We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value with amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value with amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in an executive room, though we didn't have a lake view, I actually thought the view we had of the mountain tops was amazing. The room was superb, lovely comfy bed and I particularly liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom. Free parking is useful as it is a little way out of town.

I had a small issue with housekeeping, we walked in while they were cleaning our room, I may be mistaken, but I think they were complaining about guests. Regardless it felt awkward when we came in. Then one of them told me that "You're not allowed no snowboards in the room" That was fine, but this wasn't mentioned to me at check in or by the man who brought the luggage to our room and it was irritating she was scolding me slightly for this. Then perhaps more annoying was that after we went out for a day of boarding and had removed the snowboard, we came back to find another message on our TV to remind us we're not allowed snowboards in the room. Overall I thought this could have been handled a lot better and was not up to the other standard of service we'd received from everyone else at the hotel (all of whom were very friendly and helpful)

A small blip on an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    412
    119
    42
    23
See reviews for
468
1,025
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The Rees has everything going for it : amazing view over the lake, lovely 2 bedroom apartment, fantastic restaurant but somehow I just can't recommend it. It should be a 5 out of 5 but the small things just let it down. I would look elsewhere in queenstown and just visit the Rees to go to their restaurant

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I love these apartments
The staff - Sebastian and gang are super friendly and helpful

Check in was quick and simple and easy, rooms are well appointed

Bedrooms might be a little small, we took the 2 bedroom apartment with our 2 boys 9/4 years old

We are planning to stay 7 days here. Have yet to spend time at the hotel facilities but so far I like the fact that they have a gym, will visit and post a review and pictures later

Pictures of my apartment are coming shortly

I was not happy that my apartment was not cleaned during the day, will ask more about this and their cleaning schedule

The lobby lounge is just awesome so warm and friendly

This hotel is child friendly,
The apartments have a fireplace and my children loved this fact

Queenstown downtown is no more than a 10min drive by car, we rented cars while we stayed at Queenstown

I highly recommend the Rees Hotel and Apartments I would be very happy to return here and stay again next year when I return for skiing

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A great apartment. The staff were friendly, super helpful and the concierge service was awesome, nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully serviced each day . We stayed for 6 days and loved it. I would recommend you hire a car, even though the shuttle service good its a bit out of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dingxiang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here with our 2 boys in september 2013. Our family suite was very comfortable, impeccably clean, and the views were to die for. The restaurant was excellent and the staff were courteous and helpful. The spa experience was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Although the Rees is a bit out of town with the free courtesy bus this does not make any difference. The service was second to none and the concierge service was excellent and very helpful. Room was fabulous and always cleaned well. If you try the restaurant although not cheap the food and service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I travel extensively so have ample opportunity to understand what makes a good hotel. My travel is a mixture of both work and leisure and the Rees ticks all the boxes on both counts. The facilities are first rate, the staff ever so helpful, the rooms feel like a home away from home which is nice when you spend a lot of time away and I always try to include a weekend in my stay. Queenstown has so much to offer with its wonderful atmosphere, beauty and hospitality and the Rees Hotel is a great example of what Queenstown is all about.
Want to truly experience Queenstown, then staying at the Rees is a must do

Room Tip: Lakeview to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wisesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing