We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the world”

The Helicopter Line Queenstown
Book In Advance
More Info
US$417.55*
and up
Southern Glacier Experience Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
More Info
US$174.87*
and up
Remarkables Mountain Range Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
More Info
US$224.83*
and up
Grand Circle Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
Ranked #53 of 158 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set against a backdrop of The Remarkables Mountain Range and nestled on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Queenstown is a picture perfect alpine paradise, recognised internationally. The many exciting activities available in this natural playground have earned Queenstown the reputation as the “Adventure Capital of the World.” In conjunction with Queenstown Combos, The Helicopter Line offers several activity Combos packages.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great experience, great fun, great pilot. Put it on the bucket list. Heli to Milford sound and back, landing on a ridge on the way over and landed on a glacier on the way back, it was a wonderful trip, Craig the pilot was great, worth every penny. What a wonderful part of the world.

1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are glad you got to experience one of the most unique parts of the world. The team here love seeing reviews like this and are grateful you enjoyed your time away.
Once again thank you from the team @ The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We took off from the airfield and after a short flight landed on the Remarkables, (mountain) and were able to get out and take some photo's. We then flew around for about 30 min before returning to the airfield where the staff called a taxi to take us back to Queenstown. The Pilot and the other staff members were very pleasant and helpful and I would recommend this experience to everyone. Good value well worth doing.

1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your flight to the Remarkables range and hoping you got some beautiful photos while you were up there! We are very happy you enjoyed the pilots company and hope your experience with us was easy and one that you will never forget.
Thanks from the team @ The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My girlfriend and I are New Zealanders, and having travelled extensively overseas went to Queenstown to experience the best of our own country. For us, the highlight of our trip was the heli-cruise-fixed wing trip to Milford Sound with the Helicopter LIne.
The Sound is, of itself, a wonder of the world - and needs to be seen to be believed. But what made it even more special was the air travel to and from Queenstown.
The heli leg allows you to touch down on top of a mountain (in snow if it's winter, near an alpine lake for us in summer), and is a breathtaking experience. The fixed wing trip back takes a slightly different route, and provides views of the Milford Track and the Sutherland Falls.
If you are a visitor to New Zealand, this is a trip that a Kiwi would recommend - you will see the best of our beautiful country.
Useful tip: wear practical shoes for scrambling round the mountain top - and prepare for a chilly experience, even in summer!

2  Thank ashtalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

What a wonderful review! You know it’s something special when you appreciate your own country. We truly do have some amazing scenery to offer. We are glad you got to touch down by an alpine lake. And hope you got some amazing photos! It’s great you got to see a variety of Milford Sound by doing the heli – crusie – fly. Once gain thank you for the amazing review and hope we have left you with an unforgettable experience!
From the team @ The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was lucky enough to get a chance to fly to Milford Sounds from Queenstown with a scenic flight and then fly back to Queenstown on a scenic helicopter flight. This was probably the coolest thing I've done as a travel agent and I am still raving on about it to my clients and colleagues! The pilot was hilariously knowledgeable and even treated us by stopping on top of a peak where there was a small lake created by the melted snow. Now, living in Brisbane where the sun shines all year round, I was like a kid at Christmas, making snowballs and, of course, throwing them at the other passengers. I would recommend the experience to everyone as it's definitely something that needs to be done atleast once in everyone's lifetime.

2  Thank kylieg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

For a start thank you for the fantastic review. The team and pilots here all get a great buzz when we read reviews like this! We are glad that you had the experience of a lifetime and got to play around in the snow. It is great that our helicopters have the versatility of landing in unique spots such as the lake you got to experience. We hope we have left you with a memory of a lifetime and once again appreciate your review!
Thanks from the team @ the Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Can highly recommend The Helicopter Line and particularly Craig our pilot, for flying over Queenstown. We had an amazing trip up to the glacier. Craig was really great at putting me at ease as we had just come off a bit of a bumpy plane ride from Milford sound and I was a little nervous to go up in the air again. It was beautiful and I was really glad we did it, it's just incredible where helicopters can go and that feeling you get when you rise up to the top of a peak and it feels like you drop away on the other side, it's totally awesome, I really want to go heli-skiing now!! We would definitely use The Helicopter Line again. We really appreciated too how we were able to change our bookings around twice due to the weather, they advised us to change our day so it would be the best for us and we would get a definite landing on the glacier etc. We really had a great experience, thank you. Thank you so much Craig.

Thank Andy and Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks Andy and Ash for this great review! We are glad that it wasn't to bumpy for you and you got to really enjoy the beautiful scenery. Like you said it is amazing where the helicopters are able to land and we are happy you got to experience an amazing and remote landing! We are pleased you enjoyed the adrenaline rush when the helicopter drops off the ridgelines. Lucky for you the winter is only just around the corner and hope you can get the opportunity to go heli-skiing! Once again thanks for the amazing review.
From the team @ The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Helicopter Line Queenstown also viewed

 

Been to The Helicopter Line Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing