We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Zealand Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Queenstown
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Zealand Adventure”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For a group of six guys staying in villa 4 we were very impressed with the place. It had ample room for us and the views from villa were outstanding. Would most definitely recommend Lake Esplanade. Everything was in the villa that we needed. Can't wait to return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your very favourable comments on your recent at Esplanade Queenstown Villa 4 and your line "Cant wait to return" gives us a resounding tick. Great to hear the villa met all your needs including the ample space and outstanding views. They are perfectly provisioned for singles, couples and family groups. Look forward to having you stay again in the future. Kind regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In a word - PERFECT
Beautifully appointed apartment - cosy and warm and so much space ! Everything was ready for us for an early check in. House keeping staff so friendly - cos I was a bit thick and couldn't work out how to use the door ! A great stay , fireplace was great - kids didn't want to leave. Fair to say , we'll be back for sure. Such an easy booking process and friendly professional service through StaySouth.com. Thanks Maryanne - made it all too easy
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your generous comments and so pleasing to see you found the apartment warm and cosy, and enjoyed the convenient keyless entry and pre arrival service provided by our friendly team. We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As a group of 8 golfers we chose these apartments as they offered 3Br with 2 Bathrooms upstairs whilst downstairs provided a separate lounge area with TV a formal dining table setting which seated 8 & a modern kitchen. We were able to alternate eating take away with restaurant meals thus reducing meal expenses. The 3 apartments were clean, modern & fully catered to our needs. Free WIFI & local phone calls are a big Bonus. Parking is provided off street which would be handy at peak times. A good location with an easy walk into town.Overlooking the lake with some road noise but minor complaint. Highly recommended by all of our group.

Room Tip: We had apartments 4 5 6 which were central & fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Many thanks for your review on your recent stay. We value any feedback received from guests as often its the little things mentioned that allow us to improve our facilities and service. We are pleased that the apartments location with very close proximity to the town centre, the open and spacious downstairs layout and generous parking fully catered to your group needs. Wonderful you all rated your stay highly and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Esplanade Apartments in villa 5 for a week while in Queenstown and absolutely loved our stay. We stayed from 6th feb to the 13th. We did find it warm at night but nothing opening a window didn't fix. The Apartments are perfect location, across the road from the lake and only a few minutes stroll to town and wharf where the restaurant's are. The apartments themselves are beautifully furnished and have a very welcoming feel. They have everything you need for a wonderful stay in Queenstown, from a picnic rug and football to use at the park across the road to a first class kitchen for the keen chef. We travelled with another couple and our 8 month old son. We all felt the size of the apartment was perfect and didn't feel we were standing on each others toes. We booked months in advance and felt we got a good deal paying 430.00 a night. And sharing the cost with the other couple worked out cheap for all of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melli_lou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
What an exceptional review - thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time. Glad the apartment was welcoming, roomy and well provisioned for you. The apartments location being so close to town and all its attractions, is certainly one of its best features and we hope that you come back to stay again in the future. Regards THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Gorgeous apartment, we had No. 8. It was quite a cold weekend so we didn't have the doors open. We were very happy with the apartment, very comfy beds and clean. There was plenty of towels and flannels but no extra tea towels, handtowels and bath mats. Ease of access, very clear instructions. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. Wonderful to see you found the apartment very comfortable and easy to access with the presentation top notch. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future. THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The units themselves are very well presented, roomy and clean. Great kitchen and plenty of space for 4-5 adults. Now the downsides- no air conditioning (queenstown does get very warm to hot so give this place a miss in the summer), the noise from the road is another drawback, it doesn't let up till very late. No spa in ensuite which for $550 plus a night you would expect and my fault for not checking this out. Also they take 50% deposit when booking and you pay in full 1 week out. Not many places over here do this and we could understand why they would do that, however it's a good thing to be aware of. My advice is to have a really good look around for accommodation at queenstown if you are parting with close on $600 a night as there are other alternatives that may offer better value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
At Esplanade Queenstown we appreciate you pointing out the pros and cons of your stay with us, and great to hear you found the apartments well presented, roomy and clean with a great kitchen for a larger groups. As the Villas are located lakefront central Queenstown and are situated on the Esplanade, with this positive you do however have the main road aspect . In regards to our payment policy that is in place, we manage apartments on behalf of owners this is to secure maximum villa occupancy over the calendar year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The residence is very comfortable espacially for a group of six or with a family. It has all the basic eminities provided and can accomadate any requests, espacially for families with children. The place is spacious, which is excellent for my two little daughters when we stayed there. The residence located very near the town, where we took only about 10 minutes to walk along with our children strollers and it has a great view facing the lake which is just across the road. We will certainly come back to esplanade if we were to visit Queenstown again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilwong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience staying with us at the Esplanade Queenstown. You chose a wonderful place to stay with a young family and I'm sure they enjoyed the playground across the road from the Esplanade, and seeing the ducks on the lakefront when walking into town. Hope you are able to return some day. Thanks The Team at Staysouth.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#14 of 90 in Queenstown
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#45 of 90 in Queenstown
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#11 of 90 in Queenstown
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Queenstown

Property: Esplanade Queenstown
Address: 58 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Esplanade Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplanade Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Esplanade from Lake Wakatipu, these luxury 3-bedroom villas are perfect for any season. Downtown Queenstown, with all its restaurants and shops is only a short five-minute stroll along the lake shore. Fabulous for those with young children as there is a playground in the park directly in front of the complex and each villa has its own private courtyard – which allows children to play outside yet be off the road and safe from traffic and if travelling by car, a private garage at the back of the villa it very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the back door before putting the car away for the night! Inside; enjoy a bottle of local Pinot Noir in front of the large gas fire in the sitting room, dine alfresco in the courtyard or relax and soak up the holiday feel in Queenstown in the large bath in the master en-suite bathroom overlooking the lake...Each villa's ground floor comprises a fully equipped kitchen, dining and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD/CD player and radio. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. Upstairs, the three bedrooms: - master bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom and other two bedrooms with shared second bathroom. A maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with a bed configuration to suit 4 singles OR 3 couples OR 2 couples and 2 singles. Also available, upon request are portacots, high chairs and stair safety-gates if travelling with infants (POA). Each villa also has a laundry with washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board.No keys are required for the villas - access is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing