We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already planning a return visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esplanade Queenstown
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Already planning a return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent a week using this as our base for a ski trip. Hard to fault anything at all - great location, fantastic views, clean and modern apartment, great kitchen (perhaps a few more utensils if it's a "chef's kitchen ;)", easy parking (one indoor and one outdoor spot per apartment), ample heating (the gas fire was a winner as was the underfloor heating), and all at a good price.

We booked it on spec and were so impressed we are already looking at dates for next ski season.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Weary_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay - it does greatly help us fine tune our product and procedures. We must be doing most things well if you are planning a return trip. Lovely to know that you were impressed by the 'close to town' location, great view and apartment presentation and cost, having not stayed with us before and we welcome you to stay again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Esplanade have three bedroom self contained terraces across the road from the lake in Queenstown. A five minute walk to the heart of the town. The terraces are well equipped to cook. The instant gas fire and under floor heating are a winner. The view from the terrace is stunning. We stayed for a week and went skiing, we had a car which for comfort getting to and from the slopes which I would recommend. It is a good drive 9hourbfifteen minutes) to Cardona ski fields however the Remarkables are 40 minutes drive.
Queenstown is a beautiful town and has great restaurants and plenty of activities to keep all ages interested.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Great to see you enjoyed your week with us at Esplanade Queenstown and that you were able to fully enjoy some of the benefits the apartment offers including the fabulous view, the well provisioned kitchen and the comfort and cosiness provided by the gas fire and the underfloor heating. Wonderful too that the apartments close proximity to the town centre as well as to the nearby skifields were a real benefit to you. Always pleasing for us that another guest takes away some happy holiday memories and we hope to be able to welcome you to stay again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, 3 aduts and 2 children in Villa 8. Beautifully decorated throughout. Loved the open gas fireplace, in floor slab heating in the kitchen area and the bathrooms upstairs. Kitchen cooking facilities clean and of good quality with an added bonus of laundry facilities in the villa also. 5-10 min flat walk to town along the lake which is beautiful. Very luxurious feel except for a marked dining room table - which was probably best for us with kids. Will definitely stay here again, great value for the size and high quality of the property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjlaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Great feedback thank you and wonderful that you and your family enjoyed your time at Esplanade Queenstown and were able to enjoy and appreciate all the features that the villa offers. Great that you found it warm and well provisioned and we're delighted that you would definitely stay again. Kind Rgeards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

For a group of six guys staying in villa 4 we were very impressed with the place. It had ample room for us and the views from villa were outstanding. Would most definitely recommend Lake Esplanade. Everything was in the villa that we needed. Can't wait to return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your very favourable comments on your recent at Esplanade Queenstown Villa 4 and your line "Cant wait to return" gives us a resounding tick. Great to hear the villa met all your needs including the ample space and outstanding views. They are perfectly provisioned for singles, couples and family groups. Look forward to having you stay again in the future. Kind regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

In a word - PERFECT
Beautifully appointed apartment - cosy and warm and so much space ! Everything was ready for us for an early check in. House keeping staff so friendly - cos I was a bit thick and couldn't work out how to use the door ! A great stay , fireplace was great - kids didn't want to leave. Fair to say , we'll be back for sure. Such an easy booking process and friendly professional service through StaySouth.com. Thanks Maryanne - made it all too easy
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your generous comments and so pleasing to see you found the apartment warm and cosy, and enjoyed the convenient keyless entry and pre arrival service provided by our friendly team. We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

As a group of 8 golfers we chose these apartments as they offered 3Br with 2 Bathrooms upstairs whilst downstairs provided a separate lounge area with TV a formal dining table setting which seated 8 & a modern kitchen. We were able to alternate eating take away with restaurant meals thus reducing meal expenses. The 3 apartments were clean, modern & fully catered to our needs. Free WIFI & local phone calls are a big Bonus. Parking is provided off street which would be handy at peak times. A good location with an easy walk into town.Overlooking the lake with some road noise but minor complaint. Highly recommended by all of our group.

Room Tip: We had apartments 4 5 6 which were central & fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Many thanks for your review on your recent stay. We value any feedback received from guests as often its the little things mentioned that allow us to improve our facilities and service. We are pleased that the apartments location with very close proximity to the town centre, the open and spacious downstairs layout and generous parking fully catered to your group needs. Wonderful you all rated your stay highly and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Esplanade Apartments in villa 5 for a week while in Queenstown and absolutely loved our stay. We stayed from 6th feb to the 13th. We did find it warm at night but nothing opening a window didn't fix. The Apartments are perfect location, across the road from the lake and only a few minutes stroll to town and wharf where the restaurant's are. The apartments themselves are beautifully furnished and have a very welcoming feel. They have everything you need for a wonderful stay in Queenstown, from a picnic rug and football to use at the park across the road to a first class kitchen for the keen chef. We travelled with another couple and our 8 month old son. We all felt the size of the apartment was perfect and didn't feel we were standing on each others toes. We booked months in advance and felt we got a good deal paying 430.00 a night. And sharing the cost with the other couple worked out cheap for all of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melli_lou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, General Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
What an exceptional review - thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time. Glad the apartment was welcoming, roomy and well provisioned for you. The apartments location being so close to town and all its attractions, is certainly one of its best features and we hope that you come back to stay again in the future. Regards THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#45 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#16 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#15 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Queenstown

Property: Esplanade Queenstown
Address: 58 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Esplanade Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Esplanade from Lake Wakatipu, these luxury 3-bedroom villas are perfect for any season. Downtown Queenstown, with all its restaurants and shops is only a short five-minute stroll along the lake shore. Fabulous for those with young children as there is a playground in the park directly in front of the complex and each villa has its own private courtyard – which allows children to play outside yet be off the road and safe from traffic and if travelling by car, a private garage at the back of the villa it very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the back door before putting the car away for the night! Inside; enjoy a bottle of local Pinot Noir in front of the large gas fire in the sitting room, dine alfresco in the courtyard or relax and soak up the holiday feel in Queenstown in the large bath in the master en-suite bathroom overlooking the lake...Each villa's ground floor comprises a fully equipped kitchen, dining and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD/CD player and radio. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. Upstairs, the three bedrooms: - master bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom and other two bedrooms with shared second bathroom. A maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with a bed configuration to suit 4 singles OR 3 couples OR 2 couples and 2 singles. Also available, upon request are portacots, high chairs and stair safety-gates if travelling with infants (POA). Each villa also has a laundry with washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board.No keys are required for the villas - access is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Esplanade Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing