We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay in Queenstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Esplanade Queenstown
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Queenstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The residence is very comfortable espacially for a group of six or with a family. It has all the basic eminities provided and can accomadate any requests, espacially for families with children. The place is spacious, which is excellent for my two little daughters when we stayed there. The residence located very near the town, where we took only about 10 minutes to walk along with our children strollers and it has a great view facing the lake which is just across the road. We will certainly come back to esplanade if we were to visit Queenstown again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilwong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience staying with us at the Esplanade Queenstown. You chose a wonderful place to stay with a young family and I'm sure they enjoyed the playground across the road from the Esplanade, and seeing the ducks on the lakefront when walking into town. Hope you are able to return some day. Thanks The Team at Staysouth.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently had a long weekend in Queenstown and had the pleasure of staying at Apartment 6 at The Esplanade Residences. The apartment is spacious and beautifully presented; we felt at home from the moment we walked in the door. The Esplanade Residences have a most stunning view of the lake and are perfectly situated, being a short stroll to the main city centre. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone considering apartment style accommodation in Queenstown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJW2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. We are glad to read that you found your stay with us at Esplanade Villas to be pleasant and enjoyed the spacious and homely apartment. Yes we agree you never tire of the stunning lake and mountain views. We look forward to having you stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The Esplanade Apartments are one of a kind. We had the most wonderful stay with our 2 year old son. Child friendly with a great playground and beautiful lake across the road. A comfortable walk to all that Queenstown has to offer in the town. We will most certainly be back to stay. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a lovely review of our property. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at the Esplanade Queenstown and that your son enjoyed the park across the road, wonderful memories for you all. A warm welcome back for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned from a week skiing with my family of 4 in Queenstown NZ and absolutely loved it. We stayed at the Esplanade Residences (#6) and it was amazing, everything about it was 5 star and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

We have been to Queenstown before and loved it too, however the stay at this property was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Number 6 was great for us. All rooms have great access, amazing views and are within walking to town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
So pleased to hear your stay at the Esplanade Queenstown was a treat, it sounded like the perfect ski holiday. The wonderful thing about the Esplanade Villas is that they all are a mirror image of one another, so it doesn't matter which one you stay in they are all superb. We welcome you and your family to Queenstown and to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were thrilled with our stay here. Though we are only two guests in a 3 bedroom apartment we wanted position and space for a week. Having stayed in Queenstown before we knew we wanted to be far enough out of town to avoid the noise of all-night revelers.

Esplanade Queenstown is situated right on the lake front with an easy 5 min stroll to the main part of town. All restaurants etc very handy and an easy well-lit walk home after a good night out.

It would be perfect for families wanting space with the whole downstairs being an open living space and upstairs 3 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. Having a kitchen and laundry was great. We also appreciated our own lock up garage at the back door.

Being able to start the open fire with a flick of a switch meant many (much needed) easy hrs reading and relaxing. Though it was mid winter, we have never been cold in here with the ample heating options. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominiqueMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Super response, informative helpful and to the point, we appreciate this very much and for you taking the time. It certainly helps others with decisions on where to stay in Queenstown. Great to hear you would like to return and we welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in the Esplanade in July this year. We loved the apartment, really warm and cosy when coming home from the snow. Plenty of space in garage for gear.
Easy walking distance to town for dinner. The beds and linen really nice and the shower/bath just great. All appliances, tv, internet, washing machine/dryer etc good and easy to use.
A great place to stay in Queenstown. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your positive response, great to hear you had a wonderful ski holiday, and yes we agree the Esplanade Villas are a perfect skiers accommodation, warm and cosy for your evenings in. We welcome you back to stay with us in the future, check out our website staysouth.com for any specials we maybe running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Couldn't be happier with the location, the views, and the fabulous villa!
Woke up each morning to the sight of Central Otago's stunning autumn colours, deep blue lake and mountain vistas. The car stayed in the garage for most of the trip as it was a short, flat walk to town - 5 min max - and a lovely way to start and finish the day. The villa was as smart as the photographs on the website suggested it might be. It was immaculate in presentation and cleanliness. A little road noise - but that's to be expected, and it certainly quietened down overnight. Loved the keyless entry and secure parking. Perfect base for adventures around the region. Would highly recommend the Esplanade Queenstown to anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie06_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya A, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Esplanade Queenstown. It was certainly great to know that the fabulous views, proximity to town and villa presentation more than met your expectations. It is our constant aim to make our processes as simple as possible and of course to ensure all round comfort and enjoyment for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#44 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#16 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#13 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Queenstown

Property: Esplanade Queenstown
Address: 58 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Esplanade Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Esplanade from Lake Wakatipu, these luxury 3-bedroom villas are perfect for any season. Downtown Queenstown, with all its restaurants and shops is only a short five-minute stroll along the lake shore. Fabulous for those with young children as there is a playground in the park directly in front of the complex and each villa has its own private courtyard – which allows children to play outside yet be off the road and safe from traffic and if travelling by car, a private garage at the back of the villa it very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the back door before putting the car away for the night! Inside; enjoy a bottle of local Pinot Noir in front of the large gas fire in the sitting room, dine alfresco in the courtyard or relax and soak up the holiday feel in Queenstown in the large bath in the master en-suite bathroom overlooking the lake...Each villa's ground floor comprises a fully equipped kitchen, dining and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD/CD player and radio. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. Upstairs, the three bedrooms: - master bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom and other two bedrooms with shared second bathroom. A maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with a bed configuration to suit 4 singles OR 3 couples OR 2 couples and 2 singles. Also available, upon request are portacots, high chairs and stair safety-gates if travelling with infants (POA). Each villa also has a laundry with washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board.No keys are required for the villas - access is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Esplanade Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing