We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Stone House Boutique Apartments
Ranked #16 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2011

One of the best places Ive ever stayed at. Friendly service, amazing location, and most lovely and cosy accomodation. Will never stay anywhere else in Queenstown! Loved it. Theres a phone outside the Stonehouse so you can contact the manager if you have any problems. I loved that they were only a phone call away. Luckily there was so much info in the house we never had to use it.
The rooms were beatifully furnished. Modern kitchen appliances. Each bedroom either has an ensuite or its own bathroom across the hallway. One open fireplace and one closed fireplace (and many electric heaters in the other rooms) keep you warm and are restocked every day with kindling and firewood, ready for lighting after a long day on the peaks or shopping in town (only a 3 to 5 minute walk away). There are lovely views of the mountains at each end of the street.
Spending the cash for this house was worth every cent, and I will most definitely book again the next time Im in Queenstown :)

Room Tip: Two rooms of the three are road adjacent, so a little noiser, but still very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casadecassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

After travelling around new zealand for three weeks we ended out stay in Queenstown . I cannot speak highly enough of our stay at the historic stone house. From the moment we arrived the manager Alex was so welcoming and could not do enough for us. Alex had so much local information and recommend so many amazing restaurant and activies during our stay.
The historic stone house is one of the most beautiful places we stayed in New Zealand from its open fire place, well equipped kitchen, decor, very comfortable rooms and within a short walking distance to town..
we definitely intend to come back to queenstown and wouldnt stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maura83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

A word of warning to prospective guests; don't expect Historic Stone House to be a B&B, as it is now self-catering accommodation (the hosts are not located on site but are quite responsive to phone calls). My mistake - I read the previous reviews here more thoroughly than their website. The website can also be a little misleading, as the "Rooms/Rates/Facilities" link from the homepage leads to information about a related B&B called Chalet Queenstown.

My husband and I spent four nights in the Alley Apartment, which is a wooden extension to the stone building. It has one bedroom, ensuite bathroom, separate living/dining and a small self-contained kitchen, which seemed to have been installed on the day we arrived. As a result, they were several hours late letting us into the apartment, and we were given a bottle of wine for the inconvenience.

Alley can be rented together with the larger Daniel's Apartment (which we didn't realise when we booked), and there is an interconnecting door between them. I wouldn't have minded, except that there was no lock on our side of the door, so we had to take it on trust that the guests in the other room didn't have access to our rooms. Also the door was thin, with glass panels, and we could hear every word of some conversations between the guests in there. This was unexpected and rather off-putting. If I were the owners I would look at installing an extra, solid door in the corridor between the two apartments and make it lockable from the Alley side.

The rooms were comfortable, a good size, clean and pleasantly decorated. We particularly liked the drapes - the light blocking effect in the bedroom was much appreciated. We also enjoyed the views of the mountains and lake.

The kitchen had all the equipment we needed. The mixer tap over the sink was a little unsteady in its moorings and had a disconcerting tendency to keep running for a few seconds after turning off, but it did provide instant hot water.

The bathroom had a toilet and shower (no bath). The shower worked very well despite having two taps rather than a mixer, but the curtain was not long enough to sit within the shower box so some water would fall from the curtain onto the cork-tiled floor. I would recommend the owners get a longer shower curtain or drop the current one lower by hooking an extra set of curtain rings above the existing ones.

The bedroom provided a reasonably firm king bed with plenty of good bedding including a goosedown duvet and four pillows between us. There was a telephone, robes, slippers, wardrobe with ironing facilities, hairdryers, shelving, and a television in an otherwise empty entertainment cabinet.

There was no remote for the television and when I managed to fix its on/off switch, I found it only had three of the standard six free-to-air channels (and none of the pay channels - fair enough, it wasn't advertised as having that). Given the choice, I'd prefer to have the TV set in the living room rather than the bedroom (since there was only the one). But we hadn't intended to watch much TV on holiday so that wasn't really a problem.

The dining table had rather low sides and I only found it comfortable sitting at either end, otherwise my legs were a bit squashed.

We liked the location; the steep hill walk was not a problem for us although we did walk around a longer gentler slope once or twice to get to the Queenstown Gardens area and from there to the town.

Overall, I don't exactly regret staying there, but if I'd known more about it I probably would have booked elsewhere as it just wasn't quite what I was looking for on this holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_Gecko_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Matt, our host was absolutely delightful. He made excellent custom-order breakfasts for us each morning, was incredibly helpful about our stay in Queenstown and was always cheerful.
It's a little spendy, but so much better value for the experience compared to many of the other places we looked into staying in town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinnamon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

This is a beautiful house and we were made so welcome by the host that it felt like arriving home. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was a dream with self serve continental and individually cooked breakfasts.

We really didn't want to leave this wonderful property and lovely people.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakkiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Fantastic room with ensuite, we had the room with the walkout to the patio. The lounge is elegant and tastefully designed, meshing with the heritage of the historic building. The room and bed was exceptionally clean and comfortable. It is also well decorated, except for the tv shelf, which I found a bit dangerous and out of place.
Matt was a superb host, extremely attentive and informative. Breakfasts were great, accented by Matt's flair for detail, presented much like in 5 star cuisine. Seating in the living room for breakfast is very nice, except for people who may prefer on occasion (like ourselves) to have a quiet breakfast alone. Matt's flexibility of breakfast times undoubtedly make for a much busier day for him, but it was an option well appreciated by us.
A top notch, historical, luxurious, boutique style b&b.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

When you need to stop, have personal attention, beautiful food, lovely ambiance then you need to spend a couple of days here. And downtown is only a couple of blocks down the hill. The manager is one special guy! The best B&B in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellevuebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
14.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coronation Lodge
Coronation Lodge
#3 of 45 in Queenstown
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Stone House Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Stone House Boutique Apartments

Address: 47 Hallenstein Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £39 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Stone House Boutique Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only two minutes walk to central Queenstown, The Historic Stone House Boutique Apartments offer the opportunity to stay in a truly unique central Queenstown landmark. Built for the Mayor of Queenstown in 1874, the Historic Stone House has been divided into 3 self-catering apartments, with a choice of styles to meet your needs. Sleeping from 1 to 12 guests with all apartments offering King or Twin Beds with en suites, phone, robes and slippers. Separate cooking facilities are made available to each apartment, along with a lounge area. The best kept secret of these apartments is the onsite access to an outdoor heated spa pool, perfect for whiling away the evenings under the stars. A true 'Home Away From Home;' come and discover the beauty of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Stone House Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing