road. There are three buildings: The main reception building (forgot the name of it), the car park, and the Williams building. We stayed in the Williams building. It can be a bit of a maze to get to your room. For instance, we had to enter through the main building, take the lift down to the 3rd floor, cross through the car park, enter the Williams building and walk down through a covered corridor to our room. There are both hotel rooms and apartments in facility. Our room shared an entry way with an apartment which for the most part was fine. There were occasional loud bangs from the other door and often times the outer entry door was left open, something that really annoyed me.

ROOM: We chose to stay in a Lake View Hotel Room (room 3142 to be exact). We enjoyed our view of The Remarkables. My only disappointment was that the balcony was only semi-private. At one point, guests staying in the neighboring room peered over onto our balcony as we were enjoying the view. I don't think that you can see much into the room, maybe only part of the balcony? (I can't be positive because I didn't personally try it.) The bathroom was equipped with underfloor heating and heated towel racks. Also, it was immaculate. I did not have any issues with the cleanliness. The bed was comfortable and the mini bar well stocked. The prices for items in the mini bar were very reasonable. The room heater worked very well. I actually woke up on the first night sweating and had to turn it down.

SERVICE: I cannot comment too much in this area as I didn't utilize many of the facility's services. I know that they offer a shuttle to town. I was told that if I planned to use the shuttle, to contact reception about it ahead of time seeing as they only make trips on a tight schedule and can only accommodate 11 guests each time. We couldn't be bothered with this so we purchased two 7-day unlimited travel bus passes from Connectabus for $88 since it was a bit of a hike to get into town. I also know that they offer a self-service laundry facility where they provide the detergent which is nice. Upon check-out, I realized that there were a bunch of erroneous charges to our room. Someone had charged two dinners, glasses of wine, etc. to our room. We were barely there, didn't utilize any services, and didn't even bring appropriate clothes for fine dining. I told them about the error and the woman at the front desk was very friendly about it and said not to worry, she would look into it. I looked at my credit card transactions when I got back home and saw that they charged the amount and then returned it. I'm glad the issue was resolved fairly quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EZ149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing